We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice in Arequipa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Arequipa
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in Arequipa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

As many other reviews have noted, this hotel is in the old Mint building - renovated and extended, without losing the historic character of the building. Rooms are very nice, breakfast is fine, as is the hotel restaurant. Free wi-fi is a bonus as well. Easy walking distance from its quiet location to the sights of Arequipa, which is a very nice city. Would stay here again without hestitation.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parischris2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    599
    292
    68
    19
    10
See reviews for
155
517
42
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

This is a lovely historic hotel and we especially recommend the senior suites. We actually paid for one night in a senior suite before going to Colca and then after our return from Colca they upgraded us to a senior suite so we got to see the other room and they are both spacious and beautiful -- gorgeous ceilings. In the historic part of the city and close to Santa Catalina and the main square and cute shops. The lobby is charming and the location is excellent and the service was impressive too (packaged breakfast ready for our second stay since we had an early flight, remembering us when we returned and expediting check-in, etc.). My one caveat is that the breakfast was bland. That doesn't really matter since the hotel is near Tratoria del Monasterio (excellent meal in a charming setting) and Zig Zag (mediocre meal aimed at tourists) and a short walk from a great local cevicheria lunch option called Fory Fay Cevicheria. With all these choices, there's no need to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThirtyByThirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
373 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

We were upgraded to one of their suites. Outstanding set of rooms tastefully furnished. Staff were professional and friendly. The ambience was so beautiful we decided not to eat out in Arequipa but rather to eat at the hotel so that we could further enjoy the experience. Somewht spoiled us for the future.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keithfryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

The purpose of my trip to Arequipa was to get married, so I decided to stay at this hotel together with my immediate family and some friends. During the stay all the staff did their very best to help us in every way and they showed a lot of patience during the stressful situations. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and I must say it is worth every dollar you spent.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SenorMillagui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel and were very pleased. The staff was nice but nothing over the top. Due to an early flight arrival, our room wasn't ready. They held our luggage but charged us to do so.
The room was basic but good size and very clean. The bed was comfy and the room was quiet. I think this was partly due to the hotel being slightly off the main tourist strips, which I find to be a bonus. It was still within walking distance to all the main sites within the city center though.
We had breakfast while we were there, which was a nice selection. There was an option of indoor or outdoor seating as well. They also gave us a boxed breakfast to take with us when we checked out early for a morning flight which I thought was very nice.
Free internet access/service also a huge bonus.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnualGetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_GR, Propietario at Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa, responded to this review, 16 November 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Casa Andina and for sharing such positive comments regarding your experience with us.

We should mention that check in time at our hotel is at 2:00pm. If our guests request to have their room before this time, we may charge an additional ¨early check in fee¨ depending on room availability. We do not charge for holding guest luggage in our storage room, because it is part of our complimentary services.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We invite you to stay with us at any of our 18 properties in Peru in the near future. It will be a pleasure to serve you again.

Cordially yours,
The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

This beautifully renovated hotel is probably the best hotel I've ever stayed in. The hotel which was for a time the Mint House has been tastefully renovated to incorporate modern facilities whilst retaining its traditional heritage. We stayed in a suite located off the second courtyard and it was just amazing. The staff were very helpful, polite and proud of their hotel and city, sharing with us photos of what the hotel looked like before renovation. They made our stay special and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mudge15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

We had stayed in the Casa Andina Private Collection hotel in Miraflores and really liked it. The room there was a traditional one and was actually quite small. Our room in Arequipa was a superior and was a little larger with a Queen sized bed and a bathtub...that is pretty important to us after a day of walking around.
A couple of things irked us about this luxury hotel. A little plastic package of tissues instead of a box, which seemed pretty cheap. There is no clock or iron in the room. The concierge escorted us to our room and pointed out the features including the safe. When we went to use it we saw it had a key, which we had not been advised that it needed. When we checked with reception they advised that we "could" have it at no cost but had to sign a paper agreeing to pay $50 US if we lost the key. This all seems a little chintzy for a luxury hotel.
The bed was quite hard, compared to the most comfortable one ever at the hotel in Lima. Overall we are not as pleased with this hotel but it is quite a beautiful job of restoration.
The staff is more than willing to accommodate requests and help out whenever they can.
The location in itself make this hotel worthwhile but a little more thought could be given to ameneties.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spriglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_GR, Propietario at Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa, responded to this review, 14 September 2010
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate the time you set aside to share your comments with thousands of travelers that visit Trip Advisor´s website.

We should mention that we used to provide a box of tissues as part of our guests rooms amenities. However, our guest’s suggested to us to change the box for a little plastic package that would be easier to carry and handle during the sightseeing activities during the day. We regret if we were not able to fulfill your expectations with this issue.

At our Private Collection Arequipa, our guests are able to request wake up calls at their convenience as well as laundry or ironing services during their stay with us. We sincerely apologize if you were not acquainted or of we did not provide timely and appropriate information regarding these services.

We also apologize if we made you feel uncomfortable by asking you to sign a paper for the safe box key. For your own safety, our security standards demand us to have a single key per safe box. If guests loose the key, this amount is used to change the box bolt.

Thank you for choosing Casa Andina as part of your experience in Peru. We look forward to have you with us in a not too distant future. It will be a pleasure to serve you again.

Kind regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arequipa hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
Hotel Libertador Arequipa
#4 of 96 in Arequipa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Tambos
Los Tambos
#2 of 96 in Arequipa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Villa Elisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Casa Andina Select Arequipa
0.3 mi away
Katari Hotel at Plaza de Armas
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Arequipa Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa

Property: Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa
Address: Calle Alfonso Ugarte 403, Cercado, Arequipa 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Arequipa Region > Arequipa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Arequipa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Arequipa
#6 Business Hotel in Arequipa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa is raised on the old "Casa de la Moneda" (old Mint), a national historic landmark built in 1794, what makes our hotel more a living museum than a hotel. It's strategic location only a few blocks from the Plaza de Armas in Arequipa makes it the ideal choice for business and leisure travelers. It features 40 rooms - 100 % non-smokers, among an Imperial Suite and two Senior Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Private Collection Arequipa Hotel Arequipa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing