We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
6
22
5
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
22
5
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the suite facing the Plaza de Armas. The room is very spacious with very comfortable bed. The view to the Plaza was partial due to the arches that adorn the facade of this section of the square.
On the third night we had an incident where few musicians in the adjacent restaurant were playing and singing into the night. Luckily there was a vacant room in the back where we could move into and spend the rest of the night in (with no additional charge).
Good breakfast.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank svr43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I found this hotel by passing, and stayed 2 nights. Hotel is located in main square, so easy to access anywhere. It is old hotel, complex architecture, but comfortable enough. The customer could have breakfast at the outside terrace with view of plaza de armas. The strange thing happened at the breakfast time. The waitress (also she cooks) served fried egg and told us "Usually the breakfast use only 1 egg, but I used 2 eggs. So you have to pay me 1sol each." It was big surprise because we never ask for it…We don't mind pay that amount, but anyway we complained "We don't ask for it." Then she changed her mind and said "Forget it, you don't need to pay anything. But keep it secret for the reception." It was just strange situation. She might want tips?

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Arequipa is a beautiful city, full of history and tradition. The main attraction is the city's main plaza. Hotel Maison Plaza is located in front of it.
The hotel has a variety of rooms, so I will recommend to be especific and explain your expectations. If you are arriving late to Arequipa and you want to have a late start, then go for the rooms to the inside. You will not get a window, but you will be away from the noisy streets. If you want to have some view, then request one with that condition. There is fantastic room (Hotel Suite) located at the top of the building with a view to the plaza. If it is available, go for it !!! Is one of those good-nice-cheap deals.
Internet conection was fast and stable. No issues making skype calls from your computer. Your smart phone will work great with the WIFI. There is plenty of hot water in the bathroom and rooms are generally big.
Breakfast is small (basic), but you can sit outside, in the "Portal" and enjoy the view. I recommend to improve the food offered at breakfast and they listen and wrote a note to consider it for the future. Room rates start at 110 soles / 40 dollars (cash), which is cheap compare to other hotels around the area.
If you are looking for something with more service, newer decoration and more details, then go accross the street and pay 3 times more for a smallest, basic room.

Room tip: Go for the hotel suite, you can get this room for 180 Soles or 65 dollars. Nice room, great view.
Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cesar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We are retired world travellers. The hotel was fine, the rooms were great and the position was amazing. We understood from reading the last reviews that we could sit out on the balcony and people watch with a glass of wine. This is NOT CORRECT. The doors leading out to the balcony were locked. To get out we had to call reception and they came and unlocked the door. Then they locked the doors again so we were locked out. There were no chairs to sit on so we pushed the button to get back in however no one answered therefore we were stuck out there. Eventually we went through the next door restaurant and back up to out reception. We asked for chairs and a table and were given them begrudgingly and then they locked the door again. We decided this was not acceptable. We stayed one night and then found a wonderful hotel with an outside deck and views to the mountain and one block from the Plaza.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We are retired world travelers on a budget. We rate budget hotels. We expect budget hotels to have some flaws in exchange for low prices.

Maison Plaza is really a nice hostel right on the main plaza of Arequipa. Rooms were clean. plenty of hot water. Daily maid service. Toilets flushed. Internet connection was good. Breakfast was a bit spartan though. Staff was friendly and helpful. There is a hotel second floor balcony overlooking the plaza that is great to sit and have a glass of wine and watch people. The plaza itself is one of the nicest we've seen in Peru. There are plenty of second floor balcony restaurants steps from the hostel.

The only problem was the noise. We had an interior room and the noise from the reception area drifted up to our room. After 8pm to 7am though the room was very quiet.

All in all, we would recommend this hostel because of all the pluses we mentioned. The location is really excellent and the price was right. We stayed 5 nights.

Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ish_Kabibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews