We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, comfortable, noisy hotel”
Review of Prisma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prisma Hotel
Ranked #85 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located a few blocks from the main square and is easily and safely walkable including at night with the usual precautions.

It is quite a large hotel for what it is and has large open atrium at one end The hotel is basic, comfortable, clean, the wifi is patchy and temperamental, the staff are helpful to any reasonable request and the restaurant breakfast was okish as it is included in the price.

I stopped here pre and post a G Adventures tour plus a couple of extra nights afterwards and here in lies the main problem! It is a transit hotel for tour groups and is very noisy.

The noise starts around 5.00am with people preparing to leave, tv's turned on, doors banging, people talking etc. The rooms are not well insulated and the noise seems to echo around the atrium which a lot of the rooms face onto. Rooms facing the road fair no better suffering from traffic noise.

If your lucky enough to get a room on a high floor away from the road and the atrium then this problem is minimised if not prepare to be woken early.

If you are just stopping at the hotel because you are on a tour then you can live with the noise. If you want to spend extra days exploring cusco then I would highly recommend you find a different hotel as the noise will be an overriding factor to what is otherwise an ok hotel.

Oh and by the way I am writing this at 6.00am having been woken by the noise.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

El lado bueno: Bastante cerca de la plaza (a unos 5 cuadras), De noche no recomiendo irse caminando, mejor tomar taxi. Las calles no son tan iluminadas. Hay una guardia a la entrada del hotel que en la noche mantiene cerrada su puerta.
Habitaciones y baños limpios. Sábanas blancas limpias. Estufa eléctrica (las noches son frías)
*Pretty near the square (about 5 blocks away). At night, it's better to take a taxi. Lighting is not so good on the streets. There a security guard all night, and the main entrance is locked at night.
Rooms and bathrooms clean. Clean white sheets. Heater provided.(nights are cold).


El lado malo:
Inseguridad y mala aislación de sonido.
No tienen caja fuerte. Ventanas muy delgadas e inseguras (el cierre era un clavo). Estuvimos en el 2do piso que daba a la calle...noche de jueves y escuchamos ademas de bocinazos toda la noche, peleas de borrachos y hasta un violento asalto. Dormimos pésimo, y tuvimos que pedir nos cambiaran a una habitación mas arriba por seguridad y aislación de ruido. Nos cambiaron al 5to piso, es otra cosa, mucho mejor.
El desayuno dejo mucho que desear. Poca variedad.
Un computador disponible y muy lento.
Personal del hotel en general no muy atento y dispuesto a ayudar. No dijeron que sólo daban shampoo (una bolsita pequeña) el primer día.
*Unsafety and deficient sound isolation. There´s no safe deposit box. The windows are too thin and seem easy to open. the lock wasactually a nail. Our room was in the 2nd floor towards the street. Thursday night and not only me heard horn sounds, but also a violento assault. We coulndn't sleep well, so we requested to change the room to an upper floor for safety and soud isolation reasons. We were given a room on the 5th floor, much better.
Beakfast was poor. It lacked variety.
One computer available and it was very slow.
Hotel staff in general not very attentive and courteous. We were told they only give shampoo (one small sachet/packet) on the first day.

En conclusión, no es un mal lugar, pero no se queden en el segundo piso. Elijan una habitación interna y en piso mas alto.
To conclude, this is not a bad place, but don't stay on the 2nd floor. Choose an interior room, and on the upper floors.

Room Tip: Higher floors have bigger ans safer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivonne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of an Inca Trail trek rather than choosing it.

Good:
Very helpful staff
Pretty good location but a bit out of the way

Bad:
Paper thin walls so very noisy
Eggs were a paid extra for breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The hotel was very basic.
Warm beds, hot showers and clean rooms.
We stayed here at bookends of our trip to Machu Picchu. We had two completely different experiences as far as room quality. Our room on the 2nd floor, had a window that opened up to a small conference room, and was quite noisy. Our room on the 5th floor, was much larger, and much quieter.

The hotel did offer a free breakfast, which was quite good, consisting of a lot of options: cereals, fruits, cheese, yogurt, breads to name a few. They also offered free wi-fi, but I found it very rarely had a strong enough connection to work, unless you were sitting in the chairs across from the front desk.

My only real knock was I didn't find the staff very pleasant, their facial expressions weren't the most welcoming, and when we did approach, I got the feeling "I was bothering them", specifically the front desk and doormen (doormen were always on a phone, and would make an effort to open up the door for us, after we had opened and passed through, the other door.).

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor, as it seemed to be much quieter vs the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFPIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Rooms were clean and we enjoyed 3 nights there altogether as part of our G Adventures tour to Machu Picchu - before and after. Our room facing Matara street was extremely noisy and after the Inca Trail enjoyed our room away from the front of the hotel. Unfortunately we registered as a couple and once again had separate single beds. The restaurant's meals were uninspiring and rather tasteless but there are a lot of restaurants close by. Staff were very nice and friendly and seemed concerned that the guests were enjoying themselves. Inconsistent internet a problem though and frustrating most of the time especially if you are trying to arrange other transportation or just writing home to your kids. Just easier to go to any number of the internet cafés on nearby streets whose internet service is quite rapid.

Room Tip: Could be problematic as if your room faces the front of the hotel it's pretty noisy all night lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skierlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed for two nights before Machu Picchu and the Sacred Valley. The rooms were pretty basic but clean and worked well for our stay. The breakfast is very similar to the other places we stayed in Peru. Wifi was a bit inconsistent but did work some. It does have an elevator for luggage which was great but the common areas can be a bit noisy at times because many groups stay here. I had some trouble getting my laundry back from the service they use but the staff made a call and it was delivered before we needed to check out. The hotel is located several blocks from the main Plaza but it is just a 10 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWWTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of our G Adventures tour twice and found the room to be very nice with a tv,heater, clean sheets. The location is very good and the area is very vibrant. The staff were helpful with hair dryers and anything we needed. There is a lift which was great for carrying our heavy luggage to our room. Overall a very pleasant stay with a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HariNavasothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Amaru Hostal
Amaru Hostal
#34 of 172 in Cusco
796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Cusco Hotel
Imperial Cusco Hotel
#98 of 172 in Cusco
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#41 of 172 in Cusco
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mirador de Santa Ana
Mirador de Santa Ana
#65 of 172 in Cusco
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
0.8 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#5 of 172 in Cusco
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prisma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prisma Hotel

Address: Calle Matara 394, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 172 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: £38 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prisma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Prisma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing