We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
40
24
15
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
24
15
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews duvet balcony roof reception sleep beds
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Close to plaza which was great for us. Stayed for 1 night & wanted to stay another but no room. Nice comfy beds & duvet. We had a street facing room with balcony which was nice but birds in the roof made it a little noisey. Walls pretty thin & could hear people in surrounding rooms but didn't bother me so much.
Overall a good stay & cute room.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 607saraht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

This place is an amazing location! It is literally right next door to the Plaza! We could easily walk around and return to our hotel at any time. We had a room right on the balcony which was fun to stand outside and people watch! However, it was loud at night but that comes with the territory. The beds were super comfy (some of the best in Peru). They offered breakfast which was bread, scrambled egg and ham but we usually went out to a cafe! The front desk also let us store our backpacking backpacks for a night when we went to Colca Canyon which was free of charge. Our wifi was somewhat inconsistent which was a downside. Overall I'd highly recommend this place!!!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 836analisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2016

I stayed for four nights at Hotel Riviera Arequipa. The primary reason was the location, and I was able to walk in and reserve a room at a slightly discounted price since I was staying for more than a few nights. I was offered the room at 90 Peruvian Solas a night or about $27 U.S. with breakfast.

As other reviewers noted the rooms are not as clean as they could be. I had an interior room not on the street. As another reviewer noted the adjoining wall is sheet rock and at 7 AM the first morning I was woken up by a business man speaking loudly using speaker phone. He was having a heated conversation with someone! I personally find this rude and disrespectful and a violation of other people's privacy, and a general lack of courtesy being that it was so early in the morning. In my travels I have been finding this lack of consideration for others more and more. As a public service announcement please if you have to have a conversation in a public area like a restaurant or hotel hallway, please don't put it on speakerphone. Go someplace that is a common area like a lobby or outside. I feel the same rules for smoking should be applied to cell phone use. Respect others who share the space!

The breakfast was below average. A couple of pieces of pocket bread, butter, jelly and scrambled eggs. Tea was provided with hot water but no coffee, which in places like this is usually instant anyway so it wasn't missed.

Hot water: I took 4 showers and had hot water for 2 of them. 50% of the time I had hot water. I told them I didn't need my room cleaned every day since the cleaning job was meager at best. I left my trash outside for them in my recycled plastic grocery bags from the market. When I asked for towel replacements there seemed to be a problem with finding fresh towels and once they had to go to another room to get one.

Wifi was lame. Undependable and erratic. Slow when it worked. Forget about streaming anything at high quality if at all.

As one reviewer noted there is a pigeon problem but the seemed to have partially solved this with netting over the roof top dining area. However my last morning there was a single pigeon roaming around the tables. One night I thought I would go sit in the cushioned chairs on the roof top deck but found them stained with pigeon droppings and the fabric torn and ratty looking. The roof top that is behind this seating area is basically a place they use as a junkyard and is littered with debris.

Someone wrote that the receptionist Marsielle (spelling?) was someone who they found helpful and pleasant. I didn't. She was not friendly to me at all and seemed dismissive and curt to me. When I asked for a late check-out she wouldn't do it even though the room wasn't booked up. I know this because they offered me to stay longer no matter if it was an hour or more for 50 Peruvian solas, which was more than half of what my nightly cost was! This was adamantly non-negotiable until she relinquished and offered me an extra half hour. I believe this is because the cleaning staff just wanted to finish their job and go home or whatever.

Forget asking them to print anything out for you either. I was told they don't have a printer although there was one on a shelf next to the front desk not plugged in and probably broken. However there is an office area behind that as a modern business I am sure must have a printer for their own use.

This business at this hotel is run by the help and not the manager or owner, who I am sure is never present. As a word of advice he or she should be and take personal pride in their establishment and heed these reviews on TripAdvisor. We offer them freely and truthfully spending time to help other travelers.

The only saving grace was Deana, one of the receptionists who really does care, who tries to help, and is genuinely pleasant. I have to personally thank her for making what was an otherwise poor experience in hospitality at least tolerable.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoulAlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Value for money this is a great hotel located one step from the city center. We had a spacious room on the back and breakfast on the rooftop terrace is wonderful.
Negative points were the overall cleanness of the room (our toilet was not clean), lipstick on my coffee mugg and pigeons everywhere (you have to like pigeons on the table next to you when you have breakfast). Also bring earplugs because when the pigeons walk around on the steel roof (rooms at the back) it makes a lot of noise!

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank brunovN2553WF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed for five nights, ten metres from the centre of Arequipa. The room was clean, huge and had access to the joint balcony. I would recommend ear plugs if you want a quite sleep as it suits you, because until the taxi drivers calm down (around 1 am) it is quite noisey. Having spent a month in Peru, Solar de Arequipa had strong, hot showers!! Very excited about that. After a few days I found it quicker to use Google Translate on the phone to ask in reception for what I needed, which is entirely reasonable because my Spanish is relatively non-existant :)

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilipBateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews