We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for an outdoor lunch”
Review of Pachapapa

Pachapapa
Ranked #44 of 731 Restaurants in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Solana Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place for an outdoor lunch”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stopped here for an enjoyable lunch here in the middle of a day walking around Cusco. One person of our party had pizza (thin crust and cooked in the outdoor wood stove) and the rest of us had traditional Peruvian food - a yummy seco de cordero and tallarin de pollo. We all shared a tasty rocoto relleno and rolls with the spicy green sauce. We enjoyed sitting on the outdoor patio and the service was great. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,448
    865
    221
    49
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely ambiance, tasty food”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We came here our first night in Cusco at the recommendation of our hotel. The outdoor seating was perfect (with heat lamps so you don't get cold). Everything was tasty, from the warm bread rolls to the alpaca appetizer to the slightly spicy chicken stew. Skip the pork crisps - those are better in an English pub (but really, why aren't you eating Peruvian?). Later in the evening a young man played a stringed instrument - very pretty. Also, the fresco tea was very good and warmed up my hands on the chilly evening. And everyone speaks English, a plus if your Spanish is a bit rusty.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lanahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and Good Food”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We went to this restaurant twice during our visit to Cusco - for dinner, and then a few days later for lunch. It was lightly raining when we arrived for dinner, so we ate in one of the indoor dining rooms, which was rustic and cozy with a wood stove keeping the room warm. Our dinner included Alpaca Steak and the roasted trout. Both were very good. For dessert we had the Chocolate Bar - its chocolate, what more is necessary to say? Several days later, we went back at lunch for a pizza from their outdoor wood oven. We did not have a reservation and the outdoor seating area was full when we arrived, so we again sat inside. I feel like we were forgotten and several other guests who arrived after us had their order taken before ours. The service really concentrated on the outdoor patio area. The pizza was good, but I feel that I have had better. Despite all this, I definitely feel this restaurant is worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bergenplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Pachapapa is delightful”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were lucky that it was a clear and brisk night without rain so we got to sit on the patio near the brick oven. Very very charming. The food was delicious. We had a "causa rellena" which is a common dish in Peru that is a cold, compressed potato stack with avocado and tuna in between, which was superb. We had "seco de cordero", another typical dish and it was delicious. Service was great. Very much recommended.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arminvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Royal, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try the quinoa soup!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Amazing service, the bread and dipping sauces were quite good as well. I visited this restaurant at least 3 times during my stay in Cusco, and it was always a great experience. The outdoor dining area with the brick oven, and the heaters keep you quite warm while dining outside in the evening. Quinoa soup, the first thing I had on the first day we arrived, was absolutely amazing! We also tried the smoked trout pizza, alpaca ham pizza, chicken spaghetti, chicken soup, grilled alpaca, and the red-corn dessert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maa2282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pachapapa also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Pachapapa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing