We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Posada Misti House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Misti House
Ranked #34 of 166 Arequipa B&B and Inns
Arequipa, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

A friend recommended I stay at Misti House when he found out I was traveling through Arequipa. I am very happy I took his advice. The hostel is right next to the main square with a great view of the gigantic volcanoes surrounding the city. The accommodation is very nice and makes for a great way to meet other travelers. The people running the hostel are extremely nice and helpful. They offer many different reliable tours to the Colca Canyons, Mt. Misti, etc.
Very happy with my stay at Misti House. Not to mention, prices are fairly inexpensive, making it a great place to stay

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    38
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
8
34
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Nice and simple, hot water can be scarce at peak times. Clean and cheap, very close to main square. Has wifi for free, could use some shelfs/wardrobes in the rooms. Floor is shaky a bit, but definitely not scary. Good value

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarusaSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Great place.
Very close to the main plaza.
The staff is very friendly.
The rooms are cheap - starting from 15 soles for the dorms.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viena, Austria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Misti House is a nice place to stay, the staff is very friendly and you can relax at the nice terrasse.
Its near the plaza de arma in arequipa.
Gracias por todo!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melaniewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Nice little place right downtown with a cool 3rd floor terrace where you can hang out all night. A good balence of cheap, clean and comfy. And the staff plugged me in to quite a bit in Arequipa

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

The Hostal is very central located near to the maine square and other nice interesting city sites.
Our room was on the top floor were we had a beautiful sight on Arequipa and we even saw volcanoe Misti. During the day the temperature was nice but it the night it got really cold. There were not enough blankets so we didn't sleep well. The next day we became more blankets so we didn't have to take a hot and long shower to get defrost. The staff apologized for this inconvience. The Misti House is a nice and price worthy hostal with a helpfully team who cares about their guests. It was really nice to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAKPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arequipa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

we had a really bad experience in this hostel. when we arrived, the owner told us there would be warm water all the day, but the first 2 days the water wasn´t even tepid and the girl at the reception couldn´t do anything. the 3d day finally the owner appeared and after telling him about the water-problem we payed at least a little less.
besides, the owner had told us there would be maximal 4 persons for each room. but at the end we stayed in 9 persons in our room, without any real window (just one to the floor), so the night one couldn´t breathe.
one day we wanted to bring our clothes to a laundry, but the owner told us the hostel would wash our clothes for the same money, and that the day after we would have all our clothes dry and cuttled. the day after the receptionist gave us 2 bags full of wet clothes, and when we complained he told us we could put them to the sun so they would dry. we told him we needed them now (we didn´t have any clean clothes left and there also was no place to hang up all the clothes). he just sayed that he didn´t udnerstand what the problem was, so we insisted to call the owner who then invented stories to explain why the clothes weren´t dry and accused us that we just didn´t want to pay...
at this point we had enough and decided to search a new hostel!

Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank yellax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
posadaMistiHouse, Propietario at Posada Misti House, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
My name is Fernando Polanco, I own the Misti House, I write this reply to the comments of our guests, to start is indicated and the guest saw the room was a room with 9 beds, we charge 15 soles or equivalent to 6 dollars , guests in mention (2) called for a special price they are charging 25 soles for two, after 2 days want to pay to a third day in our hostel, paid, but first objected that they had no hot water, the idea was again ask for a discount to which we agreed and we charge 20 soles for the 2 people, it is true that we took the laundry and that because of climate only 50% of clothing was dry, it was our error, but the guests back again as the hot object to my staff when he had made a more than special discount, and that most people in the hostel, never complained of hot water, and paid the 15 soles costing the night spend the night, complaining again of hot water and dry clothes was not one of the guests (female) in mention, again, commented that she would pay the total laundry, again the intention was not to pay total this service which converse with your partner and you insisted that we had already made a discount of almost 40% in the price of the room, as owner of a hostel, my first rule is not to argue with our guests, asked if they had wanted to not pay the laundry or otherwise as it was what they wanted to pay, the host asked me to apologize for his partner and he said he would pay the total laundry, but that would make the check out of hostel, and that there would be no problem in collecting the clothes later.

As you will see these guests gave them more than a good price in the room and so it was with the laundry because they got a discount of 1 kilo in spite of this vanderia write things that are not, if I write Comment must be written, also the discounts were given, unlike other guests.

Fernando Polanco
Posada Misti House
Arequipa Peru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riviera Arequipa
Hotel Riviera Arequipa
#39 of 96 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casona De Jerusalen Traveler's Hostel
0.3 mi away
El Caminante Class
El Caminante Class
#18 of 166 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Uspalay
Hostal Uspalay
#39 of 166 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orkkowasi Casa de Montana
Orkkowasi Casa de Montana
#45 of 96 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal La Casa de Margott
Hostal La Casa de Margott
#18 of 168 in Arequipa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Misti House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Misti House

Property: Posada Misti House
Address: Calle Alvarez Thomas 204-A, Cercado | A una cuadra de la Plaza de Armas, Arequipa., Arequipa 04000, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Posada Misti House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Misti House offers you a quiet, safe and clean place to stay And just like our slogan says: we are 'your home away from home'Just one block south from the main square, we have rooms with private bath, common bath and dormitorySince 2004, we are growing for you, improving the quality of our services.We have created a cable TV room with movies, games, book exchange and where you can share a conversation, coffee or beer.Nowadays, all our rooms include breakfast and wi-fi service; and everyone enjoys the terrace, kitchen and hot water all day long.Our staff are known as friendly and helpful and they offer you 24 hours attention. We will help you to plan your travels around Arequipa and Peru.In Posada Misti House, you will find a good place to sleep as well as a house where you can learn and share with fresh and happy people from around the world.Make you stay in Arequipa better, and enjoy Misti House with us.WelcomeBeatriz y Fernando ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Posada Misti House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing