We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Arequipa!!!”
Review of Hostal Sol de Oro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Sol de Oro
Ranked #22 of 185 Speciality Lodging in Arequipa
Reviewed 23 February 2013

For 70soles we got a great room here with a bathroom/tv/hot water.The hostal is 5 mins from the main plaza but its the facilities they offer and friendly staff that make this place shine.Always helpful and willing to arrange tours/taxis etc I cant say enough good things about the staff.This hostal offered so so many facilities including,a pool table,table tennis,small bar with music,darts...even an astro turf football pitch?!!
Breakfast was good but as with everywhere in south america its basic,coffee,bread,jam etc.The wifi was really good and the hostal itself was secure and safe.Great option for groups or solo travellers.
We wouldnt hesitate to stay here again and were just sad we couldnt stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012

We arrived at the Hostal Sol de Oro at around 4am after a night bus from Cusco. We were met by the sleepy but welcoming owner. A gay couple, we had booked a double room, which had not been a problem anywhere else on our trip to date. It may have been the time, but this initially threw the guy and this did tarnish our initial impression of the place. The second issue is that neither of the two rooms we stayed in (we came back after a Colca Canyon trip) had external windows and so were stuffy at night. I would also advise not to book tours through the hostal, better deals can be found elsewhere. However despite these points, I would definitely recommend the Sol de Oro. The location is great, the rooms clean, the kitchen well equipped and spotless, general facilities good, and despite the initial hiccup the staff were excellent.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

There is ALWAYS someone in the front, or very closeby. Location was great- it's only a few blocks from the groceries and Plaza de Armas. The rooms were clean and fairly large. Ours had a tv. The common areas were clean and also pretty large for hostels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed at Sol de Oro for 3 1/2 weeks while we were volunteering in Arequipa and we couldn't have found a better place! The rooms are spacious and all have cable tv (ask for a room with a window). A matrimonial room costs about S/.75 incl a great breakfast - really good value for mobey in Arequipa! The hostel has a huge terrace where you can relax, a small but fully equipped kitchen, a tv and games room, and apart from pool and foosball tables they also have a proper football field!! Juliana and John who run the hostel are super nice and happy to help with whatever you need. John even took us to a typical Peruvian restaurant so we could enjoy the best Arequipenian food! Their little daughter Maria is also lovely. Sol de Oro is NOT a party hostel but if you want a quiet nice place with great facilities, this hostel is perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The hostel is located only 5 minutes walk from the plaza and the main attractions of the city. It has hot water, clean rooms and quite a filling breakfast which included scrambled eggs and freshly squeezed orange juice. The kitchen is small but adequate and there are plenty of socializing areas (like the foosball table) to meet people. All in all we had a very nice stay here. The guy running the place (John?) doesn't really speak any English but always tries to help, while his wife does speak English. If you need help with tours they can help, and they always like to give advice about good places to eat!

Room Tip: The room upstairs (202) is wonderful and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gluckrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I loved Sol De Oro. It´s a family run place, and it shows. The beds are comfortable, the showers are hot, and there are lockers. The place has a great DVD room, terrace, and even a soccer field. The breakfast (included) is excellent. I found the staff really helpful and welcoming as well. The location is great too. This hostel isn´t necessarily the place to go to party or meet lots of people, but if you´re looking for a place to relax where you can get a good night´s sleep (and recover from your Colca Canyon trek...), this is it!

Room Tip: the 4 bed room had a tv!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeeGrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

this hostel is one of the best in south america. it has comfortable beds in spacious rooms, hot water, eggs for breakfast (not only bread and jam!) as well as lots of amenities - ping pong, billiards, movies and computers. the staff are friendly and very helpful and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ola a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.2 mi away
Friendly AQP
Friendly AQP
#4 of 185 in Arequipa
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mango Hostel Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Positive Hostel & Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cazorla Hostel
Cazorla Hostel
#21 of 185 in Arequipa
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vallecito Backpackers
Vallecito Backpackers
#14 of 185 in Arequipa
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
MB Backpackers
MB Backpackers
#20 of 185 in Arequipa
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sol de Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sol de Oro

Address: Calle Cruz Verde 307 | Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 185 Speciality Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range: £8 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Sol de Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Sol de Oro is located in the center of Arequipa, three blocks away from the Plaza de Armas, el Corazon of the white city: close to just main attractions: museums, banks, supermarkets, shopping, colonial buildings and restaurants, bars, nightclubs. Hostal de Sol de Oro is a cozy hostel with a friendly family service. We offer several types of entertainment facilities to enjoy your stay. We have a beautiful and colorful terrace to get healthy breakfast (including in the price), free WIFI; open terrace with a sunset view to pass time with friends and share a drink, or having a meal or a barbecue. The kitchen well furnished is at your disposal.A comfortable TV room (including DVDs selection, play station unit, music stereo) is available as well exercise equipments. In others rooms are book change, pool table, ping pong table and other games a lot to keep yourself entertained.Also a free internet space with computers is available: no need to go out and pay to check your emails and download your photos.The rooms are all equipped with televisions and have their private bathroom with solar and gas powered hot water available 24 hours a day. The beds have brand new mattresses to ensure you sleep comfortably. Our friendly and helpful staff can assist with our laundry services as well as information about the city and the surrounding regions to visit. We will be more than happy to supply you with all the information you will need to fully enjoy Arequipa and the surrounding areas. Sol de Oro Backpackers hostel welcomes you to Arequipa, Peru! Yuliana and John.EXCHANGE RATE .......S/.2.75Check in at 11:30amCheck out at 10:30amcredit cards accepted (only visa)+9 pax group bookings acceptedCancellation and no show policy: Cancellations or changes are accepted only with minimum 24 hours before the arrival date via phone or email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Sol de Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing