We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Woking
Level Contributor
189 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

I do not recognise this hotel from some of the immediately preceding reviews. We found it comfortable and quiet apart from various nearby animals. Lovely gardens. Delicious breakfast. Restaurant could have been better but it was adequate. Walking distance to the cathedral and the monastery. Also don't miss the big food market just beyond the plaza major.

Room Tip: First floor is much better than ground floor
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    167
    36
    8
    7
See reviews for
87
137
26
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I am at this hotel as I write this review. As a solo female traveler, I was placed at the far end of the property with what sounds like a chicken/ rooster farm over the brick wall. I heard the roosters crowing much of the night. The sound of footsteps, toilet flushing, tv, and bed springs in the room above are noisy. The room is outdated but clean. There is no hair dryer in this room. I cannot log on to the supposed wi-fi and have had to find a common area to use my computer. The shower head drips a thin stream of water.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: I am trying to find another room in this hotel. I have no idea if there is a good one here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugJani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

very beautiful setting behind a wall in Arequipa. reasonably close walking distance to the main attractions in Arequipa. quiet rooms with comfortable beds and good hot showers. the pool is lovely-but very cold (no heating) There is a table tennis table and computer room. Free wifi quite good, and breakfast is very good

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules_of_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Lovely hotel; the rooms were cosy, clean and comfortable and the staff were super friendly and helpful (including an immediate express back to the airport to retrieve a coat). The hotel is located just 15-20 mins walk from the main plaza which was perfect for us in terms of (less) noise at night, but convenient location nonetheless. Breakfast was varied and delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabsLiLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

It was like a scene from a horror movie....

As we pulled into the dimly lit alley way, we looked at each other. Was this it? A Peruvian contact had booked the hotel for us -- we didn't thank him. Perhaps we were just unlucky with the room. The three of us were taken to a room which appeared to be untouched since the 1970s. Two beds downstairs and two upstairs on a wooden floor which looked likely to collapse at any moment. The dust was thick, the furniture filthy, the bathroom....well that was bizarre.

The bathroom was almost like an outside toilet, with its own roof, which had somehow been cobbled together to end up inside rather than outside. It had it's own tiled roof....inside the room. Hot water? No...but then that's not unusual for Peru. Clean? No....

The actual room was dark, dingy and dirty. We only paid $43 for the night....and we still felt ripped off. The furniture, the couch in particular, was covered in stains...I'm not even confident what sort of stains they were. Human fluid? I don't know.

The beds? They were actually OK if you didn't mind turning onto your side and looking at the peeling paintwork or dust on the curtains.

Away from the rooms, and the big notice at reception which warns you that no valuables will be safe in your room and that walking outside after dark is not recommended, the place was OK.

The garden area with the pool is perfectly nice and the restaurant area is nicely done - although the food was dire.

Breakfast was nice - sitting outside on the terrace enjoying the sunshine helped.

Overall, this place should not be labelled as a hotel. Rather a hostel masquerading as a hotel. Is it OK for a night? Possibly...we survived although we moved immediately the next day.

Arequipa is a lovely, picturesque city. This side of it doesn't need to be seen.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesMasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Mixed quality in this hotel. My room was poor and below par in terms of maintenance and fire safety. Other rooms in different buildings were up to date. Garden is nice and pool is quiet for middle of city. Security guard at front door! Breakfast is great. 3 blocks away from city center. One block away from mini supermarket and some restaurants. Environment is noisy.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank heer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed at La Casa de mi Abuela in March 2013 and had a great time. It was our daughter's 7th birthday whilst we were there and the staff had very kindly agreed to let people send post there for us and kept for us until our arrival. As we checked in the reception staff at first said they hadn't received anything - however we realised this was their little joke when they then started laughing and presented us with lots of parcels. It was a great introduction and made our daughter's day! The pool was nice but cold, the room was great and the breakfast was fine. The only slight problem was with the wifi but they were having work done to sort this out. Overall we were very pleased we stayed here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peteandrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.6 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 96 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#4 of 96 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
1.3 mi away
Queen's Villa Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
0.4 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
#12 of 96 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela

Property: Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela
Address: Calle Jerusalen 606 Cercado | Cercado, Arequipa 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Arequipa, "La Ciudad Blanca", only six blocks away from the main square and in an area bigger than 3,500 mts2, lays “La Casa de mi Abuela”. The most traditional and recommended Hotel in Arequipa that for three decades, has welcomed our tourist friends, within enviroments surrounded by gardens, enjoying the twetter of the birds and the peaceful quietness our guests deserve. En la Ciudad Blanca, a solo seis cuadras de la Plaza de Armas y en un área mayor a 3,500 mt2, está “La Casa de mi Abuela”. El Hostal más tradicional y recomendado en Arequipa, que por tres décadas, viene albergando a nuestros amigos turistas, en ambientes rodeados de jardines, gozando con el canto de las aves y disfrutando la paz y tranquilidad, que nuestros huéspedes merecen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Casa de mi Abuela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing