We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
Ranked #41 of 99 Hotels in Arequipa
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean and friendly”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in a single private room for 2 nights. The room was clean, and the water was hot. I was able to book my Colca Canyon trek through them with no issues & was able to leave my bag there as well. The courtyard area is a very nice place to sit and read. If you're looking for a place to socialize and meet people, this might not be it but if you're looking for a nice, quiet and clean hostel... This would be an excellent choice.

As stated in some other reviews, they do have some staff which speak little to no English but given you are in Peru where the official language is Spanish... I think this is to be expected. Between my efforts with speaking Spanish and their efforts in listening... We were usually able to get the point across.

If I found myself in Arequipa again, I'd come back here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GotTheItch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    47
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
40
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat springs, co
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night here- we booked a double with shared bath but they upgraded us to private bath for free due to overbooking. Nice clean place and friendly staff. The room is fine but not amazing- only windows are in the door. great for the price though.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wineandmountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived early in the morning having taken an overnight bus to Arequipa. We were able to leave our bags while we ate included breakfast and waited for our room to be prepared from the last guests. Two people on staff speak perfect English. They overbooked rooms with a shared bath, and they upgraded us to a room with a bathroom free of charge. The woman on staff gave us great food recommendations. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The room was very quiet, clean and the showers had hot water! We were able to leave our belongings safely locked up while we spent three days in the Colca Canyon. When we came back our room was in their partner's hostal just downstairs, La Posada de Jerusalen. Again, really clean rooms and bathrooms. Harry, the caretaker was unbelievable- extremely helpful and went out of his way to help us. We checked out in the morning but we're able to store our bags and use the bathrooms and wifi throughout the day before out night bus to Arequipa. We would highly recommend either place, you get much more than what you pay for.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HSpaldingA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocolalla, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We did not prebook a room and the rate was less than posted. The nine rooms are located around a center patio where breakfast is served. Breakfast is fresh juice, bread, butter, jam coffee and tea. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is a small selection of basics (water, food) for sale on site. The off street rooms are amazingly quiet. The water is hot and good pressure.

The location is excellent. Tour shops, laundry and restaurants are abundant.

Room Tip: Off street rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo S, Propietario at La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comment, we indeed have very good prices and the rates are very accesible to everyone depending on what type of room they want.
Everybody loves our sunny Patio to enjoy breakfast or a cold beer. Our staff is very customer oriented and just wants to treat guest the way they like to be treated! :)
We intentionally and strategically chose this location because it`s near everything and just in the middle of the Historic Downtown Arequipa. We like to offer a nice and quite space for our guest to be comfortable which of course includes, basics such as hot water with good pressure, clean white towels and maid service everyday.
We also offer tours, do laundry and sell tickets so that you buy with confidence and a backup that everything is going to be fine!
Thank you again and have a nice trip through Peru!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have stayed in La Casona during our stay in Arequipa, hostel staff is nice while we have arrived in the early morning, the room is not ready for checkin, so we left our luggage in their place. Security is good enough while all the guests need to give back their keys to host when they left the hostel.

We have stayed in Room 7, which is big enough for three people, equip with private bathroom which is clean but one thing need to notice that there is not enough hot water from the bath.

main square is within walking distance, the place is quiet and you can sleep well at the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. The common area was being re-tiled while we were there which added a little extra noise and inconvenience. We got a room with a double bed and a private bath.

The Good:
- Great location
- Comfy and clean bed
- Hot water as long as you gave it a break between people
- Friendly staff

The Bad:
- The place had a musty (bathroom) and poopy (gardening compost?) smell.
- The outside construction
- The overall quality of the room (bed lamp could not reach outlet, large fluorescent was painful to the eyes, pretty cramped for two)
- The towels smelled musty as well

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks and was very pleased. The entire place was spotless, including my room, the common areas, and the shared bathroom. My room was tidied every day and the towel and sheets were changed several times. The location is within easy walking distance of the main square, but it is very quiet at night. The staff were friendly and the place was very secure. An excellent value!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo S, Director General at La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you very much for your comment! specially because
a "Two week stay" means our guest gets to know and see the Hostel in every aspect, and to have passed that test with your approval saying that "the entire place was spotless" means a lot to our team!
It is a great satisfaction to know that the location we strategically chose was right! the cleaning we do is correct! and that our customer service is also friendly and our guests feel safe!
About the value we do our best efforts to keep a balance between price and quality and our goal is to have our guests happy with the value, just as you!

We thank you for choosing us, and hope to see you soon back in Arequipa!

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.2 mi away
Los Balcones de Moral y Santa Catalina
0.9 mi away
Hotel Illari
Hotel Illari
#56 of 99 in Arequipa
3 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera Arequipa
Hotel Riviera Arequipa
#40 of 99 in Arequipa
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marlon's House Arequipa
Marlon's House Arequipa
#10 of 169 in Arequipa
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Posada del Virrey
La Posada del Virrey
#92 of 175 in Arequipa
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Foyer Hostel Arequipa
Le Foyer Hostel Arequipa
#5 of 175 in Arequipa
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel

Property: La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
Address: Jerusalen Street, 306-A, 2nd Floor | Downtown, Arequipa AQP, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 99 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have THE BEST AND SAFEST LOCATION in Arequipa, just 3 blocks to the Plaza de Armas and in front of the Tourism Police.La Casona de Jerusalen is at the center of Arequipa at very short walking distances to the most important touristic places of the White City!We are a very CLEAN and QUIET Hostel which goal is for you to be happy here. We have all the great things the great hostels have, plus you feeling actually like a GUEST surrounded by friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing