We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it”
Review of La Hosteria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Hosteria
Ranked #17 of 102 Hotels in Arequipa
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Loved the rooms, food & service. Any little issue were fixed instantly. The Street has a wide footpath. Its 1 block from the Santa Catalina Monestery & only a couple of blocks to the main Plaza & many fantastic restaraunts.
I had rooms 306 & 307 which were spacious & commanded great views. They are at the back. The wifi was reliable & breaky a lovely combination of fruits, spicy sausage and a kind of fetta cheese plus eggs. As well as a variety of different teas.
I stayed 5 nights in total, the 1st before a Colca Canyon tour & the rest after.
NB: Ensure you get confirmation of your booking, don't assume if there are rooms available. Also, be patient with the hot water. It can take 5-10mins but is very hot once it arrives.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Cate8089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed here for three nights Feb 17-19. Even though I resquested and pre-paíd for a room in the back with a balcony, ended up getting a room in the 1st level and at the very front of the property. Resquested something in the back, but nothing else was available (keep in mind I had a reservation). I was placed in a triple room ( that was all they had at the time), which ended up being very noisy. Between the tour people that gathered right outside of my window (7:30 am on the dot) to wait for their tour bus,street trafic and the constant foot trafic...I could not wait to get out of there.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Nilfy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here in December 2013 and this hotel is in the perfect location. It is out of the high traffic area and in the old city of Arequipa which is where you want to be and next to the famous monastery of Arequipa. It is about a 5 minute walk to the main square which is gorgeous! So many restaurants to choose from with some of the best food I have ever had in my life for very reasonable prices. The hotel has a beautiful entrance and gardens and gorgeous sunset from roof. The staff were very nice too. The rooms are a perfect size, simple and not limited in space at all. It truly is great value for your money and the hotel suits the ambiance of the city, a beautiful and rustic feel. For that price, you can't beat that. The only things is at the time of my stay, one window had a broken layer in room 201 but my parents in law did not have that in theirs of course. Not safe for kids but the hotel said they were going to replace that soon. Would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This hotel has a picture perfect courtyard full of beautiful flowers. A spectactular place to eat your breakast outside next to the fountain and watch the hummingbird feed. The bedrooms were not as magnificent as the courtyard, but extremely comfortable with hot showers. Breakfast was plentiful with eggs, fruit, yoghurt and all sorts of cereals. The staff were very helpful and kind.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms were very atmospheric, but the window opened to the courtyard. At night it had to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

You can hardly get a better location than La Hosteria - right behind Santa Catalina and very easy walking distance from most central attractions. The room we had was very nice with a balcony and view on El Misti (wow). Nice comfy bed, quiet, breakfast was ok. The only reason why I can't give this hotel the top mark is the lack of a door to the toilet: it's completely open, no intimacy. So much for romance!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jullyette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I loved staying here, the room was large with comfortable beds, and there were flowers and birds outside our window. The staff were friendly and helpful. They have a laundry service which is extremely expensive (paid per shirt), but they also have a deal with an external company which charges by the kilo. It cost us 16 soles (a little over 4 euros) and all our clothes were clean within a day.
The location is great, quite central yet not in a noisy street. I loved the sunny terraces and the little courtyard. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naranek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Nice decent looking hotel. Staff is friendly. Room was clean but my bed was way too hard. (And i like normally firm beds.
Rooms at the back on the 3 th floor are really nice: modern, with a nice bathroom and bath, large windows and a great view of the vulcano but also overlooking the busiest traffic intersection of the city. If you don't mind the the noise it's a great room,
If you do, ask for a room at the inner courtyard.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Dieders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 102 in Arequipa
1,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#5 of 102 in Arequipa
870 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
#16 of 102 in Arequipa
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#6 of 102 in Arequipa
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Hosteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Hosteria

Address: Calle Bolivar 405 Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 102 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range: £43 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Hosteria 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feature colonial house with rooms ashlar and vaulted ceilings with patios and sunrooms filled with color and sunshine. The lodge is at the heart of the historic center of Arequipa, in the center of the city very near to banks, shopping and restaurants in the city, opposite the convent of Santa Catalina, three blocks from the main square. About 20 minutes from the airport. The hotel has 16 rooms between superior and standard, ranging from 20 to 40 m2, these rooms are equipped with safe, cable TV, private bathroom and minibar. Guests can enjoy a breakfast buffet with cereals dairy, fruits, and juices. The property has a 24h reception, free Wi-Fi in public places as well as room service, parking and provides laundry services at additional cost. We have a Roman bath, spa and swimming pool, which is an additional cost, so you can relax and feel comfortable in our hotel stay. You can program the pick up and transfer from the airport with prior arrangement with the hotel. Tourist information is provided free, and you can schedule multiple and various tours. The rooms feature all the amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Hosteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing