We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel, with a touch of culture.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa
Ranked #11 of 185 Speciality Lodging in Arequipa
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was a lovely hostel, that had really nice communal areas. The room was fantastic, spacious and had an en-suite. Very reasonable price as isn't too far from the plaza de armas, which is important at that altitude. Highly recommended. The Peruvian tendency to constantly beeb when driving was a factor for sleep but that would be the same regardless of where you are staying.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian_C_35_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

After coming back from Colca Canyon we stayed here for a few days, this was a safe and secure place.so I give it a 5. Location is great near the centre of town.

The breakfast is included which was decent - bread, cheese, ham, cereal, fruit, coffee.

The staff at reception helps with any tours or taxi needs, and point you to good things to do around town.

Bad things: cleaning wasn't 100% in the room, kitchen needed cleaning properly as dishes were overflowing and Bathroom wasn't clean through the day only in the morning.
Overall a great place to stay in historical Arequipa and good location.

Room Tip: Stay at the front don't stay at the back, slightly out of the way.. WIFI in the back area can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed here with some friends mostly because they have a huge amazing kitchen and we wanted to cook a thanksgiving dinner. The hostel is a gorgeous space and the beds are really comfortable. It is pretty centrally located, about a ten minute walk from the town center. The bathrooms are very clean as well. The bar was kind of small but we made it fun. The staff was super nice and helpful, and didn't care that we took over their kitchen all day! Overall a great place to stay in historical Arequipa.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank LRMTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Our experience in the Flying Dog in Arequipa was absolutely wonderful. The whole staff, especially Jose and Seba were extremely friendly, helpful, and will be good friends for a while. The facility is clean, great kitchen, great location, awesome rooftop patio, super breakfast, fun bar, comfy beds, great public spaces for meeting new travelers, everything you could want in a hostel. It made our experience in Arequipa. Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hostel is an old colonial building with spacious common areas including courtyard, outdoor terrace, living room, bar and many rooms for dorm or private. Beds and en-suite bathroom were clean & comfortable, as was the rest of the hostel. The breakfast is included which was decent - bread, cheese, ham, cereal, fruit, coffee. :)
The staff at reception helps with any tours or taxi needs, and point you to good things to do around town.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank allisonsnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

we stayed 1 night in a twin room with private bathroom

+ got the room at 8am in the morning before "official" check in
+ nice and clean room with 2 showers ;-) (hot water and good pressure)
+ friendly staff
+ free and reliable wifi at all places
+ free luggage storage
+ could book our colca valley tour and got discount
+ not bad situated (10' walk to center, many good restaurants around the corner)

what could be improved in our view:
- make sure the booked room is available (we had to accept a twin instead of a double room)
- provide a simple packed breakfast for early leavers

our conclusion: recommended, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swisscouple1983-rtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We booked at this hostel mainly for the availability of the superior room. It was so worth it! Room #6 is so nice with high ceilings and a bathroom just as beautiful. It is called the Superior 1 bedroom Suite Garded View (Private bathroom). A little more costly than the other rooms but you will never have a room like this in a hotel at double that price.
Other rooms I've seen there all looked nice too but not as special as this one. The hostel in itself is OK, staff may not be that much friendly but it didn't bother us. Location is good and breakfast fun with the visit of the resident cat.

Room Tip: Superior room #6 is worth the extra cost. It beats any hotel room and has so much style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPHarvey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.4 mi away
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 185 in Arequipa
351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bothy Hostel Arequipa
Bothy Hostel Arequipa
#9 of 185 in Arequipa
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Foyer Hostel Arequipa
Le Foyer Hostel Arequipa
#6 of 185 in Arequipa
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Posada del Virrey
La Posada del Virrey
#119 of 185 in Arequipa
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
MB Backpackers
MB Backpackers
#20 of 185 in Arequipa
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa

Address: Melgar St 116, Arequipa, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 185 Speciality Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range: £18 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing