We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super delicious pizza”
Review of Restaurant Paititi

Restaurant Paititi
Ranked #137 of 707 Restaurants in Cusco
Price range: US$5 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The restaurant "El Paititi " (El Dorado) was once part of the palaces of the Inca nobility and was the residence of Tupac Yupanqui, the sovereign tenth Inca and successor of Pachacutec, who took correinado probably between 15 and 20 years. After the death of his father became absolute position of power around 30 years. The place was part of the religious and cultural center of the capital of the Inca empire. After the conquest was occupied by the Spaniards who surrounded him temples and built mansions. Our cuisine is complemented with Peruvian dishes from the region of Cusco , national and international . We also complemented with a proposal of Shushi , pastas and pizzas.
Level Contributor
158 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Super delicious pizza”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The menu here is varied and has a wide selection of traditional Peruvian food. I had one of the pizzas and it was superb. Possibly the best I have had in South America so far! Very attentive staff and a clean and tidy restaurant conveniently located in the main square.

Helpful?
Thank Jessisap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    75
    34
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was by far the worst meal we had in all of Peru. We ordered a prawn soup and cerviche and the taste was extremely poor. This is a very typical touristy restaurant which should be avoided. Will never eat at a tourist restaurant again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dawei z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
433 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Very nice evening and good pizza”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We found this restaurant while strolling around the Plaza de Armas. On the street we were offered (not strong armed) into a free glass of wine or a pisco sour with dinner, so we decided to go inside. We did, indeed, get our free glass of Chilean wine (as opposed to Peruvian) which we requested. We were a party of 4 adults. We then ordered the large pepperoni pizza, which was actually yummy real pepperoni!

Our waiter waiter was Juan Pablo and he was excellent and attentive, but not overbearing. The restaurant was clean and welcoming and just the right ambiance that we were looking for.
Pizza seems to be the big buzz word in Peru, and this was the best pizza we tasted on our trip.

The live flute music was a bonus, although we have certainly heard better ..... and worse.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaMomofTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disgusted”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Visited last night having been persuaded by a waitress at the entrance that the food was very good. We were shown to our table and there the service ended. After about 10 minutes we has not been offered a menu or a drink and at that time neither the waiter or the waitress were in the restaurant. Both were stood outside and she was massaging his neck and shoulders. We left. I did tell them we were leaving, he seemed unconcerned and she more interested in concluding a deal with a street trader. Truly astonishingly poor service when there must be 20 or more restaurants competing for business around this busy square.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana Point, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dirty!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Was just there last night and it was horrible. We asked for sparkling water (agua con gas) and the waitress brought us still water in bottles that were already opened, like they came out if the cooler that way. The glasses she poured it into smelled like rotten food. We explained the water was sin gas, without bubbles, and she smirked at us, then went and laughed with the cook about it. At this point we should have left, but we were starving. We ordered two small pizzas, figuring they would be hard to mess up. They were awful. They tasted like microwave pizzas. Stay away from this place. There are so many better places in Cusco! Try Ucho or Chicha! Even the bar Norton's is better!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank acampbell13732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Paititi also viewed

Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to Restaurant Paititi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing