We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the worst, not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
Ranked #36 of 99 Hotels in Arequipa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not the worst, not the best”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. The common area was being re-tiled while we were there which added a little extra noise and inconvenience. We got a room with a double bed and a private bath.

The Good:
- Great location
- Comfy and clean bed
- Hot water as long as you gave it a break between people
- Friendly staff

The Bad:
- The place had a musty (bathroom) and poopy (gardening compost?) smell.
- The outside construction
- The overall quality of the room (bed lamp could not reach outlet, large fluorescent was painful to the eyes, pretty cramped for two)
- The towels smelled musty as well

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    47
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
15
40
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks and was very pleased. The entire place was spotless, including my room, the common areas, and the shared bathroom. My room was tidied every day and the towel and sheets were changed several times. The location is within easy walking distance of the main square, but it is very quiet at night. The staff were friendly and the place was very secure. An excellent value!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo S, Director General at La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you very much for your comment! specially because
a "Two week stay" means our guest gets to know and see the Hostel in every aspect, and to have passed that test with your approval saying that "the entire place was spotless" means a lot to our team!
It is a great satisfaction to know that the location we strategically chose was right! the cleaning we do is correct! and that our customer service is also friendly and our guests feel safe!
About the value we do our best efforts to keep a balance between price and quality and our goal is to have our guests happy with the value, just as you!

We thank you for choosing us, and hope to see you soon back in Arequipa!

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Hostel is well located, only a couple of blocks away from Main Square.
Entrance is easy access but is not good if you are going with heavy luggage cause you have to climb up some stairs to get to reception.
Service is very good and they are always willing to help. Rooms are simple, not big and bed is comfortable. They have bedrooms with private bath and bedrooms with bath to share. The place is very clean and organized, the WIFI sometimes stopped working though...
They have a store luggage and a safety box at reception for laptops or any other valuable belongings.
I would stay there again cause service was really good and that quality is priceless.

Room Tip: They only have 9 rooms so if you want to stay there, reservations in advance are a good thing to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo S, Gerente at La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Appreciated Guest!

Thank you for the time you took to write this comment!
We are glad you liked our Hostel and that Our Hostel "Quality Was Priceless!" !
That means we are doing things right. And we will keep trying to avoid mistakes in order
for our guests to have the best accommodation possible.
There are in fact some stairs but we gladly help our guests to carry their bags.
We checked the WIFI connection and found out the reason was a bad modem/router
so we Bought a New One and CHANGED IT. So now the WIFI works like a charm.
We are very concerned about safety and always offer a safe deposit box so that our guests
dont carry their valuables out on the street.
Most of all we are so happy to now that the guests we have choose to stay again with us because as you said "service is really good" and "quality is priceless"

Hope to see you again!

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qormi, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The staff are nice and the hostel is kept very clean but with so much choice in Arequipa, this place lacks certain features that would help backpackers. For instance, there's no indoor lounge area so if you check out in the morning and need to get a bus at night, you will have to stay outside, rain or shine. The other problem is that we booked for a twin room but when we looked elsewhere, we found hostels round the corner that were offering a private double room for the same price and including breakfast. This one also does not offer kitchen facilities for guests but if you ask for warm water they're willing to provide. And the rooms weren't all the same but ours was horrible, no windows, old stone floors which are really cold when you get out of bed and also the beds had a mattress so thin that I felt the wood going in my back. There are better hostels, especially in Arequipa.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esmeralda_attard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo S, Director de Recepción at La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Guest

We`re glad that you found our staff nice and the hostel very clean!

In our pictures everyone can see that in our terrace we have a place that
will keep you safe from the rain or from the sun.
So it`s actually not correct from you to say that our guests have to stay outside
if they checked out in the morning and leave at night.

On top of that Indoor Terrace that includes Free WIFI, Free Restrooms, Free Storage (eventhough you`ve checked out) We also offer a special %50 discount on any room for the Day Use if you have a night bus. That is 02 reasonable and great options for our guests.

We are sorry you didn`t have good night sleep due to the mattress and we have proceed to fix that changing those matress for better ones.
We have checked the prices of our competition as well and we are redefining ours to offer the price-quality relation.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krasnodar, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

The balcony of our room was overlooking to the street. For those who need absolute silence, it may be a drawback, but for this night it was comfortable, because we fell asleep late enough. Large room, shower with hot water, towels, soap. We booked a room with all facilities (shower and toilet inside), but there are rooms with facilities outside the room (like in hostels).
The staff is polite and friendly.
The hotel is very well located. All attractions are almost nearby, as well as shops and many offices of tourist agencies that carry tourists to the Colca Canyon. We used the services of one of them (just opposite St.Cathleen Monastery) in Calle Santa Catalina.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo S, Propietario at La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Dear Guest we appreciate you writing a review about your stay at our Hostel.

We do in fact have different types of rooms, some are on the inside of the hostel and other are overlooking to the street. There is a room for everyone that has a special taste or necesity.
We are glad you found our rooms big enough for you, with hot showers, towels and soap.

We always try our best to be useful for our guests and to help you with tourisic information about Arequipa and all it`s nice places to visit.

We specifically took this building due it`s perfect location that indeed help you to be near everything!

We hope you have the chance to come back to Arequipa and stay at our hostel one more time with all the benefits you already know.

Cordially

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This was a good priced, spacious room with own bathroom. The room faced the street so very noisy but in general ok for a couple of days. I booked a double room with private bathroom through Expedia. Initially, the man tried to give me a tiny room at the back with no bathroom and said that if I wanted a bathroom, I would have to pay more. Anyway, when I checked-out I gave them the printed confirmation and the exact money (from the confirmation email) and there weren't any problems - don't know if this was an honest mistake on their behalf or not.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank TravellerBlue111222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo S, Gerente at La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Appreciated Guest,

We are very happy that you found our Hostel "Good Priced" and "Spacious" !
We have different types of rooms for different needs, they can be facing the street or on the inside part. If there is availability we usually offer the chance to choose between them.
As you explained, you paid only what you needed to pay with no problems what so ever, and I`m glad about that. We all make honest mistakes, what`s important though is to fix them right away.
We hope you get a chance to stay with us again, and meanwhile we thank you for choosing Us for
your stay at Arequipa City.

Cordially

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
1,030 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Nice hostel. Central location and pretty good service. In addition to the hostel-like rooms (facilities outside), they gave private rooms with bath and toilet. The rooms are quite spacious and clean, all the equipment is working properly, the staff is friendly and always ready to provide guests with necessary information.
I was surprised only that among their three receptionists we saw no one has even minimal English, and communication with them was difficult enough. It also seemed strange to me the fact that $ 25, recorded in our booking, they counted in Peruvian currency (sol) in a highly overvalued exchange rate - 2.7 vs. actual 2.5.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gentbrugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.2 mi away
Los Balcones de Moral y Santa Catalina
0.7 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 99 in Arequipa
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera Arequipa
Hotel Riviera Arequipa
#61 of 99 in Arequipa
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Yaravi
Hotel Yaravi
#72 of 99 in Arequipa
1 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marlon's House Arequipa
Marlon's House Arequipa
#10 of 173 in Arequipa
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Posada del Virrey
La Posada del Virrey
#79 of 178 in Arequipa
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel

Property: La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
Address: Jerusalen Street, 306-A, 2nd Floor | Downtown, Arequipa AQP, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 99 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have THE BEST AND SAFEST LOCATION in Arequipa, just 3 blocks to the Plaza de Armas and in front of the Tourism Police.La Casona de Jerusalen is at the center of Arequipa at very short walking distances to the most important touristic places of the White City!We are a very CLEAN and QUIET Hostel which goal is for you to be happy here. We have all the great things the great hostels have, plus you feeling actually like a GUEST surrounded by friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing