We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Knowledgeable and fun!

This was our first big trip after a year plus of no travel because of Covid and Carlitos tour was... read more

Reviewed 6 December 2021
alegomz
,
Miami, Florida
via mobile
Definitely Go with Carlitos Tours!!

Truly wonderful experience! Carlitos met us at our hotel and explained all the details of our tour... read more

Reviewed 19 November 2021
K5165QNwendyd
Read all 595 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Arequipa
from US$84.00
More Info
from US$135.00
More Info
from US$109.00
More Info
from US$360.00
More Info
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveller rating
553
29
4
1
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
553
29
4
1
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews colca canyon tour hot springs next morning long trek day tour private tour fruit local family guide ivan la granja great guide del colca thermal baths arequipa airport guinea pigs answered all our questions hubert
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
327 - 332 of 595 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2015

We did the 2D/1N Not Conventional Tour with Short Treks and had an unbelievably amazing experience. If you want an intimate look at Colca Canyon with an knowledgeable and accommodating tour guide, then this is definitely the company for you. Yes, it's a bit more expensive than some of the group tours, but it's completely worth it. Everything major is included in the cost, so it's an absolutely painless way to experience the canyon. We had booked several months in advance, re-confirmed shortly before we started our trip, and everything went smoothly from there. Sending the deposit via Western Union was a new experience for me, but that seems to be the norm for Peru, and Carlitos Tours is completely trustworthy, so there is nothing to worry about if that concerns you. As planned and promised, Carlitos met us the night before our tour at our hotel, explained everything, and was prompt to arrive the next morning. I even had a few special requests for my girlfriend that he was extremely sweet to accommodate (going above and beyond what I ever could have imagined).

As for the tour itself, Hubert was our guide (hopefully I'm spelling his name correctly!), and really made the experience memorable. I have a tendency to ask a ton of questions, and he never hesitated to answer. Along the way, if we encountered large tour groups, he found ways to tweak our itinerary so that we had certain stops along the way a bit more to ourselves. This particular tour was nice because it went well off the beaten path (definitely not where the large tours go), and as a result for most of the first day we hardly saw any other tour groups. We ended seeing just about every type of wildlife I could have imagined (vicunas, flamingos, viscacha, condors, etc.), and had plenty of time to pull off to the side of the road and take lots of pictures, so again, private tour is the way to go. We ended up staying the night in Cabanaconde, which I would highly recommend (cute town, not as touristy, gorgeous setting). On the second day, on the way back to Arequipa we ran into quite a bit of traffic which was going to make us late to our next activity, but Hubert was extremely nice and contacted Carlitos, who was then able to contact the person in charge of our next activity to let them know we would be a bit late. Then, since we never had time to do our free city tour, Carlitos offered a free transport to the airport for our flight the next morning. Again, going above and beyond what I would ever expect from a tour company.

(Also, if you're considering when to visit the canyon, consider doing so at the end of the rainy season (mid April). We didn't have a much of a choice and had to visit at this time of the year, but it ended up being great because there wasn't any rain, but everything was still green and gorgeous.)

Overall, as you can probably tell I cannot say enough good things about Carlitos Tour, so do yourself a favor and make this your company of choice when visiting Colca Canyon.

Date of experience: April 2015
3  Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlitostours, Owner at Carlitos Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

Thanks a lot for your comment about your experience with us
We really appreciate
We are working really hard improving our service
The best wishes for you
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2015

My girlfriend and I booked this tour and we had a private tour with guide and driver. It was all organised well and our guide (not "Carlitos", we think "Jean", but are not sure anymore :-) ) was wonderful. He was very experienced and knew a lot about the fauna, flora and the history of the colca canyon and the Inkas. We had an awesome time in the canyon with it's deep cliffs and especially the Condors, which we saw plenty. Over all very recommendable and worth the money.

Date of experience: August 2014
3  Thank migrosmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlitostours, Owner at Carlitos Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

Thanks a lot for your comment about your experience with us
We really appreciate
We are working really hard improving our service
The best wishes for you
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015

We are a Canadian family traveling Peru with 5 young children (ages 2-10). We had a fabulous time with Carlitos Tours and can't recommend them highly enough.

Our guide, Jean, was a tremendous help with the kids and was very knowledgeable. The 3 Day tour was the right choice for our family as it allowed the kids a slower pace and some time to pick fruit at a local orchard and have time to swim in the pool at the Oasis de Sangalle. The trek up the canyon was steep but all the kids made it (thanks again to Jean's help and encouragement).

We also took a short day tour of Arequipa with Carlitos and Hubert and again, they did everything to make it a wonderful experience for all seven of us.

What rich memories we have of our time in Arequipa. Thank you Carlitos Tours!

Date of experience: March 2015
4  Thank vriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlitostours, Owner at Carlitos Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

Thanks a lot for your comment about your experience with us
We really appreciate
We are working really hard improving our service
The best wishes for you
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

We had a great experience with Carlitos Tours from start to finish. Great customer service, from the level of communication before the trip (speedy response to email, meeting personally a couple of days before to ensure everything was ok) to being very flexible on timings and itinerary, to throwing in a free city tour and even personally taking us back to the airport. The tour itself of the Colca Canyon was fantastic. Jean the guide was exceptional - extremely knowledgeable, fantastic English, kind, fun and friendly. The driver Asuncio was also great and very experienced. We did the '2 Day Unconventional Tour' and would highly recommend it. The valley and canyon are stunning and even though due to time of year we had some rain and fog, the upside was it was very green and Jean made a big effort to make sure we did see the Condors despite a foggy start in the morning. Enjoy!

Date of experience: March 2015
5  Thank ccjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlitostours, Owner at Carlitos Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

Thanks a lot for your comment about your experience with us
We really appreciate
We are working really hard improving our service
The best wishes for you
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2015

If you're thinking of doing Colca Canyon with a guide, then Carlitos Tours is the way to go!!

Arriving in Arequipa after having trekked around the Amazon and Maccu Picchu we were really tired and a little worse for wear. Carlos (owner of the company) met us at our accommodation and explained our different options and answered all of our questions - he was very patient - we asked a lot of questions!! We didn't feel any pressure to take up any of the tours, he just gave us the info for us to decide. He even gave us the flexibility to be able to change last minute.We ended up doing the 2 days/1 night (long trek - 6hrs) option with non-private transport.

Our guide Jean was the best! Jean was informative, attentive and has a great sense of humour. We experienced all kinds of weather types throughout the trip (rain, heat, mist and snow - yes snow!!!), but Jean made the trek lots of fun, we sang through the heat, told jokes through the rain, he provided us with information when we asked and he looked out for us the whole way, including yelling out encouraging things to keep us going through the tougher sections of the trek and carrying a never ending supply of snacks and drinks for the 6 hr trek into the canyon! Carlitos Tours also provided a set of walking sticks (as a just in case we needed them - which Jean carried for me!) as I had told Carlos I had a knee injury.

During the trek we passed some of the other tours who had larger groups - they didn't look like they were having as much fun and one girl ended up tagging along with us for part of the 2nd day trek because her tour group had gone ahead without her and she was left alone!

At the end of the trip, Carlos picked us up where the tour van dropped us off to drive us back to our accommodation and offered to pick us up and drive us to the airport the next day!

If I was to provide any feedback - maybe a little more info on the varying weather conditions to be expected, but other than that it was a GREAT experience overall with Jean and Carlos from Carlitos Tours. Highly recommend!!!

Date of experience: February 2015
2  Thank Joansy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlitostours, Propietario at Carlitos Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2015

We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed the tour with Carlitos Team
It is important for us to make sure all our customers can have a great and unforgettable experience
Keep working well
The best wishes for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews