We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic, clean accommodation, close to main square.”
Review of Prisma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Prisma Hotel
Ranked #101 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
uk
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“basic, clean accommodation, close to main square.”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed here with G adventures before and after a trek. It is a basic hotel, but clean, with a decent,firm bed, tv, good shower, and breakfast of fruits, breads etc. I did see some guests getting eggs, so I presume these can be ordered. Wifi internet is available in lobby, but this does tend to be a bit hit and miss. Contrary to another post, there is an elevator, which due to the layout of hotel and the number of guests on tours/treks is much appreciated. Cuzco is a pretty little city, but the exhaust fumes on some of the narrow streets are overwhelming. As a solo, female traveller I felt as safe here as any other city. There are many restaurants and cafes/bars around the main square which is an easy 10 min walk from the hotel. Some of my fellow trekkers ( a discerning couple) ate in the hotel restaurant and said the food was good and also value for money. Car alarms and dogs barking did disturb my sleep my first night here, it was quieter the second stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia62uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    155
    212
    58
    17
See reviews for
69
191
56
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel is used by G Adventures for groups before and after the Inca trail etc, and most guests seemed to be on one tour or another. I would rate this hotel as better than average but not "very good" so 3.5 stars would be more appropriate! We stayed here twice and the room on the second visit was way better than that on the first.. it seems the higher floors have better rooms. Having said that the first room was fine for a night's stay. There is a lot of traffic noise, but Cusco is one of those towns where people drive with their horns, so I suspect you would be lucky to avoid this unless you stay in a top-end hotel with good double glazing. The breakfast was good.. with a choice of fruits, cereals and eggs available to order. There was a computer with internet access available free of charge which was useful. There is a supermarket a few meters up the road which is handy too. The main square is about 15 minutes walk away and we never felt unsafe, day or night.. but take care when walking around as the pavements are not in good repair and one of our party broke an ankle after stumbling in a pothole!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Undeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Given that I was on a tour, I'm not sure how much this hotel cost. The hotel is on a busy commercial street. Thus walks from the hotel to the main plaza were loud, crowded, and reeked of exhaust. I never lingered in the area around the hotel, so the location was not really that helpful in terms of restaurants, bars, or ATMs. Instead I had to walk to the main plaza. The location seemed safe enough to me. Our group was specifically instructed to not walk after dark in certain areas near the hotel, so we didn't.

The internet was very flakey, especially when guests were using all the bandwidth with video chat and streaming. The room was basic and fine like other Peruvian hotels: hard bed, older furniture, and small shower. The breakfast was one of the better included breakfasts I had on the trip.

The people at the desk were helpful and kind.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eilers78751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Comfortable hotel, within easy walking distance of main square and restaurants. I felt quite safe walking around this area alone in daylight, and small groups after dark. Hotel staff were helpful. But the rooms are haphazardly arranged, usually up multiple flights of steep stairs. I was travelling with a backpack, but I saw other guests struggling with heavy suitcases. It appears there is no lift/porter service. The views from the rooms were beautiful... but I couldn't shake the feeling that the hotel was not particularly fire-safe. Breakfast is pleasant. I found their clothes washing service to be very good value. I stayed here as part of a tour, but I would consider returning independently in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldCoastAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located a few blocks from the main square and is easily and safely walkable including at night with the usual precautions.

It is quite a large hotel for what it is and has large open atrium at one end The hotel is basic, comfortable, clean, the wifi is patchy and temperamental, the staff are helpful to any reasonable request and the restaurant breakfast was okish as it is included in the price.

I stopped here pre and post a G Adventures tour plus a couple of extra nights afterwards and here in lies the main problem! It is a transit hotel for tour groups and is very noisy.

The noise starts around 5.00am with people preparing to leave, tv's turned on, doors banging, people talking etc. The rooms are not well insulated and the noise seems to echo around the atrium which a lot of the rooms face onto. Rooms facing the road fair no better suffering from traffic noise.

If your lucky enough to get a room on a high floor away from the road and the atrium then this problem is minimised if not prepare to be woken early.

If you are just stopping at the hotel because you are on a tour then you can live with the noise. If you want to spend extra days exploring cusco then I would highly recommend you find a different hotel as the noise will be an overriding factor to what is otherwise an ok hotel.

Oh and by the way I am writing this at 6.00am having been woken by the noise.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

El lado bueno: Bastante cerca de la plaza (a unos 5 cuadras), De noche no recomiendo irse caminando, mejor tomar taxi. Las calles no son tan iluminadas. Hay una guardia a la entrada del hotel que en la noche mantiene cerrada su puerta.
Habitaciones y baños limpios. Sábanas blancas limpias. Estufa eléctrica (las noches son frías)
*Pretty near the square (about 5 blocks away). At night, it's better to take a taxi. Lighting is not so good on the streets. There a security guard all night, and the main entrance is locked at night.
Rooms and bathrooms clean. Clean white sheets. Heater provided.(nights are cold).


El lado malo:
Inseguridad y mala aislación de sonido.
No tienen caja fuerte. Ventanas muy delgadas e inseguras (el cierre era un clavo). Estuvimos en el 2do piso que daba a la calle...noche de jueves y escuchamos ademas de bocinazos toda la noche, peleas de borrachos y hasta un violento asalto. Dormimos pésimo, y tuvimos que pedir nos cambiaran a una habitación mas arriba por seguridad y aislación de ruido. Nos cambiaron al 5to piso, es otra cosa, mucho mejor.
El desayuno dejo mucho que desear. Poca variedad.
Un computador disponible y muy lento.
Personal del hotel en general no muy atento y dispuesto a ayudar. No dijeron que sólo daban shampoo (una bolsita pequeña) el primer día.
*Unsafety and deficient sound isolation. There´s no safe deposit box. The windows are too thin and seem easy to open. the lock wasactually a nail. Our room was in the 2nd floor towards the street. Thursday night and not only me heard horn sounds, but also a violento assault. We coulndn't sleep well, so we requested to change the room to an upper floor for safety and soud isolation reasons. We were given a room on the 5th floor, much better.
Beakfast was poor. It lacked variety.
One computer available and it was very slow.
Hotel staff in general not very attentive and courteous. We were told they only give shampoo (one small sachet/packet) on the first day.

En conclusión, no es un mal lugar, pero no se queden en el segundo piso. Elijan una habitación interna y en piso mas alto.
To conclude, this is not a bad place, but don't stay on the 2nd floor. Choose an interior room, and on the upper floors.

Room Tip: Higher floors have bigger ans safer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivonne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of an Inca Trail trek rather than choosing it.

Good:
Very helpful staff
Pretty good location but a bit out of the way

Bad:
Paper thin walls so very noisy
Eggs were a paid extra for breakfast

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial Cusco Hotel
Imperial Cusco Hotel
#98 of 169 in Cusco
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Antares Mystic Hotel
Antares Mystic Hotel
#81 of 169 in Cusco
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#67 of 169 in Cusco
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Qosqo
Hotel Royal Qosqo
#97 of 169 in Cusco
130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Torre Dorada
Hotel Torre Dorada
#6 of 169 in Cusco
1,483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
Hotel Taypikala Cusco
#28 of 169 in Cusco
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prisma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prisma Hotel

Property: Prisma Hotel
Address: Calle Matara 394, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 169 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Prisma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Prisma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing