We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good, clean and comfortable hotel with excellent staff”
Review of Prisma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Prisma Hotel
Ranked #90 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good, clean and comfortable hotel with excellent staff”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed in Prisma at the beginning and end of a G-Adventures trip and also independently after we returned from the jungle. Location was good, rooms were clean and water was hot. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Other reveiwers have mentioned that rooms were noisy, however, we stayed in 3 different rooms and were never disturbed at all by any noise. The breakfast was great (if you like pasta and yuka - seriously - it was great!). Coffee was good too. The final time we were due to stay here was after a flight from from Puerto Maldonado. As it turned out, our flight was cancelled and we ended up on a 13 hour night bus instead!! We arrived at the hotel at 9am the following morning, expecting our room to have been given away... however, we were greeted with a smile and told that we could keep our room for a late checkout so we could shower, check the internet and grab breakfast before heading to the airport. This was massively appreciated, thank you!! Would definitely recommend Prisma.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2NadineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    151
    206
    56
    16
See reviews for
69
182
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I agree with recent reviews. This budget hotel, booked through G-Adventures ticked all the boxes for clean rooms; crisp, clean sheets; hot shower, and good food. The only gripe is the single glazed windows which do allow the significant, continuous, traffic-honking noise to invade the room. Other than that, it was great to have a TV, Wi-Fi albeit intermittent - actually, very intermittent... and the staff were very professional and helpful. Reception called a taxi for me at 4 am and it was reassuring to have the night watchman ensure I got into the right taxi. Well located for a walk to the main plaza but if you can find a less congested road it will save you breathing in the intolerable exhaust fumes. Oh, and there's no hair dryer in the room but not a problem to borrow one from Reception. I'm scoring this hotel very good in terms of budget hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an internal room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the Prisma as part of our Inca trail tour with G Adventures. Nothing much to report apart from the hotel is situated in a prime position (5 mins away from the town square) however don't expect to get much sleep as the windows and walls are paper thin and you can hear everything.. The staff however are more than lovely and try their best to accommodate you so please do not take your frustration out on them! The bed sheets are clean and the showers are hot but do not dare flush toilet paper (it is forbidden!)... All in all it was an OK stay and believe me if you are doing the inca trail you will be staying here on the last night and you will be thankful for a nice hot shower and clean bed!!!

Room Tip: Please ask for a top floor room away from hustle and bustle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KushPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

If you are trying to compare hotels, it is easy to forget that you must compare apples to apples. Prisma is a good choice for the budget traveler. The rooms were simple, but clean. The food was much the same; simple but clean. I don't want surprises when I am traveling on a budget unless they are pleasant ones. This was a pleasant one. Unless you are willing to pay a premium, what more could you ask? The staff tried their very best to accommodate our requests. The shower, which is very important to me, functioned better than a high priced hotel we stayed in, in Machu Picchu. Imagine that! The location is easy to find and there was always someone at the desk and at the door.

Room Tip: Remember to bring your own toiletries. But, if you are missing an essential, there is a market at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I was happily surprised.

From previous reviews was expecting a noisy, dingy, hostel-type atmosphere. Instead, I found a clean, well-maintained facility, with good service and, in back, a nice atrium and plenty of room to sit down and stretch out

Like most guests having done a trek with G Adventures, which has a service desk there, I stayed on the first floor, right off the lobby for two nights and after the hike another two nights on the second floor. Both rooms were spacious and functional, with working television and good hot water. Even the room off the lobby wasn't particularly noisy, though in both I could definitely hear traffic from outside.

Location is okay, not great, an eight or ten minute walk from the main plaza; the breakfast buffet nothing special but enough to get going in the morning. Biggest problem, as expected, was very sketchy wifi, which came and went.

The front desk was professional and neatly dressed (suits and ties); of the three people, usually two spoke some English and one spoke perfect English; among other things they booked with ease a good full-day driver and the usual taxi to the airport etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here with G Adventures and was a bit apprehensive given the reviews but actually, the hotel was fine!

Most of the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. You can store luggage securely and any valuables in the reception safe. Good security with a doorman at all times too.

The room is basic but clean. The windows are rubbish for noise but ear plugs sort that out fine for sleeping. Wifi is good in the common areas. Our friends had a newly returned room which was really nice with tiled bathroom so perhaps they're slowly rolling out the modernisations.

The breakfast is fine. The usual continental stuff, fruit juices, frankfurters, pasta and chips. The pasta is pretty tasty!

Location is good and walking distance from the markets and squares. Shop 2 doors down for water and snacks etc.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gimme_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin Tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed here as part of our G Adventure Inca Trail Tour, pre and post hike. The pre-hike visit we were placed in a room with a window opening directly out to the elevator. Besides listening to the elevator all night, we could hear all of the noise from the common areas of the hotel. On the post-hike stay, a male hotel employee just opened our door and walked into our room WHILE WE WERE IN BED! No knock, no excuse me, just heard a key in our door and then there is this weird guy standing in our room. I guess he figured out that he was not supposed to be in our room, and so he turned and walked out. No apology, nothing! And then while we were having a weird breakfast of pasta leftovers and salad, someone helped themselves to a pair of earrings that I had left on the table in our room. When we asked the desk staff about the missing earrings, we were told that they had NEVER had a complaint of missing items, EVER. A manager was NEVER made available to speak to us. The incredibly rude desk staff repeatedly said that there was no manager to speak with us. She was off that day and EVERY DAY we asked for her.
Overall the hotel appeared to need some work. Broken tiles in the bathroom, shabby overall.
Housekeeping was poor. The room's floor was not cleaned during our stay. Some nice-sized dust bunnies began to take shape beneath the table and behind the nightstands. Also, the shower was dirty before we even used it!
G Adventures should consider using a different hotel because this place is a dump with poor customer service. Actually, the staff at this hotel doesn't even seem to have ANY idea of what good customer service entails.
Overall, we give this hotel 2 THUMBS DOWN!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nleiva66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cusco hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Ninos Hotel Meloc
Ninos Hotel Meloc
#24 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#114 of 164 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Cusco Hotel
Imperial Cusco Hotel
#94 of 164 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Marqueses
Hotel Los Marqueses
#57 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco Recoleta
0.6 mi away
Andean South Inn
Andean South Inn
#100 of 164 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prisma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prisma Hotel

Property: Prisma Hotel
Address: Calle Matara 394, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Prisma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Prisma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing