We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Owners were nice, staff were dishonest and rude”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cusco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Sweet Daybreak
Ranked #270 of 434 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Owners were nice, staff were dishonest and rude”
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Raf, the owner, and Vanessa, his wife, was very nice. He helped us book tours and give many valuable information. It is true we had to climb many steps to reach the hostel, but we were pretty energetic group, so that wasn't a huge problem. Raf picked us up from airport and even helped us carry our luggage up.

For the price, it is a pretty decent place for students with a budget. No breakfast, ok rooms, not very clean bathrooms with minor hot water problems. I bathed with cold water one night and it was hell, but the subsequent nights were fine. The place did look somewhat old and run-down, with wooden ladders for stairs, but I guess there is a "primitive" look which I don't mind at all. Also we were usually out most of the day so I was fine with the room we were given.

I have to give a poor review for my experience, though, because we lost money during our stay in the hostel. The incident happened behind locked doors and there were
some argument with the hostel staff, who refused to call the owner although we lost a lot of money and were sure they were left in the room, which we locked before leaving. Obvious that they were hiding something, we called the police and lost precious time, sleep and money (taxi, public phone) with the whole incident. We slept about half hour (some of us didn't get any) the day before we set off for our 4 day Inca Trail Hike.

We got our money back in the end, although the suspect ran away, we never went back to find out if He was caught. I feel sorry for the owners although I think its unfair for us too to have such a thing happened during our trip. And the thing is, we did not get ONE WORD OF APOLOGY at all. The father of the suspect just sat there looking pissed and angry that while it was us who got our money stolen and precious time wasted???!!?!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violetcraze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    7
    0
    3
    5
See reviews for
3
12
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

it is important to remember that everyone's experience will be different!
this is the 2nd time back to Cusco for me, and San Blas was the area to stay. Yes, there are some pretty impressive stairs to get up to reach Hostal sweet daybreak, but after doing them 2-3 times, they are easy! lots of awesome bars and restaurants to stop off at if you are having some difficulties, and it is excellent preparation for trekking :)

DEFINITELY ONE OF THE BEST VIEWS OF CUSCO, absolutely stunning at night time.

I stayed at Hostal Sweet Daybreak for 4 weeks in October with my mum. We were picked up at the airport by Raf and his sister-in-law Katya, then met the whole family (including Vanessa and their gorgeous little bub)!!
we were changed out of the first room we were put into due to some plumbing problems, and ended up in an amazing, big and airy room. No drama's with the new bathroom. The wi-fi/internet worked fine for us.

the kitchen is very basic, but comparing to other hostels, pretty much on the same par, at least there is a kitchen to use!

Raf helped arrange a number of tours for us, through his tour agency. Very knowledgeable as he has been on pretty much all of them!
As we were doing the 3-4 day treks, we were able to store our luggage in the (always locked) storage room, and there were never ever problems with re-booking for when we returned from treks.

There was a bit of a language barrier with the some of the staff (note, this is our fault for not learning Spanish before we came!), but easily worked out.

overall, my experience at the family run hostal sweet daybreak was great!! hope to be back there soon!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillipilli83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copenhagen
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2009

If you visit Cusco then Hostel Sweet Daybreak is a very cool place to stay. The hostel is situated in the center of San Blas, a nice touristy area in Cusco. My room was clean, the nightguy woke me up at the requested time due to a lack of alarm clock. They don´t serve breakfast, but that´s OK for the price. I prepared mine with some other guests in the kitchen in the garden. Never had such a spectacular view from my room before, on the whole city of Cusco. The hostel is located on a hillside. Maybe not worth the effort for some as I have read on this page, but defenitely awesome for me and probably most adventurous packpackers who are looking for something unique. Loved the guests at the time of my stay and also the owners are very friendly and help you out with all questions you might have. The owner is a walking Lonely Planet. Much more handy than spending a lot of time reading it all through or figuring it out myself.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

I booked a double room ahead because it looked nice on the website.
First when we arrived we had to climb many steep steps before we arrived to the hostal. It would have been nice to get a heads up about this in case of carrying the bags!
The hostel itself was very small and the service we got at arriving was very bad, the guy looked pretty stoned!
The room was big enough but there was only a bed in it. The floor was made of wood and you were to afraid too walk because it squeeked so much. You could literally look in the room beneath you through the floor!
The bathroom floor was constantly wet because everything was leaking. While taking a shower the plastering came falling of the wall!
The balcony had a great view of the city and at all the rubbish in the garden underneath.
You can´t really call it a balcony because if you stand on it you have the feeling you´ll fall through it!
Unfortunately we alreaddy payed for 3 nights in advance. We still left after 2 because this is no way to spent a holiday!
For the same price you can find a lot nicer places to stay, and they do include breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cusco hotels

London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2009

We walked in the door after seeing this hostal mentioned on lonely planet and took a double room with the shared bathroom. We wanted to stay for three nights and they asked us to pay upfront for two nights which we did - even though it was unusual to pay in advance.

Everything looked ok on the surface but after we settled in we started to notice a few things like:

- The place was falling apart. Our window fell off it's hinges and almost smashed on the floor. There was a tile missing on the floor at the end of our bed that had been replaced with a block of wood that rose about 5cm off the floor. We kicked our foot on it three times before pulling off the floor - it was covering a hole in the tiles.

- The shared toilets were dirty and extremely small.

- The kitchen was dirty and didn't even have a sink and the staff kept disconnecting the electricity to the fridge I assume so that they can save electricity in their attempts to make more money.

- The wifi only worked in the reception and occasionally in the courtyard.

So, all of these things are no biggy and you can probably expect them to some extent in a cheapish hostal in South America. But there's more.

We went to bed early because we'd just finished a 4 day Macchu Picchu trek and woke out of a deep sleep at about 10:30pm with someone banging on the door. It was one of the guys from the hostal with our washing that we'd put in to have cleaned earlier in the day - it was supposed to be delivered the next day.

He said that we had to pay now and that it was 50 soles for 10 kilos which seemed strange because after almost 4 months travelling in SA, we'd never had 10 kilos of washing and this was a smaller load. He seemed very anxious to get the money and kept saying we had to pay now. I was still half asleep so paid just to get him out of there and then tried to get back to sleep.

In the morning well before checkout time we decided we wanted to leave because we really needed wifi in our rooms to get some work done so we spoke with the guy and girl in reception and asked if we could have our 50 soles back from our deposit for the 2nd night because we where not happy with the facilities and wanted to go elsewhere. We weren't asking for money back for the night we'd already stayed.

They said that it was against their policies and could not do that. I told them about the washing and they confirmed it should have been 25 soles less but the guy we gave the money to was not around.

After some arguing they said they could not give us the money we'd paid in advance for the second night because it was against the owners policy. Nor would they give us the 25 extra we paid for washing. We asked to speak to the owner and said they weren't going to be back for two weeks and anyway, they didn't have any cash on the premises.

We asked if we could come back to get the money when they did have some - perhaps later in the day - and they said they didn't know when they would ever have cash on the premises, etc. Great excuse, huh? I guess we should know better and should expect worse from people but so far we'd had nothing but good experiences in 4 months travelling.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank notomato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varel
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Hostal Sweet Daybreak was a very nice experience. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Rooms and bathroom were all clean y comfortable. I just can recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spack1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany, Southwest
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2009

If you don't want to swim within the stream of all the average Cusco Tourists, this is the place to stay.
It's a really nice, family owned Hostal, placed in the artist district San Blas. Almost each room offers you an amazing view over the whole city and the surrounding mountains and the little garden is a nice place to hang out, read a book or whatever. The two public bathrooms are basic, but have great showers, the gas heated water really is hot, all day and night long. Cleaniness is good, it's never dirty, but they also don't clean behind you all the time. Some people might not like that, i suggest Hotels then.
The kitchen is kind of outdoor, but has everything you need to prepare yourself tasty breakfast, lunch or dinner.
The staff is awesome, all are family members and each of them knows a lot about Cusco and Peru. The owner Raf, a belgian guy, travelled through Peru, where he met his peruvian wife Vanessa at the cost. He is an excellent source of information, if you for example want a little different Macchu Pichu experience, than the all-time Incatrail. They have some offers for daytrips and longer trips, they don't do it on their own, but as far as i heard their partners are very reliable and definitly cheaper, than a lot of the agencies in the centre.
So, like i sad, it's a really good choice for backpackers with short budgets, but the will to experience different and interesting things.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonelygermanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostal Pakcha Real
Hostal Pakcha Real
#156 of 434 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#114 of 164 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#48 of 346 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
1.0 mi away
Casa Ananta Family House
Casa Ananta Family House
#59 of 346 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sweet Daybreak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sweet Daybreak

Property: Hostal Sweet Daybreak
Address: Calle Pasnapakana 133 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 434 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is situated at San Blas, one of the most picturesque and typical areas of Q’osqo, where the streets still maintain its mystical Inca and colonial style. The hostel offers you one of the best panoramic views in town. It’s a special place where you can relish the magic and magnetism of Q’osqo’s landscapes and culture, where people from all over the world build friendships and interchange different ideas and customs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing