We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”
Review of La Hosteria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Hosteria
Ranked #17 of 103 Hotels in Arequipa
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I stayed here as part of a group tour and loved it. It is a small and friendly establishment with rooms arranged around a courtyard. My room, downstairs, was huge with two big beds and plenty of space around them. I was very close to the entrance to reception but there was no issue with noise at all. The breakfast room was cosy and atmospheric and the food good with plenty of choice.

The location was excellent being a short stroll from the main square and just on the edge of the convent. Arequipa was somewhere I would love to revisit to explore in more depth and if I did I would be very happy to return to this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank sue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Lovely garden setting, healthy, fresh breakfast, welcoming staff, economical, wonderful location, ....La Hosteria is high on our list of accommodations in our three week visit to Peru. Upon our arrival, we were told that we had been upgraded because there was availability and they like to offer the best rooms available to guests. We had a beautiful view and in- room jacuzzi tub to enjoy when we weren't out visiting the sites of Arequipa during our three days there. Thanks to the staff of La Hosteria and Gold Tours via Andean Treks for a great start to our Peruvian adventure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeggyChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I really enjoyed my two nights here. The courtyard and upper patio were beautiful - just as you see in the pictures. My room was pleasant enough, nothing outstanding but comfortable. Staff were very helpful and spoke some English - helped me by making a reservation at a very popular restaurant with fifteen minutes notice. Tea and coffee (and coca tea) available anytime. Wifi worked okay. In a great location opposite the monastery and an easy walk to the town square and restaurant streets. Highly recommend Zig Zag restaurant. Arequipa is a beautiful city and I would have happily spent more time in La Hosteria to explore it more.

Room Tip: My upstairs room was very quiet, located at the end of the corridor. Had pleasant views over the cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judi_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel looks in general very nice. The garden in front of the reception and the terrace look beautiful.
The rooms are nice. The shower, well, the water pressure could be increased as it doesn't feel like to take a real shower.
The breakfast was almost empty at 9am. We waited some time but they didn't brought anything more.
The hotel is close to the party area, don't expect silence in the night till the morning (we stayed during the weekend)!!!
Anyhow, it's very close to many interesting places in Arequipa. Free and fast Wi-Fi is available.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rafi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel was very lovely with gorgeous plants in the courtyards. The rooms were also quite nice, with lovely furnishings and a beautiful bathroom. The location was perfect, as it is right across from the Monastery and an easy walk to the square. Breakfast was also very good, as we typically had at all hotels on this trip. We also got great service from the staff, including an excellent suggestion for dinner and arranging transportation to the airport.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cllaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

When we arrived we got a room in ground floor wich has no windows except the door one.
Be sure to get a room on the first or higher floor, unless you arent capable to get to the first floor.
On the ground floor you cant see anything outside because of the walls.
On the first floor there is a terrace with a nice view on the vulcano "Misty".
Thanks go out to the very nice "old" lady wich we helped with the 6 suitcases getting upstairs.

Room Tip: Dont take the two rooms below, they have no windows (except the door window). Be sure to mention it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved this hotel which was a perfect base for our stay in Arequipa. Great location next to the monastery (well worth a visit!) and a short walk from the main square. Lovely courtyards and terrace with great rooms and very helpful staff. Only slight negative was the breakfast which wasn't up to the standard of the Tierra Viva hotels we'd stayed in earlier in the trip. Overall a really lovely place to stay though.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 103 in Arequipa
1,148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#5 of 103 in Arequipa
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#7 of 103 in Arequipa
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.6 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Hosteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Hosteria

Address: Calle Bolivar 405 Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 103 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range: £41 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Hosteria 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feature colonial house with rooms ashlar and vaulted ceilings with patios and sunrooms filled with color and sunshine. The lodge is at the heart of the historic center of Arequipa, in the center of the city very near to banks, shopping and restaurants in the city, opposite the convent of Santa Catalina, three blocks from the main square. About 20 minutes from the airport. The hotel has 16 rooms between superior and standard, ranging from 20 to 40 m2, these rooms are equipped with safe, cable TV, private bathroom and minibar. Guests can enjoy a breakfast buffet with cereals dairy, fruits, and juices. The property has a 24h reception, free Wi-Fi in public places as well as room service, parking and provides laundry services at additional cost. We have a Roman bath, spa and swimming pool, which is an additional cost, so you can relax and feel comfortable in our hotel stay. You can program the pick up and transfer from the airport with prior arrangement with the hotel. Tourist information is provided free, and you can schedule multiple and various tours. The rooms feature all the amenities to make your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Hosteria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing