We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Los Tambos(Arequipa)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Posada Nueva Espana(Arequipa)(Great Value!)
US$35
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$59
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Foyer Hostel Arequipa(Arequipa)(Great Value!)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Hosteria(Arequipa)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
14
31
7
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
31
7
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganised tourhistoric buildingstayed nightscentral locationaccommodationcourtyard
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Great place to stay. Location is perfect, few minutes walk to main plaza. The building is beautiful, old world style. Lovely staff and ambience. Great rooms and common areas. It is much more than Hostel. Look no further.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kennellym27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Lovely old hotel with original features. Good for romantic couple break. Good service and value. Breakfast good, wifi excellent. Interesting building with authentic original furnishings. Staff attentive

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We stayed here on our group tour in June 2015, and we were really happy with the choice of hotel. The eighteenth century building is charming, and much more interesting than many hotels are in this modern world!
The bedrooms are in a different section, at the back of the hotel, and are quite dated, but we were comfortable, the shower was good, we were warm enough, and we felt that the character of the main building more than compensated for our room, where we didn't spend much time.
The hotel is located on the main shopping street, so it is brilliant to pop in and out, and we were able to go for a walk in the Plaza de Armas while it was quiet, before breakfast. It is easy to change money near the hotel.
The breakfast is fine, and when we needed more jam or butter, we just asked for it. When we were there, the weather was cool, but we were still able to have breakfast outside, where there are a couple of tables in the smaller courtyard.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kthernehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2014

Centrally located in Arequipa this hotel offers an oasis of tranquility straight off one of the main pedestrian zones. The staff are polite and have a good understanding of languages.The hotel is clean and tidy, breakfast is decent but again you need to get down early for breakfast before all is gone (is this a common occurrence in Peru??). It is also relatively quiet so you can get a good nights rest before exploring the city.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank frinton2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was the 8th hotel we stayed at during our visit to Peru and I hate to say that I wish we'd stayed at another one in Arequipa.

The location of the hostel is great. Right on the pedestrian street only a short walk away from the main square. So most things you want to see, do or buy is pretty close by.

It's also very nice that they've kept this old building instead of tearing it down only to build some top modern hotel.

However, there were a bit too many pain points for us to actually enjoy our stay here. We had a room on the bottom floor at the back of the hotel. Well into late nights there are some nearby bar or venue that plays pretty loud music. With the bad sound proofing of the room, it made it quite hard to go to bed early.

Also, the interior of the hotel is mainly stone floor and walls with big open spaces making it perfect for echoes. Combining that with doors where the doorknob cannot be turned from the outside, and thus having people slamming their doors shut created a perfect match for poor sleeping conditions. All through the night and early mornings you heard door after door being slammed shut.

So we slept very badly the nights we stayed here.

Also, our bathroom seemed to share some air vent shaft with the room next door's bathroom. That is, there was more or less an 1x1 foot passage between our bathrooms, and you heard _everything_ that went on in there, even when you shut the door into your bathroom. Not very pleasant to say the least.

The breakfast was also extremely poor. We came there midway through the breakfast hours, and there were only 3 pieces of really dry bread. After going to the front desk and asking we got some butter and added on some additional pieces of bread but those were just as dry. We didn't expect some massive buffet. But something to put on the bread on top of the butter and perhaps something to drink other than the coffee would've been nice..

And finally, at the day of checkout we were to be picked up at 12 which was a perfect fit since the hotel checkout time was also 12. However, when we were on our way out early in the morning to make use of those last hours in Arequipa, we were asked if could checkout at that time instead. We said we preferred not to, because we wanted to take a quick shower and change clothes before we left as we were going back home on a long haul flight. When we returned at 10 only to grab something from our room, we were again asked if we could check out now instead. We again explained why we did not want to check out at that point but the woman at the front desk kept pushing for us to checkout. We went to our room and picked up the things we needed, but on our way out we were again asked about checking out earlier.

It turned out they had planned for some pest control guy to show up and "treat" all the rooms. And therefor they continued to push for us to leave. After some further discussion it all ended with us returning to the hotel a bit earlier than we had intended to, to take the quick showers and swap clothes and leave the hotel, just because we couldn't stand their nagging about checking out any more.

Had they just informed us about it when we checked in, I wouldn't have minded checking out a bit earlier. But this last minute pushy attitude really annoyed me.

I would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aljsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews