We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting colonial building, clean comfortable rooms.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa De Sillar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Casa De Sillar
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Interesting colonial building, clean comfortable rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in a private room on the second floor with a shared bathroom for 60 soles.The room was clean with plenty of blankets on the bed for when the temperature dropped at night.

Breakfast is included and there is a kitchen and communal room that you can use (meet other travellers) and a lovely small garden/courtyard area where the rather docile house dog likes to sun bathe (hopefully you're a dog person or this could be a problem).

Another bonus is that It's very central and only a few minutes walk from main square and sights.

My only qualms would be that you don't have a key to open the main door and you have to ring the doorbell and sometimes wait for a while or even have other guest open the door for you and my girlfriend had some laundry done which came back with purple stains on it, so had to throw away some of her clothes!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomHPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    32
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
50
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and really enjoyed our stay. the building is incredible, all made of volcanic sillar and with high ceilinged rooms with comfortable beds and good bathrooms. Its 10 mintues walk from the plaza de armas, but alot of the restaurants and bars are in between the hostel and the plaza, so its super convenient for going out to eat in the evening. Breakfast on the roof top with the view of el misti was spectacular. for the quality of the room that we had, the price was absolutely excellent. definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

This place is definitely a good bet if you're counting your pennies. The rooms -- all constructed out of sillar (the white volcanic rock that is used all over Arequipa) -- are relatively big, the bathrooms are clean and there is plenty of hot water and good shower pressure. There is also a shared kitchen and living room area with WI-FI. The main plaza is just a 10 minute walk away.

That said, this is a vintage construction, which means that daylight is limited in some units or they can feel a little musty. In addition, service can be a little lackadaisical. But I spent several nights here and had a very enjoyable stay (our room was quiet, roomy and very clean) and we spent a chilled out afternoon hanging out on the roof deck. If I were going back to Arequipa I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CostaLina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I wish I could give the Casa de Sillar a 3.5. For the price, you get a lot of character and a pretty nice room. Then again, there are casonas which are closer to the Plaza de Armas and I'm sure some of them have beds which are a few notches more comfortable. (not that I the bads are bad or anything)

The Casa de Sillar has rooftop breakfasts, where you can watch the volcanos bask in the morning light. The room we stayed in had very high ceilings and original sillar walls, which we liked as well.

I don't know if I'd stay here again if I came to Arequipa, but I have no regrets about staying here either.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We loved the house and the style it is renovated. The place has a nice relaxed garden and stylish common room as well as a communal kitchen. It´s a ten minutes walk from Place de Armas but it´s worth it.

We loved the house and the style it is renovated. The place has a nice relaxed garden and stylish common room as well as a communal kitchen. It´s a ten minutes walk from Place de Armas but it´s worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

Casa de Sillar has beautiful rooms, a well-equipped kitchen, nice garden and good wi-fi in room. Usually a place where you experience a nice stay. Unfortunately, there were two big downsides: the staff and a highly intransparent pricing policy.
Staff changed regularly, which makes personalized attention hard to come by resp. their skills in hosting vary widely. Some showers get hot water from a gas can, which is a problem if the only person around is not able to switch it on (I myself didn't dare to), so I took a shower in the public bathroom. Not so much of a problem, but if you pay a relatively high price it might be annoying to some persons.
Other thing is that they advertised 40 soles for a matrimonial on their website, charged 60 soles for the couple who occupied our room before we came but took 70 from us. So it was agreed on making the reservation call, but finding out that everyone else pays less than you makes you feel uncomfortable as you get to feel some sort of equality lacking in the policy of Casa de Sillar. You might also find the wireless turned off after 8 pm (again, when staff changes).
No catastrophies happened when we were in Casa de Sillar, but some improvements might make it a stay really worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janschorsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights. Our first choice was closer to the Plaza de Armas, but there was no space. When we first got there, we liked it, but didn't love it. After a day, it really grew on us. Not a party place at all, actually not very conducive to meeting other travelers, but for a quiet, comfortable place to stay, it was great. The house itself is beautiful and the rooms are huge! With the high ceilings and colonial architecture, we loved the feel of the place. It was very comfortable to just be able to go back and read there. The staff was nice, nothing special, but no complaints. It is a little far from the center...but we're talking 10 minutes walking...not that far. We really enjoyed it for a little retreat!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkuNKik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 96 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#9 of 96 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#5 of 96 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.5 mi away
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 168 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Foyer Hostel
Le Foyer Hostel
#5 of 168 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa De Sillar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa De Sillar

Property: La Casa De Sillar
Address: 504 Rivero, Arequipa 04001, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 168 Speciality Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa De Sillar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourist Accommodation in the original house of over 400 years of history . It will stay a pleasant experience and enjoy the best service with our professional and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your La Casa De Sillar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing