We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tale of 2 hotels”
Review of Prisma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prisma Hotel
Ranked #92 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tale of 2 hotels”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

- It seems that there are two sides of this hotel. A newer section (to the right, if you're facing the hotel), and an older one (to the left, when facing the hotel). the newer side is fine. Reasonably clean rooms, decent mattresses, and well lit. However, the other side is much older, with worn carpets, leaky fixtures, lumpy mattresses, and dim lighting. Also, if you get a room on the street side, the noise can be quite loud.

- The hotel offers very few amenities (soap, but no shampoo. hair dryers upon request).

- the wifi is spotty.

- it's cheap, though. So for the price, it's not too bad. I wouldn't choose to stay here, but seeing that it was the host hotel (GAP Adventures) I was fine with it for one night.

Room Tip: try and get a room on the newer side. and avoid the rooms that face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crnky_asian_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    153
    208
    57
    16
See reviews for
69
186
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This is a large hotel that has many guests. I think it's popular with tour operators. (GAP Tours has it's own desk at the place.) We were not on a GAP tour, but did arrange a 6 day trip with a tour operator.
The first two nights were fantastic, we were on the upper level. (I think the 4th floor )- with a beautiful balcony and facing mountains. I pinched myself how nice the room was. (But we go there early in the day since we just flew from Lima.) We stayed there one more night at the end of our trip and got there after 7pm. We had a lower level room that was closer to the street. It was miserable. (They were full, so couldn't move us. It was noisy from the street and even with the windows closed, you could still smell the exhaust from the cars.
On a good note, there was very little noise from the hotel guests, the room were clean, basic and warm. The breakfast was hearty and good. Each floor had a nice lounge area just to chill. The front desk was extremely helpful with directions, etc. The location was also good.
I'm giving it three stars, because I think you will have a great experience if you get a back room, or a miserable time if you room is closer to the street.

Room Tip: Upper level towards the back - try to get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KGN86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed here as part of our Peru trip with GAP Adventures, before and after the Inca Trail, and our luggage was stored here while we were on the Inca Trail. We felt safe and reasonably comfortable in the hotel. Our first room was on the top floor; we found it quiet and we had a good sleep in it; the second room (on second stay) was a bit smaller and its windows looked out onto the corridor which wasn't ideal. The breakfasts in this hotel were good for Peru, and the restaurant was also ok for a quick evening meal. We didn't interact much with the staff but found them friendly and helpful.

As others have mentioned this hotel is heavily used by tour groups but I don't think it would be a big problem if you were staying here on your own - it is a hotel rather than a hostel. There is a small meeting area where we had our pre-Inca trail briefing, and there's also a free internet PC for guests to use.

This isn't by any means a 4 or 5 star hotel, but if you want a safe, clean, inexpensive roof over your head when exploring Cuzco, this hotel would do very nicely.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank so3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

It's not bad anyway! Pretty much everyone who stays here seems to be starting or finishing a GAP tour, and this means that there's a heavy emphasis on GAP (including a GAP desk and notice board at reception). I wouldn't want to stay here if I wasn't part of one of these tours since it's overrun with these large groups of people. If you're with a tour group, though, they cater very well to your needs including super-early breakfasts (some tours leave as early as 6am) and good luggage storage facilities.

As a hotel it's not the best I've stayed in, but it does the job. Do take earplugs - the walls are extremely thin and people are coming and going at all hours. Breakfast is very good, with a much wider selection than the usual bread and jam offered at most hostels in Peru!

The staff vary greatly in their helpfulness. Upon returning from the Inca Trail we needed help booking a bus to Puno. The first lady we asked could not have been more helpful - she found the companies online, phoned them for us, offered to keep trying while we went to dinner, and left us an extremely apologetic note informing us that she hadn't been able to get us the tickets we wanted. However, when we tried again the next morning, with a different receptionist on duty, she made us find the number ourselves, dialled the number we gave her then immediately handed me the phone to sort it out myself, and finally charged us a couple of soles for the call. She could not have been more unhelpful!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This hotel is located in what is called matress valley as in all the matress shops are located around it!

It wasnt too far to the main square alwathough a good 10-15 minute walk.

Before our inca tek we stayed here and the room was dire. Smallest separate toilet and shower. It was so small the water from the showerhead poured out of the shower! The windows were single pane and felt like you were sitting on the street. With ear plugs and exhaustion we about slept!

On the return from the inca trek we got a room on the top floor with a balcony, and massive bathroom it almost felt like a "free upgrade" and when you think no shower or electricty for 5 days it felt like sheer luxury!! It was still very noisey!

I have come to expect the hotels with GAP Adventures will never be more than the minimum of acceptable and I think it is very mixed. Some people in the party moved out of this hotel as they disliked it so much.

It served a purpose but certainly does not feel any like a holiday in these hotels with Gap Adventures.

Good points were the basic brekfasts of ham and boiled egg crusty sarnies, very nice! The front desk was pretty helpful.

Room Tip: it is sheer luck of the draw I think!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kir321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We weren't sure what to expect at the hotel as it was arranged as part of our tour company. It was the start hotel for before the machu picchu trail hike and the hotel used on return. We were quite pleasantly suprised that it met the basic needs of our stay. The rooms were OK and were able to accommodate the three travellers in my party with one room with three beds. The hotel is in a great location to the city square and we always felt safe in and around this neighbourhood when walking the streets late at night.
The service desk staff were quite helpful and there was a couple internet terminals available for use. Other travellers from our tour group actually transferred to this hotel after the hike as they were unimpressed with the other arrangements made for them.
The restaurant was OK (only ate there for breakfast), and would recommend you try the many other restaurant options found in the city square.
If you want something less expensive and no too concerned with luxury, I would recommend staying here. Altogether a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Open_Road_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Great location, easy to walk everywhere, felt safe the whole time around the area even late at night. Only problem was the hot water being very temperamental and sometimes non-existant. Good service at reception, always helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug2011aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#110 of 165 in Cusco
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#21 of 165 in Cusco
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Cusco Hotel
Imperial Cusco Hotel
#90 of 165 in Cusco
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
MARQUESES Hotel
MARQUESES Hotel
#56 of 165 in Cusco
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#66 of 165 in Cusco
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antares Mystic Hotel
Antares Mystic Hotel
#79 of 165 in Cusco
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prisma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prisma Hotel

Property: Prisma Hotel
Address: Calle Matara 394, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 165 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Prisma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Prisma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing