We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food but...”
Review of MAP Cafe

MAP Cafe
Ranked #28 of 714 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$60
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Mexico City
Level Contributor
558 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent food but...”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Excellent food with excellent presentation. The adobo de cerdo was stupendous and so were the merengues for dessert. One of the best of Peru and expensive too.
But there is a very big issue with this restaurant. As soon as we were received and seated in our table, the waiter asks us if we have been in the restaurant before. We said no and he told us that there is only a fixed menu of three courses to choose several options from each course. After we dialogue in our party of 4 we decided not to stay and go to another restaurant. The menu was very expensive and none of us wanted the three courses. The waiter said that they were going to make an exception (?) and we can have whatever we want and pay only for that. By the end I decided that I also want a dessert and asked for the menu again and the waiter gave me a menu with all the prices. If you add all the prices considering the most expensive one of the three courses it will be cheaper than the original fixed price of the menu.
I felt somehow that I was going to be ripped off.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kartikmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    212
    67
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing meal”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This really is one of the best meals I have ever had. The restaurant is beautifully situated in a courtyard in a museum. The service was fantastic, the menu was interesting and every course delicious. As others have said, don't be put off by the 'cafe' in the name - this really is a fine dining restaurant. I recommend the warm truffles for dessert - very special!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best food in Cusco”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is a terrific restaurant and very popular. It is in a prix fixe format, including kids. So make sure they are hungry and flexible. In terms of preparation, it reminded us of a good San Francisco or New York restaurant. Setting is nice, in a glass room inside the Museum of Pre-columbian art -- itself worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Calgaryfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So disappointed”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We were so looking forward to this highly recommended restaurant. We were hugely disappointed. The Osso Bucco was tough and fibrous, the lamb described as tender was dry very over cooked, we chose starters from Gazpacho which fell short of the description and ravioli which was tough and frankly tasteless. Over rated there are many better places

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco R, Joi Paredes at MAP Cafe, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Andrew, thank you for sharing your review with us. MAP Café is well known for its exquisite menu and ambience. A clear crystal cube located on one side of the colonial patio of the Precolumbian Art Museum creates a unique atmosphere, as the menu offers unique and contemporary dishes made with local Andean supplies. The ossobuco is one of our most popular dishes, and our signature dish, the confit lamb with black quinoa pesque, features a tender lamb meat, low temperature -cooked for six hours, bathed in its own demi-glace, covered with quinoa pop, over a traditional black quinoa pesque (Aymara stew) with yellow chili, the lenght of coocking it is what inevitably give a unique tenderness. Thank you for sharing your review with us once.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great restaurant in Cusco”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This restaurant is located in the courtyard of the MAP museum, a beautiful setting. Great atmosphere. Delicious and creative fusion cuisine. Great service; Yuri, our waiter, was very helpful. It's a little pricey, but you won't be disappointed. And of course you should visit the museum before or after dinner.

Este restaurant esta situado en el patio del museo MAP (arte precolombino), un hermoso lugar con muy buen ambiente. Cocina fusión creativa y deliciosa. Excelente servicio; Yuri contribuyó a la gran experiencia en este restaurant. Es un poco caro, pero no se desilusionarán. Y naturalmente, no deben perder la oportunidad de visitar el museo antes o después de la cena.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MAP Cafe also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to MAP Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing