We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vriendelijk, behulpzaam, lage prijs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Villa Melgar
Ranked #13 of 193 Speciality Lodging in Arequipa
Reviewed 23 February 2014

the manager and the staff is so kind, so friendly! the price is very low en the service is good; not luxurious buth al you nead is there; the location is near to the monastery; enjoy your stay in Arequipa!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Ingrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

Very nice and cozy place. Very clean bathroom and WC, with all new staff. Breakfast was not big, but quiet enought for a girl) 7-10 min to city center by walk. Nice personel. I can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Katerina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed in Villa Melgar on our way to Cusco, and were pleased with the basics of the accommodation: large room, with its own bathroom and hot shower and the breakfast.

Much more impressive was the thoughtful, helpful personal service. We did not have to carry our own bags up the stairs and Sergio in particular helped us with taxis, restaurant and other recommendations and more. His English is excellent, so even complicated matters are understood. There was no question for us: we immediately booked there for our return from Cusco. Sergio helped us with important information about catching the bus to the Colca Canyon (a must-do) and kept our big luggage secure while we travelled light in that area for several days. An amazing guy - you are in good hands in Villa Melgar.

Room Tip: Be prepared for stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Ann_Brushy_Ridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

After the bad experience in another place we moved the next day to this Hostel and would have stayed longer had they not been fully booked. it was cheaper with our previous choice, not really a hostal more like a B&B... No share kitchen but breakfast provided and no common area.

Good security, rooms were comfortable but it seems one shared bathroom for the whole place. so it was dirty by pm and not cleaned till morning. HOT showers seemed to come and go. WIFI was good. recommend it as a B&B value for money.

Room Tip: 2nd floor closer to bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio d, General Manager at Hostal Villa Melgar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for using your valuable time to share your experience at Hostal Villa Melgar Arequipa. We really appreciate all guest feedback as an opportunity to improve our services and facilities for our future guests.

We would like to inform you and to our future guests that we do not longer have shared bathrooms. Currently all of our rooms have private bathrooms with showers or baths, Flat screen Cable Tv's, carpeted floors and all the facilities of a Touristic Hostal.

Thanks again for your review,

Sergio D. Del Carpio Villafuerte
General Manager - HOSTAL VILLA MELGAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My travel took me back through Arequipa so I stayed at Villa Melgar again.
It's refreshing to stay at a small spot after large noisy hostels.
I had FAST wifi and Great CLEAN showers with very hot water. It was a place to recharge.
Good location and a helpful owner who speaks amazing English which was nice after many weeks tiring my poor little head with my limited Spanish.
They've also added a dormitory room so more options too.
Be sure to have Sergio, the manager, to arrange your bus travel and your attractions too as it is usually a better deal.

Room Tip: I've enjoyed both rooms that I had. You can't go wrong with a share or private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcktvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The service here is like that of a 5-star hotel. Sergio, the manager, is great. Example- When I left for La Paz, I left behind my book in a restaurant in Arequipa. Sergio recovered the book for me, offered to arrange to have it sent to La Paz, and eventually held it for me when I passed back through Arequipa.

Also, this place has the best shower I saw in all of South America, staying in hostels in this same price range. A good shower, after a long time without one, can be pretty important.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dude M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Somehow this place has good reviews.... Somehow.
The place it's just OK, nothing special about it to be honest, but it was ok for one night....
Breakfast was very plain.
We got a double bed with shared bathroom for about s/. 60

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desirete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sergio d, General Manager at Hostal Villa Melgar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for using your valuable time to share your experience at Hostal Villa Melgar Arequipa. We really appreciate all guest feedback as an opportunity to improve our services and facilities for our future guests.

We would like to inform you and to our future guests that we do not longer have shared bathrooms. Currently all of our rooms have private bathrooms with showers or baths, Flat screen Cable Tv's, carpeted floors and all the facilities of a Touristic Hostal.

Thanks again for your review,

Sergio D. Del Carpio Villafuerte
General Manager - HOSTAL VILLA MELGAR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.6 mi away
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
Los Andes Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 193 in Arequipa
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Foyer Hostel Arequipa
Le Foyer Hostel Arequipa
#5 of 193 in Arequipa
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa De Sillar
La Casa De Sillar
#12 of 193 in Arequipa
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostal Bubamara
Hostal Bubamara
#6 of 178 in Arequipa
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marlon's House Arequipa
Marlon's House Arequipa
#7 of 178 in Arequipa
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bothy Hostel Arequipa
Bothy Hostel Arequipa
#8 of 193 in Arequipa
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Villa Melgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Villa Melgar

Address: Calle Melgar 417, Cercado, Arequipa, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 193 Speciality Lodging in Arequipa
Price Range: £17 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Villa Melgar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a 5-minute walk from the main square, Villa Melgar offers free Wi-Fi and breakfast in Arequipa. Providing a tranquil environment, the rooms in Villa Melgar feature private bathrooms with 24 Hrs. Hot Water , High Speed Wi-fi all over the property, In- room Telephone Connection, Cable Flat Screen Tv's, Room Service. Villa Melgar is a 15-minute drive from Rodriguez Ballon Intl. Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Villa Melgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing