We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel experience yet!”
Review of Hostal La Reyna

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arequipa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal La Reyna
Ranked #46 of 102 Hotels in Arequipa
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Modest but clean rooms, AMAZING roof top views and super cheap! I had a private room and bath with a double bed and paid 22 soles per night with breakfast...that's around 6-7 bucks. The staff are friendly and Alberto, the manager, is incredibly sweet and helpful. Great location, too!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavilan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

The hotel is situated in the historical center of the city, very close to Plaza de Armas, in the immediate vicinity of the old monastery (Santa Catalina I think). The hotel enchants with diversity with just a labyrinth of corridors and terraces wrapped around two courtyards. Service is very polite and helpful. Restaurant is very good. There's also a local travel agent.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob_sad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

My friend and I stayed at La Reyna on our return from a Colca Canyon tour. We were staying at another hotel in Arequipa before then (La Posada del Montonero). We left our luggage at La Reyna for 2 nights, with the promise that we would stay at the hotel when we got back.

The receptionist didn't speak English, and we spoke "travel-guide" Spanish. Somehow we were able to understand each other.

Three or four blocks North of the Plaza de Armas and directly across from the Santa Catalina convent, the location of La Reyna is phenomenal. If you climb to the highest rooftop patio of the hotel, you can see inside the convent. There are even some chairs and tables for you to relax and enjoy the view. You can see the Western end of Arequipa, the Plaza de Armas and the surrounding volcanoes. There was a black-out downtown while we were up there, so we even saw the stars from this patio.

The hotel itself is odd. It's a very Spanish building, with a courtyard and rooms that lookout into the courtyard. Narrow stairs. A labyrinth of stairs and hallways. Our room was modest, on the second floor, with two futon mattress beds and a private bathroom. Warm water. A window that looked into the courtyard and the receptionist's office. We could hear him sing to himself (comforting more than annoying).

I would stay there if I was to return to Arequipa.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FABackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2007

Modest but comfortable accomodation!
Very nice people, happy to help despite the language barrier, hostal located 5min walk from Plaza de Armas (next to Santa Catalina Monastery), lagguage storage, hot water, delicious bananna pancake (only 2soles)!
no laundry.
paid 10$ for double matrimonio!

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pakaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FritCaballero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Céline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lespatatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.2 mi away
Los Balcones de Moral y Santa Catalina
0.1 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.8 mi away
Techis House Hostal
Techis House Hostal
#53 of 102 in Arequipa
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel PiruWasi
Hotel PiruWasi
#57 of 102 in Arequipa
19 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 102 in Arequipa
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#6 of 102 in Arequipa
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Reyna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Reyna

Address: Francisco De Zela 209, Arequipa 054, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range: £9 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inexpensive accomodation with private rooms, dormitories simples, doubles, triples quadruples. The best view over Arequipa. Where you will appreciate our wonderful volcano and mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Reyna Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing