We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and Noisy”
Review of Prisma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Prisma Hotel
Ranked #93 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Like everyone else i stayed here as part of the GAdventures package. The hotel is in a central location with everything within easy walking distance.
Breakfast is basic with fruit, some cereals and eggs on request.
The rooms are clean with good showers but very noisy. If you are at the front you hear street noise almost all night, in the middle you hear the lift going up and down and then you have other guests checking in and out at all hours.
So it is not the best place to get a good nights sleep before a long hike.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eoireitum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

We asked for a triple room and were told they didn't have one.

We knew they did so argued it and then suddenly a key was passed to us.

The reception staff made up the prices as they went along for water, laundry etc.

Generally they were rude.

As for the rooms - they were what they were and we're too bad for the money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at Prisma three nights as part of our G Adventures tour in Peru. The hotel is well located (main street and squares of Cusco a few blocks away), clean and cosy. The breakfast was really nice and rooms were warm and comfortable (there is an adjustable heater in each room). Some of the rooms were quite noisy, though, so ask for a room which is not directly facing the street in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here with our GAdventures package. We had three different rooms, one when we arrived then two when we came back from the inca trail. The room when we came back had the best bathroom (perfect after the inca trail) but was the noisiest as it was at the front of the hotel. The other two rooms were quieter as at the back. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast was very good. Advice to all that visit if you fly from Lima take it very easy for the first day, it will take a while for you to adjust to the altitude. We found we had a headache. We took some paracetamol and went to sleep. Drinking lots of water helps too.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DaveandBecky210913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed here with G adventures before and after a trek. It is a basic hotel, but clean, with a decent,firm bed, tv, good shower, and breakfast of fruits, breads etc. I did see some guests getting eggs, so I presume these can be ordered. Wifi internet is available in lobby, but this does tend to be a bit hit and miss. Contrary to another post, there is an elevator, which due to the layout of hotel and the number of guests on tours/treks is much appreciated. Cuzco is a pretty little city, but the exhaust fumes on some of the narrow streets are overwhelming. As a solo, female traveller I felt as safe here as any other city. There are many restaurants and cafes/bars around the main square which is an easy 10 min walk from the hotel. Some of my fellow trekkers ( a discerning couple) ate in the hotel restaurant and said the food was good and also value for money. Car alarms and dogs barking did disturb my sleep my first night here, it was quieter the second stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia62uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel is used by G Adventures for groups before and after the Inca trail etc, and most guests seemed to be on one tour or another. I would rate this hotel as better than average but not "very good" so 3.5 stars would be more appropriate! We stayed here twice and the room on the second visit was way better than that on the first.. it seems the higher floors have better rooms. Having said that the first room was fine for a night's stay. There is a lot of traffic noise, but Cusco is one of those towns where people drive with their horns, so I suspect you would be lucky to avoid this unless you stay in a top-end hotel with good double glazing. The breakfast was good.. with a choice of fruits, cereals and eggs available to order. There was a computer with internet access available free of charge which was useful. There is a supermarket a few meters up the road which is handy too. The main square is about 15 minutes walk away and we never felt unsafe, day or night.. but take care when walking around as the pavements are not in good repair and one of our party broke an ankle after stumbling in a pothole!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Undeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Given that I was on a tour, I'm not sure how much this hotel cost. The hotel is on a busy commercial street. Thus walks from the hotel to the main plaza were loud, crowded, and reeked of exhaust. I never lingered in the area around the hotel, so the location was not really that helpful in terms of restaurants, bars, or ATMs. Instead I had to walk to the main plaza. The location seemed safe enough to me. Our group was specifically instructed to not walk after dark in certain areas near the hotel, so we didn't.

The internet was very flakey, especially when guests were using all the bandwidth with video chat and streaming. The room was basic and fine like other Peruvian hotels: hard bed, older furniture, and small shower. The breakfast was one of the better included breakfasts I had on the trip.

The people at the desk were helpful and kind.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eilers78751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial Cusco Hotel
Imperial Cusco Hotel
#99 of 171 in Cusco
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#68 of 171 in Cusco
235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inka Andina Hotel
Inka Andina Hotel
#135 of 171 in Cusco
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Antares Mystic Hotel
Antares Mystic Hotel
#82 of 171 in Cusco
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Del Prado Inn
Del Prado Inn
#95 of 171 in Cusco
261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eco Inn Cusco
Eco Inn Cusco
#33 of 171 in Cusco
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prisma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prisma Hotel

Address: Calle Matara 394, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: £43 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prisma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Prisma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing