We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best climb”
Review of Chachani

Chachani
Ranked #17 of 103 things to do in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This large extinct volcano, 6,057 meters in height, rises above Arequipa in southern Peru and is a popular site for climbers.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not the best climb”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I climbed Chachani with my dad in September 2012. Although it's almost 6,100 meters high, it's quite an easy climb. Because you can drive almost up to 5,000 meters, and then climb the rest. We opted to stay the night at about 5,300 meters instead of doing the whole climb in one day. In hindsight, I would have probably only done it in 1 day, not 2 days. This is because Day 1 of our climb was only about a 1.5 hour hike. So Day 1 was kind of a waste.

The hike itself was quite boring. In fact, it's just one large sand mountain, with some rocks as well. Hiking up is a bit like running in sand. It's very tiring, and everytime step up, resulted in a half-a-step slip back down again. There was no wildlife whatsoever, not vegetation either. I have hike extenively and this was probably the most boring hike I've even done. All we saw for the entire hike was sand some rocks. That's it. I don't think I would recommend this hike. I think hiking in Huaraz (visiting Lagoons) or somewhere near Cusco (Salkantay or Lares trail) is a much better deal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MrInternational02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    62
    10
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalmar, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Climbing Chachani - 1 day”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We would like to do this review as informative as possible because we had a difficult time to find any good information about this climb before we did it. Hope this will help some of you out there!

To begin with we would like to say that we had zero experience in climbing up to a summit before and the highest we had been before this was about 5200 meters. We are a couple at the age of 23 and our physical state was like average. For about 15 days before this we had been to Puno and Cusco, so our acclimatization was pretty good, at least we thought that. A lot of companies does this climb but our choice was Colca Trek and the main reason for that was that we wanted to do the climb in just one day and Colca Trek were very supporting about that. The guide we got, Johan, was very calm and good. He spoke good English and that was important for us. We paid 530 soles per person and that was a bit higher because we wanted to do it just the two of us. We met the guide the same day as we booked the tour and did a briefing about the climb and he also wanted to know what equipment we needed. We did borrow the following things:

Fleece
Jacket
Warm trousers
Gloves
Hats
Flashlight

Some of the things were a bit old but still okey. This was all included in the price we paid. To do the climb in just one day we were picked up at our hostel at midnight and then we drove about 3 hours to the starting point. From here we walked in the dark for about 1-1,5 hours and it was up and downhill, but a pretty easy start. Then we arrived to the basecamp at 5200 meters were we took a quick break. Before the sunrise it was very cold outside so you really want to move all the time. We then continued from the basecamp towards the top. Now the path really starts to go steep uphill but in a zigzack way. Now we started to feel the altitude and our walking pace was very slow and we were forced to do a lot of mini breaks. After a total of 8 hours from the starts we reached 6020 meters above sea level. We were now very exhausted but we still had like 40 minutes to the top. Together with the guide we actually decided to go down from here and skip the top because of the time and that our bodies were really sore and tired. We were just happy and glad that we had made it up to over 6000 meters so we felt it was okey to go down. We had a great view so it actually felt like we were at the top! The downpart took us about 3-4 hours with a big break in the middle.

The mistakes we made and things that we would have done differently are the following:

Drink more water even though it's hard at high altitude.
Eat more, not candy but more bread or something like that to get more energy.
Get yourself as much as sleep as possible before you do the climb. You will need it!
Listen to your body, don't push yourself to hard or you won't make it all the way up.
Remember that it can be very cold out there so dress warm!
Watch out for altitude sickness, it can be very dangerous.


The whole climb was very exhausting but we are really happy that we did it even though we didn't make it all the way up to the top. We would recommend this climb and we can promise you that it's a really amazing experience!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
16 Thank Hillihappo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mira, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“downhill”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Downhill by bike it's a great experience for those people who doesn't have the time to do the Colca Canyon. We went to the top by car and we went down completely alone(but with the eventual support of our van) by bike. The view is amazing!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arequipa, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Downhill Biking”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I did not hike these mountains. I did downhill biking. It was a lot of fun. But it was challenging! A couple of weeks later a group of my friends hiked them. Half of them didn't finish. This hike is CHALLENGING. I see a lot of travelers that come through here and never finish. Most tour companies will tell you that anyone can do this hike. They are lying.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

How can you not love the snow capped mountains of the Andies. Coming from a dry country like Australia it is easy to be in awe of these beautiful monoliths.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chachani also viewed

Arequipa, Arequipa Region
Arequipa, Arequipa Region
 

Been to Chachani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing