We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Land!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa de Avila - For Travellers
Ranked #3 of 104 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This was my first stop on my first trip to Peru. I couldn't have made a better choice. Not only is the hotel charming and relaxing, but the staff is top rate: they made me feel welcome and cared for from day one.

Raquel, Erika, Natalia Tatiana, Maria, Jeanette and the the rest speak great English and are full of valuable information to help guests get the most out of their stay. Under the careful direction of Mr Armando (El Capitan), there is virtually nothing they can't help you with, from arranging tours to finding late night pharmacies.

This is a perfect place for families, but even if you're on your own (like I was), Casa Avila will treat you like one of their family. It was hard to leave here, and I will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuruSimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Propietario at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Wow! What a surprise You remember All our Staff! This is something wonderful because makes us feel good doing our job. We are AT your Service and Hope we can fullfill your requirements now and in the future.
Thanks and Hope we can have the Chance to serve You again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Can't recommend this place enough. Great rooms, lovely courtyard, awesome staff, and phenomenal cooking classes! Trip adviser demands that I write 200 characters, so I'm just filling up space right now. But really, great hotel. Can't go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Manager at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

And you need to say no more! thank you very much. All our staff and my family will keep doing our best for guests to enjoy this humble little place we like to call Casa, home in Spanish

Thanks a lot, see you again one of these days!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We really loved this hotel. There is a huge grassy area for relaxation or play. There are students studying Spanish here, so we didn't think it was a good place for a soccer match or something, but the kids did play a little here. It was a lovely place to have breakfast. Breakfast is included and is simple but good. The price for add on items is very reasonable, only 5 Soles, so the kids had pancakes each morning. We stayed in room 33 and this was the best shower we had in our 6 weeks in Peru. We stayed a second time in room 7 and the shower was acceptable but not as great. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. They had internet that was fast enough for checking email but not fast enough for any downloading or uploading of photos.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank ChristyR1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Manager at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Thank you . We do love families and our multiple rooms are comfortable and spacious. Yes, we dont have soccer games in the garden, having flowers in a desert like Arequipa is a miracle and takes lots of care. But we have a game room with table tennis and fusball table for families to enjoy.
Say hello to your kids, and hope to see you back one of these days

Thanks for your time to post the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Arequipa's streets are lined with unappealing concrete buildings with the odd colonial Spanish building or church scattered about the city giving it a sense of its 500 years of culture. The streets are a constant stream of honking taxis, it is very busy and loud, but this hotel I am staying at is a real place of tranquility. The hotel, Casa de Avila, has a beautiful garden courtyard with a single large tree in the center with papyrus and flowers lining the outside. Here is my sanctuary. It is amazing the wildlife that is in this small green place. The tree is home to a multitude of birds living in it while the flowers are attracting humming birds. I don't know how such a small place sustains so much. There is even a resident tortoise guarding the garden. In a stealth like manner he creeps up on you to investigate why you are in his garden and if you have any offerings to make. In the distance just outside the hotel you can barely hear the chaos of cars and the barking of dogs, but all those sounds are drowned out by the happy little birds singing their happy little song in this tiny natural sanctuary as I sit here practicing Spanish grammar. It is a delightful place to be taught Spanish which I have signed up for the week.

I wonder how many more of these hidden gem courtyards there are hiding behind the unappealing exterior building walls lining the chaotic streets.

Also, the Spanish school was very good and my room was good too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skinzert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Owner at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

We appreciate your commentary. Maybe one of the most beautiful ones we have received. We will take good care of this sanctuary, as you called our garden, and of the creatures living there. Hopefully we will manage to have space for guests to enjoy it too!. Thank you very much. Hope you or your friends will be back to enjoy our little oasis anytime

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a big hotel, which also has a Spanish language school in it. The staff are helpful and will assist in arranging trips, of which they have a good selection. Breakfast was better here than in other hotels in Peru as you had the option of ordering additions for a very reasonable price, but they also had a better general selection. The room was clean and comfortable, but they could do with some general up keep as they were looking a little tired. A ten minute walk to the main square means noise form others is quite low, but it is on a main road so this adds a a bit of noise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KO O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights at Casa de Avila at the beginning of our trip to Peru, and we weren't disappointed ! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was really nice, really clean (one of the best room we stayed in during our 3 weeks trip). We had a room on the first floor and it was really quiet...we didn't get disturb late at night or in the morning by people walking in the garden. Also, the shower had plenty of hot water so no problem on that side ! The hotel is located at about 10 minutes walk from the main plaza, so it's not too far, but far enough from the noise and the traffic. I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Arequipa :)

Room Tip: Any room is great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Junglemilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Owner at Casa de Avila - For Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you very much! I am letting all our staff know about your opinion. Their hard work is mainly devoted to make you feel as you are describing in the review. Hope you can be back any time. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Very Attentive Staff (best so far in Peru) that did there best to make the stay very pleasant and personalized. Relaxing garden and great room (value for money). One minus; during our 6 night stay the water went cold twice (including our departures day at 5 am so no time to have it fixed) ouch!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Offies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 104 in Arequipa
1,149 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
#1 of 104 in Arequipa
334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Torres de Ugarte
Las Torres de Ugarte
#8 of 104 in Arequipa
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Posada Nueva Espana
Posada Nueva Espana
#10 of 104 in Arequipa
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Hosteria
La Hosteria
#19 of 104 in Arequipa
303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Avila - For Travellers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Avila - For Travellers

Address: Av San Martin 116 | Vallecito, Arequipa 00001, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 104 Hotels in Arequipa
Price Range: £30 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa de Avila - For Travellers 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Avila is a beautiful yet affordable Mansion Hostel. With all private rooms circling the courtyard garden. An oasis of green and tranquility. A social room, book exchange library and cafeteria in the garden ar part of the facilities available. Our staff is always willing to help you with your needs. Friendly environment. Several kinds of rooms to fit your needs and budget. All with free WiFi, hot showers 24/7, linen and towels. Very clean. It s also headquarter of the famous Peruvian Cooking Experience, the best hands on activity in the city. We also host a Spanish School. And our tour operator sister company gives us the chance to offer you the best local tours with great prices and service. It’s a family owned business, which in Peru means we have a stronger compromise to serve as best as possible to our guests. Welcome, you are invited to our house! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Casa de Avila - For Travellers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing