We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2008

This hotel/hostal was nice and basic. The beds were pretty comfortable (keep in mind we are only paying $25.00 a night!), very clean, and plenty of hot water (although you had to let the water run for about 5 minutes to come through)

The location was also fairly good, easy 15 minute walk to the Plaza, Santa Catalina Monastery ect. We were please to discover that it was only a 10 minute walk to the Cruz del Sur office when we could turn in our on-line purchased vouchers for the actual tickets. Some may not like walking the last two blocks at night as it was not lit very well, but a taxi is always an option.

The garden area was the best, very serene, lots of flowers and great place for catching up on your journal writing.

The staff was excellent, friendly and helpful (with good English) Nights were quiet, apart from the occasional chorus of barking dogs that seemed to be the norm in Peru. I would recommend for those traveling on a budget wanting a clean, secure place to stay while visiting Arequipa. My 10 year old neice enjoyed looking for "Paco" the turtle although she didn't have any success in finding him.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Born2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2008

The service at this hostel is top notch. Armando, the owner, is very attentive to his guest needs. My wife and I needed to make hotel reservations in La Merced (Junin province). Armando booked our hotel for us in La Merced, booked our bus from Lima to La Merced, and arranged for a taxi to meet us at the Lima airport for our trip across Lima to the bus station. The hostel staff, Sandra, Rachel, and Erika are very friendly and attentive. My wife and I enrolled in Armando´s spanish school for three weeks. Our instructors were Monica and Betty and they were superb. After only three weeks of intense spanish, my wife and I were reading and understanding spanish. Our speaking skills were elementary but we are able to engage in basic conversation. We highly recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a pleasant place to stay at a reasonable price and to anyone who is looking for excellent spanish lessons. Ask for Monica and/or Betty.

Pete & Elena Mihas
West Bend, Wisconsin USA

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WisconsinPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2007

We stayed here for a few days in September 2007, and it has been one of our favourite places on our South American travels so far. We paid 70 soles for a double room with private bathroom, and both rooms (we came back here after a short trip to the Colca Canyon) were lovely. The best bit about Casa de Avila though is the helpful staff - Raquel and Sandra in particular were wonderful. We loved the garden too, it was very relaxing to spend an afternoon in it! There is a kitchen you can use, but you may need to get someone to help you work the cookers!
We can recommend the Colca Canyon tours offered by Casa de Avila too (Pepe from Land Adventures was a great guide).

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KL_NF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2007

This was the first place we stayed after flying into Lima. Rooms and bathrooms were spacious and clean. Rooms were facing onto a beautiful garden courtyard. Staff were very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for somewhere quiet and peaceful and maybe learn spanish I would highly recommend this place.

Stayed: December 2006
1  Thank Irlande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: cómodas y de buen tamaño, remodeladas.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mvalenzuelaestrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank miguelrN6652DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Owner at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Owner at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#6 of 102 in Arequipa
524 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 102 in Arequipa
1,135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 102 in Arequipa
276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
#1 of 102 in Arequipa
319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Arequipa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Avila - For Travellers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Avila - For Travellers

Address: Av San Martin 116 | Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range: £37 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Avila - For Travellers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Avila is a beautiful yet affordable Mansion Hostel. With all private rooms circling the courtyard garden. An oasis of green and tranquility. A social room, book exchange library and cafeteria in the garden ar part of the facilities available. Our staff is always willing to help you with your needs. Friendly environment. Several kinds of rooms to fit your needs and budget. All with free WiFi, hot showers 24/7, linen and towels. Very clean. It s also headquarter of the famous Peruvian Cooking Experience, the best hands on activity in the city. We also host a Spanish School. And our tour operator sister company gives us the chance to offer you the best local tours with great prices and service. It’s a family owned business, which in Peru means we have a stronger compromise to serve as best as possible to our guests. Welcome, you are invited to our house! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casa de Avila - For Travellers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing