We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret garden in the white stoned city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
Ranked #16 of 102 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful and classic a colonial
Home that has been restored into a peaceful bed and breakfast. The rooms are kept with their character and offer a special experience.the garden within the walls is beautiful and we would stay here again.
Breakfast was lovely and the staff very friendly . Try the cereal with the sweet yogurt

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Average hotel in a good location a close walk from the centre of Arequipa. The breakfast we had in a covered area next to the pleasant arden was one of the most limited selections we have had in Peru. Good if you just like scrambled eggs and hard rolls! The staff cannot speak English so take your phrase book if you wish to converse without using sign language. The room was small and the bathroom in need of an urgent refurbishment. Free wifi was available which was a bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachwilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This place was just the reprieve we travel-weary souls needed. It turned out to be close to our favourite places (Monastery Santa Catalina, Chaqchao chocolate museum and Plaza de Armas). The friendly staff helped us with our needs and gave us the space to enjoy our stay. Our room was glorious (it almost felt as if it could have been part of Santa Catalina). The colonial architecture is stunning and the garden made me weep (especially when a hummingbird came and hovered in front of my face). Divine.

The matrimonial room with private bathroom had constant hot water - yay - a first in Peru. The bed was super comfortable and the room was cleaned daily with fresh towels provided. The room also came with breakfast included. The women who served us each morning were charming and set the tone for a great day and stay in Arequipa. Thankfully the rooms were quiet and we could not hear road noise. Sometimes though there was beautiful music nearby from choirs which was another added delight. In saying that, the staff could be heard speaking loudly early in the morning - but I found that quite forgivable. Highly recommended. I would return again and again. Our room cost 120 Sole per night, but I believe there are cheaper ones.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justjazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I've stayed at Hostal La Casa De Melgar twice and would definitely stay there again. We were on a multi-city trek through three countries and spent extra days in Arequipa to treat ourselves to some unscheduled "down time". Melgar is the perfect setting for this. The rooms are rustic but comfortable. If you like exposed 300-year-old stone and brick walls you'll love this place! Each room is unique and furnished with antiques. The hotel is built around a series of antique courtyards and fabulous gardens with benches, perfect to watch the birds, meet interesting fellow-travelers or use the reliable wi-fi to catch up on e-mail. The staff is helpful, especially Lydia at the front desk. Nearby, you can eat the world's best empanadas at a street vendor's stand across the street, or walk two blocks for a formal fabulous meal at Zig Zag which boasts a staircase designed by Eiffel.

Room Tip: Look at a few rooms if they have several vacancies. They're all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2fromsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Beautiful hostel, located in the center of Arequipa. We saw three rooms, all different. Quiet and relaxing rooms and patios. Good wifi connection and nice breakfast. AND the staff is nice. What else can you ask for?...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Charming mansion turned into a hotel with beautiful gardens. The rooms are large and have lots of character. Breakfasts are average. The hotel is just a few blocks from the main plaza and close to many good restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macpock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This hostal surprised me. Entering through a very modest doorway into the small reception area, it comes as something of a shock to walk through tree shaded colonial-style courtyards, up stairs or through the pretty and tidy gardens to your sillar-walled room.
The rooms themselves are relatively spartan, but with comfortable beds, spotlessly clean bathroom, cable, LCD TV, and phone and pleasant amounts of wood and brass, they're perfectly adequate. Not only this but given how large this hostal is - I must've walked though 4 or 5 separate small courtyards and the garden to get to some of the furthest reaches of the place - you can be fairly sure that you won't be bothered by the terrible traffic of Arequipa. In fact this is one of the few places in the centre of the city where you can hear birdsong. However, you can also hear the nearby discos on Thu/Fri/Sat in some rooms, so make sure you get a room that willl be insulated from the noise if it may bother you - I think the southern side would be best,
Service in general was excellent and the staff friendly and amenable.
Breakfast was very good. A buffet-style meal served in an area behind glass/perspex looking out onto the garden.
Charming, quite frankly. When I next return to Arequipa I'll be staying here

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobinBSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#6 of 102 in Arequipa
524 reviews
0.7 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 102 in Arequipa
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Hosteria
La Hosteria
#17 of 102 in Arequipa
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 102 in Arequipa
1,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Melgar Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Melgar Hostal

Address: Calle Melgar no 108, Arequipa, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#9 Best Value Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range: £26 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Casa de Melgar Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your La Casa de Melgar Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Melgar Hostal Hotel Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing