We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to give a special thank you to this charming, generous lady...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tambo del Solar Hotel
Ranked #40 of 178 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The main highlight of this modern hotel was a distinguished woman (owner or manager ?)who gave me in the middle of the night a double room instead of a single room.
My reservation was for a single room .But the single room was situated in proximity of the reception.I was so exhausted after a long way by bus from Nazca. Trust me, it is very difficult to sleep next the reception.I had a lot of bad experiences in other hotels.
The double room was wonderful, spacious with comfortable beds and new furniture.The design and the architecture is well worth the price.The bathroom was very modern.They have TV, free wifi, a heater, lots of outlets to charge electronics.All was new and very clean.This is a three stars hotel more than a guesthouse.
The location is wonderfully quiet and peaceful and very close to everything.
Next morning I decide to leave this charming place.The owner refused to accept the payment for the night I spent in a double room.
Thank you again !

Room Tip: Stay here!It will be a wonderful experience.Higher floors are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LELIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Dreadful room (304) that was minute - you certainly couldn't swing a cat in here, unless it had a hard hat on, and unless you were fully oiled up, edging past each other to get in or out of the bathroom would never work.

No breakfast offered either.

On the upside I was only there for 2 of the 3 nights we'd booked due to our Colca canyon tour.

The staff were helpful, but that's not hard when all you do is open the front door of the hotel which your room key won't operate.

Dreadful!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank InfrequentNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our favourite place we stayed in Peru - charming, pretty guesthouse with really helpful staff even though we didn't speak the language. They can also arrange laundry if you need.

Decent sized rooms, clean, breakfast and tea served in the room in the morning. Fantastic location on a quiet and picturesque street in Arequipa that actually features on the guided City Tour!

One thing to mention is to check the balcony door before going out - cleaner didn't lock it. Also, there seemed to be a bell ringer nearby early morning - not sure if this is a regular occurrence but that's the reason for the lower rating for sleep quality!

Would highly recommend - request an upper floor room with a balcony for a view of the mountain.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seymourstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here by accident after our previous booking fell through.

Located in a beautiful, quaint UNESCO Heritage listed lane; it is an 8 min walk to the main square. Sometimes can be noisy but that's more to do with the residents we had next door rather than street noise. The hotel is located away from the noise of the main street.

The best thing about this place though is the staff. Totally bent over backwards for us even after we checked out. Storing luggage is pretty standard nowadays after checkout but they even let us stick around an hour before our taxi was due to arrive and put on tea for us! (I'm actually writing this right now as we wait for our taxi, sipping on mate de coca).

Would definitely recommend. What a pleasant find for us.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Naweed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed 6 nights in this hotel. The room was spacious and kept very very clean. It is located 5 minute walk from the plaza del armas but is in a closed and very quiet neighbourhood.
We were able to store our extra luggage during the 2 night we went away for a Colca canyon trek, which was helpful.
The hot water was inconsistent, we had to ask the friendly staff to turn it back if we wanted to shower in the late afternoon before heading out for supper, otherwise the shower was great.
They arranged pick up at the bus stop which was great and they called us a cab for our departure.
The front door is kept locked, which makes it super safe but you do need to knock every time you want to come back in, which is a minor annoyance ...
Breakfast is not included, even if this is what is still says on the website, but they do bring hot water /tea/instant coffee to your room every evening, which is great!!
Overall a great place to stay while in Arequipa.

Room Tip: We had a quadruple room (202), one double bed and two singles... perfect for our family, big enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arbredumonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel has new equipment and is clean. It's is placed 3 blocks from "plaza de armas" in a tiny street with no traffic, so it's very quiet. Rooms are big and price is fair. Wifi works properly. Breakfast is not included

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cavafr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.4 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 102 in Arequipa
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabu Hostel
Cabu Hostel
#6 of 178 in Arequipa
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Solar
Hostal Solar
#4 of 178 in Arequipa
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Foyer Hostel Arequipa
Le Foyer Hostel Arequipa
#6 of 193 in Arequipa
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Patio de Elisa
El Patio de Elisa
#3 of 178 in Arequipa
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Posada del Virrey
La Posada del Virrey
#125 of 193 in Arequipa
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambo del Solar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambo del Solar Hotel

Address: Pasaje del Solar 304, Arequipa, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range: £18 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tambo del Solar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Tambo del Solar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing