We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mochileros Beds and Rest
Nearby Hotels
Los Tambos(Arequipa)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Posada Nueva Espana(Arequipa)
US$32
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Hosteria(Arequipa)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Arequipa(Arequipa)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
25
22
4
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
22
4
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I'm here right now in the Living room, small dorms, clean & quiet. Only 3 blocks from the plaza and has a great balcony view of the volcano :) pay extra for towels and to use the kitchen- that why the 4 stars and not 5. Pool table, big kitchen, hot water :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Rosa8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

This hostel looks like a total winner from the outset. Amazingly well stocked kitchen, clean, modern rooms and bathrooms, murals on the walls, fast WiFi etc.

Do not be fooled by the "beds and rest" motto of this hostel. When we came to see it and accepted the room (Sunday) we did not realise there was a building site with pneumatic drill in operation from 7.30am directly opposite and of course no one pointed it out. Ok that's not their fault, but on our third night there, we had to get out of bed and ask three different groups of people to be quiet - at 4.30 (a group who had been drinking outside all night), 5am, and 5.45, by which time the sun was coming up. The staff were nowhere to be seen and clearly did not enforce the 'quiet after 11pm' rule. Appallingly disrespectful from other guests. One guy (the 5am person) obviously arrived on an overnight bus, then sat in reception and proceeded to shout down his mobile phone in a very loud voice until I went down and said something. The receptionist who let him in? Nowhere to be seen.

The hostel's design is really flawed. The place is echoey and there is no distance between shared spaces and private rooms. To be fair to the guests who kept us up, having a patio directly beneath someone's crappy window is a bad idea. So is having the TV area RIGHT OUTSIDE someone's room, so that even during the day you can hear every word being said and there is no privacy. Avoid room number 5 whatever you do.

Next day we moved to another, albeit dingier, room and were grateful for the quieter location...until we realised it was a WiFi dead zone. Normally this wouldn't be an issue but I am working on the road and need internet in my room. Again the staff weren't too bothered - to be fair they reset the router but if it doesn't reach, it doesn't reach.

I have never before obtained a refund and left a hostel early, but at the end of the day if you're not in a party hostel (which this patently isn't...there's not even a bar) then all you want is sleep and reliable internet....and this place gave us neither.

No amount of pretty murals or kitchen equipment can make up for that.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We are (actually currently) staying at Mochileros for a 4 day period, and find the facilities very appropriate, there are common areas, breakfast is included, the rooms are rather spacious and clean, bathrooms freshly renovated, the staff is friendly and helpful. The location is great - a 7 minute walk from the main square, but off the party track (and not a party hostel itself). Have to pay additional USD2 a day in case you want to use the kitchen.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zanda_and_mael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

It is clean, cosy and the rooms are great. The dorms have big lockers and the showers are actually hot (I burned myself :-P ). I got sick and the receptionist called a doktor, and they cared about me. The common rooms and terras are nice, and have a lot of games. Only downer is that they are constructing nearby, buy close the window and you don't hear it.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Enrique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have stayed there for about a week and a half. Great staff, good location,clean and tidy. Sometimes there are problems with wifi or the hot water, but not something too uncomfortable. The hostel works with a tour guide named miguel, who was very helpfull. Recommended!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamlevari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews