We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay & good value for money but lacks a bit of atmosphere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Pancho AQP Hostel
Ranked #100 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Arequipa
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed 2 nights here before and after trekking. Overall the hostel is comfortable with clean rooms, comfortable beds and good showers. Staff were friendly, the breakfast was awesome and it was great having a fully equipped kitchen. The only drawback is that it lacks a bit of atmosphere as a 'backpackers' hostel. This suited us fine as we were after some rest. The only other negative was that there was a bit of noise from the families that were utilizing it as a base. Completely not the fault of the owners but a bit annoying that the parents couldn't control their kids a bit more.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megatronic178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for San Pancho AQP Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

An absolute little gem. I'm so pleased I stayed here rather than roughing it with some of the gap year muppets at Wild Rover!

I stayed slightly out of season so the hostel was quiet when I was there, however aside from the slight lack of social interaction I certainly could not fault anything about the place. The location is quiet and pleasant on a small square, with an excellent cake shop next door.

My room was outstanding value for money, genuinely the most pleasant double room I stayed in whilst in Peru barring a *VERY* expensive Lima hotel. Spotlessly clean, everything worked and attractively furnished. Oh, and the shower was HOT.

I found the staff utterly charming and very helpful, even fixing my ripped trousers for me for a small fee. They speak fairly basic English, but I managed just fine with a bit of Spanish and a smile!

Great value for money and a pleasant, comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Double rooms very good value for money
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saminbrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

The banana pancakes with caramel sauce were SUCH a nice change from the typical light breakfasts in Peru.

The public spaces (a tv room, terrace with tables and chairs and a ping pong table) are all lovely- the terrace in particular with flowering vines all around it.

The location was a 5-7 minute walk from the main square but in a really nice square right next to the fantastic restaurant Arthur!

Room itself was basic- clean and comfortable, although they never took out our trash in the bathroom! (A real negative since you can't flush toilet paper).

The tour to Colca Canyon that we booked through the hostel was also good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hostel is situated on a lovely square that has some historical relevance and it is nice if you have a room that looks out onto the square, albeit a little noisy at night. The rooms are clean and large with bathrooms that are ok, there was hot water when we were there.

They have a pool table and a ping pong table, and a little terrace area to sit and have breakfast or just read. They also have a roof terrace but I didn't go up there so I can't comment. They have a kitchen which has everything you need to cook for yourselves and a little room with a sofa and TV.

Breakfast is basic bread and jam or banana pancakes with coffee or tea. Fairly standard for Peru but certainly not anything special (but is included in the price)

We paid 60 Soles for a double bedroom with en suite, it was meant to be more than that but as they weren't full up they offered it to us for less which was nice of them.

The staff are very friendly but don't seem very knowledgeable about Arequipa and it's transport options. They only really know about the services and tours that they offer from the hostel, they were absolutely no help when asking about public buses or cheaper ways to travel to Colca Canyon.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the square as it is a nice view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at this hostel for three nights before and after the Colca Canyon trek and had a nice stay.

Pros:

1. Great location - hostel is situated on a beautiful cobbled square.

2. Amazing breakfast. Huge banana pancakes served in small courtyard.

3. Friendly staff who can provide advice on things to do locally.

Cons:

1. Rooms facing onto the courtyard were very noisy.

2. On the first two nights with had a shared bathroom which was a bit grotty!! Very dirty floor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraLouiseG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were very disapointed by this hostel. We arrived in the morning at 9.30 and couldn't check in before 11.30. So we wanted to take a breakfast which was supposed to be served until 10am but that was also not possible anymore. So we tryed to do a laundry but that was double price compared to other places. Then on the night we couldn't sleep because of the noise and the music on the courtyard of the hostel. But the worst was that when we came back to pick up our backpacks after 3 days of trecking in the colca canyon, sweaty and exhausted, we asked the hostel if we can take a shower before going on the night bus to Cuuzco and the really not helpful receptionist asked us to pay 10 soles for the shower (more cold than warm)! So to conclude : a really not amazing hostel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solenike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Having moved here from another hostel that we didnt particularly like, we liked this hostel straight away.

We made use of the kitchen, pool table, we enjoyed breakfast and at the end of our 3 days here we booked the Colca Canyon tour through the hostel. We enjoyed the tour, it was fantastic. After the tour we came back to this hostel for another night.

The hostel isnt located in the very centre, its about 5 blocks away, but it is on a really picturesque street, away from the main road, and the walk to the plaza is lovely. The staff at the hostel were brilliant and really helpful. Recommended :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magicalreindeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.1 mi away
MB Backpackers
MB Backpackers
#21 of 181 in Arequipa
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.2 mi away
La Posada del Virrey
La Posada del Virrey
#95 of 181 in Arequipa
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Marlon's House Arequipa
Marlon's House Arequipa
#10 of 173 in Arequipa
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Foyer Hostel Arequipa
Le Foyer Hostel Arequipa
#5 of 181 in Arequipa
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#7 of 101 in Arequipa
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pancho AQP Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pancho AQP Hostel

Address: Calle San Francisco 221, Arequipa 054, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 181 Speciality Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range: £17 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Pancho AQP Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your San Pancho AQP Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing