We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, good location”
Review of Colonial House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colonial House Inn
Ranked #103 of 170 Arequipa B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff, good location”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Altogether we stayed 5 nights in the CHI. We enjoyed it very much. All the staff members are extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was ok (door window into the patio, bathroom rather small; but clean and quite spaceous). The breakfast is included in the room price and is served on the roof terrace with great views to the mountains and over the city. Very centrally located and in a safe barrio.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susannewch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
1
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The Colonial House Inn is a traditional colonial building and it is very conveniently located near the attractions and the services. The rooms are large and clean but some renovation would not hurt. There is a TV in the rooms and a computer for guests in the lobby. The rooftop terrace where they serve breakfast offers a wonderful view of volcano El Misti. Breakfat is basic but guests can use the kitchen. The two ladies that work there are very friendly and helpful. One of them, Andrea, speaks pretty good English. The noise in the street was not an issue since I had an internal room and I was out most of the time. They allowed me to leave my luggage there when I went to the Colca Canyon for two days. Considering the little money I paid I am satisfied of my stay and I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raphisdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile


The location was great. Very close to the main touristy areas and other attractions.

The rooms definitely need a remodel, but it's a good step up from the hostel scene for a similar price. Avoid the rooms in the front, they are really loud. One of the rooms smelled really musty to me (carpet plus rainy season) and I switched.

The showers were hot half the time and I got a small shock during one shower when my hand was near the shower head.

The internet doesn't work in every room, but worked well in the lobby. I liked that I could use the hotel computer since I left mine at home.

The staff was fabulous and very helpful. Loved breakfast on the terrace. Breakfast was very basic, but I enjoyed the real coffee on the morning instead of Nescafe.

You have access to the kitchen, which is helpful for those on a budget or that like to prepare their own food.

I would not suggest booking the Colca Canyon tour through them, I wasn't impressed with the tour (especially the terrible hotel they stuck me in).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed two nights in November. The room was large with clean bathroom and hot shower, 3 beds to choose from (double and single), table, plenty of space for our baggage. Lovely atrium with loads of plants and birds, nice breakfast in shade on the roof - with such an amazing view of El Misti and the town. The staff very helpful (especial when I was very poorly and could hardly get up from my bed). I would recommend, even though it is a bit rustic.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muffinandcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This place is charming and it's a pretty good value given the central location but there are far better places in any direction.

First problem is that it is right on one of the busiest streets- full of taxi, car and combi traffic at all hours. The noise is a real issue. As is the pollution-- unlike other hostels on this street which some seem to be set back from the street and have the rooms on the second floor not so with this place. So you get noise, floors shaking from the traffic as well as the lovely emissions that seep into the lobby from the street. Not great.

The place itself is run by two friendly women and seems to be kept as clean as possible but there is only so much you can do (there was either mold or mildew in my room) as it's badly in need of a renovation.

So, while it wasn't traumatizing, there are far better options in this city.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramonaquimby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arequipa hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This quirky hotel built into a historic building right in the heart of Cuzco was a nice place to stay on a budget. If you are looking for luxury, do not stay here. The rooms are huge but very basic. We stayed in two different rooms. They were somewhat dark and shabby, but fine with us because we were just looking for a cheap place to sleep. The water was hot (not always a guarantee in Peru) and the staff was very friendly. The have a nice view from their roof where you can enjoy the basic breakfast that is included.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjhdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Pro: staff was nice and helpful, breakfast on the roof terrace offers a nice view of El Misti volcano, walking distance to the city centre, free (but slow) internet access. Con: the place needs some renovation - dark entrance area, rooms are quite shabby with electrical showers only. Don't take a room that faces the street - lots of traffic and noise from as early as 5am. Overall, a cheap and clean place without any comfort, but will do if you're on a backpacker's budget.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the courtyard, NOT one facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mate44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
#13 of 97 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 97 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mirasol
Hotel Mirasol
#35 of 170 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Virrey
La Posada del Virrey
#89 of 170 in Arequipa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#3 of 97 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House Inn

Property: Colonial House Inn
Address: Puente Grau 114, Arequipa, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Colonial House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing