We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing price and service and rooms! GREAT VALUE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta
Ranked #14 of 475 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I can't review this place high enough- It is amazing value for money, very comfortable, great service and has such a great feel!

We stayed here at the beginning of our stay in cusco for 2 nights, then we did our prebooked Inca Trail Trek and then spent another 2 nights back here that Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta!
It has a great family run feel to the place in such a huge old house. It is about a 10 minute walk (completely safe) into the main square where you have restaurants and the big cathedrals (so pretty!!)

They speak english and very accommodating- happy to hold your bags while you are on the trek and have a safe for personal items. Breakfast was simple but fantastic!
We paid $20 US a night and it had a double bed and private bathroom! can't get much better than that! The linen on clean and warm and hot showers were good!

I have two recommendations-
1. You MUST be in Cusco for a Sunday! This Hospedaje is a 2min walk to small combie vans (mini buses) that take you for $5 soles to a mountain town called Pisac (ask the hostel for more information). It has AMAZING markets- Try and get the bus by 9am so you can reach the markets before all the tourist buses. You don't need a tour to go to these markets!
2. Taxis are around $3 soles to get from the centre (main plaza) back to the hostel- so if you don't feel like walking or it is after 10pm.. just grab a taxi! easy

They did say they would have someone to pick us up from the airport but that didn't happen.. I don't think we confirmed it very well though. So double check this i suggest.

Very worth staying here and was a place we were very happy coming back to after our 4 day trek!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikaela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

Due to delay on the road from Lima I was on the bus for over 30hours. When I arrived at Recoleta Javier was waiting for me with a big smile and a very warm welcome. He was really helpful even though it was late at night on the information I needed to get to Machu Picchu the next day & a place close byto get some hot food (all the staff are lovely and try/practice speaking english with you) I really felt in a home away from home in Cusco. The showers are properly hot & powerful in spacious bathrooms. On my return (from Machu Picchu) I stayed in a 4 bed dorm ensuite - lovely warm comfy beds with thick blankets a great nights sleep. Breakfast is great, good coffee and pancakes/eggs. My ONLY complaint - check out is 10:00am - could really do with an extra hour when you are coming back from Machu Picchu.

Room Tip: Ask for a 4 bed dorm - as is en suite but so cosy!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reyanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

After staying with Xavier at his place our expectations for hospitality were blown away. Nothing was ever too much hassle, from the start we were made to feel welcome and at home from all of the staff.
The place itself is a lovely character filled building with DVDs, Kitchen, table football and pingpong! Good areas for meeting people and fast internet. The rooms have really comfortable beds and are spotless. The breakfast is with eggs or pancakes and not just boring old bread and jam like normal. The location is only 10min safe walk from the centre and next to some amazing off the beaten track restaurants. Xavier recommended the BEST place we have had ceviche ever!
Certainly what makes this place the best we have stayed in Peru is the hospitality and the extent to which the staff will go to to make your stay comfortable. From mending shoes, tailoring trousers or arragning excursions or even just some advice about eating etc, it is all honest and helpful. And the value is excellent for Cusco.
We liked it so much we returned a second time and if we ever had to stay in Cusco again this would always be first choice.
Thanks Xavier for a lovely time!

Room Tip: All of them seem ok and not noisy at all.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChitraUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We spent 3 nights, then one night and then 2 nights here at the end of a month's journeying in Peru. As two "senior" couples, we found it a really homely, comfortable and friendly place to stay. Above all, the service from Javier and his colleagues was superb - nothing (including changing dates at short notice) was too much trouble for them and they were always cheerful and eager to help. Rooms were spacious and clean; hot water constant; breakfasts excellent (especially, the pancakes). The 15 minute walk to Plaza des Armas was easy, if very polluted with exhaust fumes, and Javier found a superb taxi driver who took us on a number of excursions.

The idiosyncratic artwork and collection of dolls may not appeal to very one, but each to their own.

Throughly recommended.

Bernard Clarke

Room Tip: For three nights we had two double rooms with their own little living room ensuite. Brilliant.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Nice and friendly staff, good breakfast, good price-value!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sakn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta for 3 nights, on two separate occasions. Our first experience with this hotel was so good that we decided to return for our final night in Cusco. The staff are helpful and friendly, the rooms are charming, and it is very reasonably priced - three of us shared a room for $30 a night, $10 each! This is the cleanest, most attentive hotel I've ever stayed at for the aforementioned price. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaina15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed here 2 nights before we went to Machu Picchu, and another night on our way home. The hard working, friendly staff helped make this trip wonderful! The beds are cozy, the showers are hot, and the wifi is free!!! I would recommend this hostel to all of my friends! =)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mthedded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.2 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 475 in Cusco
547 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 475 in Cusco
1,425 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#8 of 475 in Cusco
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#6 of 475 in Cusco
569 reviews
0.8 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#11 of 475 in Cusco
757 reviews
1.1 mi away
Intro Hostels Cusco
Intro Hostels Cusco
#19 of 475 in Cusco
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta

Address: Jiron Pumacahua 160, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 475 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: £8 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospedaje Turistico Recoleta Hotel Cusco
Hospedaje Turistica Recoleta Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing