We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely staff, lovely place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal El Remanso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal El Remanso
Ranked #15 of 166 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, lovely place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for just one night but the staff treated us very well. They let us leave our bags when we did our Colca trek (the front gate is kept locked so it's safe), sorted our laundry for us (just 3 soles / kg) , booked us a taxi to the bus station and were always friendly, chatty and attentive - service with a genuine smile. The room was big, the bed comfy and the showers warm. Plus the view from the roof is great and the location (2 minute walk from the main entrance to Santa Catalina) is perfect - quiet and central. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Popmais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
23
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at this hostel twice. The first time we arrived due to an early bus at 8 AM. That was not a problem at all: the spacious room was available and payment could be done after we had rested, according to the lady who welcomed us. The double room was enormous and very clean. Unfortunately there was no natural light, but the facilities made up for that completely. The bathroom was like a 5-star hotel: big, clean and modern. Hot water!

Because of our positive experience we went back to the same hostel one week later. Now we arrived very late, which was also not a problem. The lady recognised us directly and gave us the triple room at the front. That room was of the same quality as the double room, but even bigger. Bathroom is similar, so again very good. There is furniture to put in your clothes.

In general: the place is very new and they are still working to improve it. Very kind people running the place. They understand English, but hardly speak it themselves. You get big towels and soap for free.

It is very close to the main plaza and even for a baby it is literally a stone-throw away from the Monastery. Bear in mind that this is a bit of a party street, so some disturbance of street noise and music on Friday and Saturday is inevitable. With earplugs you sleep like the aforementioned baby.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the street will be quieter but lack natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here only for night night since we had a bus to catch the next morning. We arrived at 06:30, way earlier than our announced arrival time but that didn't matter. The receptionist welcomed us with open arms and showed us to our room, which is newly renovated and very clean and spacious. This is the place to stay in Arequipa if you want quality! The price is good as well!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

An authentic colonial building, located within 7 min of the main square. I was nicely surprized by the spacy and very clean rooms offered at a reasonable price. The roof terrace offers a panoramic view of the city with the Santa Catalina Monastery just in front of you. Don't miss to have your breakfast on this terrace. The hostal is a small family business that cares for each guest to feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferhat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#8 of 96 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#5 of 96 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
La Casa de Melgar Hostal
#12 of 96 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.1 mi away
Hostal Bubamara
Hostal Bubamara
#2 of 166 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Remanso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Remanso

Property: Hostal El Remanso
Address: Calle Bolivar 403 | Cercado, Arequipa ARE 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, just three minutes walk from the Plaza de Armas.10 rooms including six bedrooms with private bathrooms and four with separated bathrooms.Breakfast included.Nice roof terrace with city view.Services:wifi, cable tv, computer, hot water, 24/24h Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal El Remanso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing