We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disorganized and not as advertised”
Review of In Casita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
In Casita
Ranked #44 of 357 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“disorganized and not as advertised”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Picked it based on reviews and close proximity to airport since we had a 6am flight out the next day and was arriving late from the Inca Trek so just needed a place to crash. First, it was difficult to find and when we called from another hotel to ask for help when we were lost it was hard to communicate as their English was very limited. We finally arrived and since our flight was so early, we wanted to pay and check out, and were told they could not take credit card, which they had said was accepted on the website, and I had specifically emailed them that question and they had replied that credit card was accepted. Therefore, we had to scramble to have enough money to pay for the hotel as we had budgeted just enough soles to avoid having extra since we were leaving the country the next day. Next, we wanted to check in online and print our boarding passes, which she helped us to do, but after printing them, she told us it would be 3 soles for the printing. It would have been nice to be told that BEFORE we printed our boarding passes there, as we could have just printed it at the airport but didn't know that there would be a charge for using their printer.

The room was also not as expected- we asked for a matrimonial room as we are a couple, and was given a room with two beds, one single and one double, instead of a queen bed which we expected. The bathroom was tiny and the water temperature for the shower could not be easily adjusted. After waiting for a long time for the hot water to come on, I turned on the cold water to adjust it but it promptly overpowered the hot water and became freezing cold. I tried again, this time with just a tiny twist of the cold water and even then it became freezing cold, so I was forced to shower in water that was too hot. Boyfriend had same problem with the shower too.

They did arrange and pay for the taxi to the airport, but unlike other reviews I read, we were not offered or get any breakfast bags so did not get any breakfast that was supposed to be included.

Overall, i can tell that the two ladies that owned the place (rosa, georgina) were nice but with such limited English, disorganization with mixing up our reservations and not taking credit cards, extra charge for printing, terrible shower, double plus single bed for a matrimonial room, and no breakfast, it was not as advertised and I would definitely not recommend staying there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globe2trot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    37
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
34
43
22
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Rosa, the owner, is absolutely wonderful - she was very accommodating of my poor Spanish and helped us organise taxis to collect and send us all over Cusco. Rosa even woke up to say goodbye when we were collected very early in the morning for our Inca Trail hike. Her family were very friendly and made us feel very welcome, her daughter is especially cute!

(March 2013)
40 minutes walk to Plaza des Armas
Taxi to Plaza des Armas 5 - 6 soles
Taxi to Airport 10 or 20 soles (can't remember exactly)

The double bed room ensuite was comfortable, shower was fine too. Towels and soap are provided. The price for our stay was very reasonable, would have no qualms about going back in the future. The breakfast consisted of bread rolls with jam/butter and scrambled eggs. Beverages or juice are available.

The computer was connected to the internet and is free to use. There is also a common area with tv, dvds and books which we did not get to use but seemed very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borntorunJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

a great overall experience. very friendly and helpful staff, excellent quality for an extremely reasonably priced accommodation! me and my friends were feeling at home in this hotel, and we would go there again any time.
greetings, Rosa :)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankkkko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

Amazing stay at this really nice family BB. Really clean, cool rooms, they put us in 2 doubles and we were 3 so we were amazingly comfy. Really helpful staff. They booked us, at 22h, a very good value taxi for going to the train station the next morning at 6AM... I would really recommend the stay! The worst was the amazing oddisey it took us to find it in the Urbanizacion Marcavalle (it took us more than 30 minutes), because we didn't arrive to the airport so they didn't fetch us!
Also the location isn't amazing because the city centre isn't that close but it wasn't hard to find a taxi to get ther for 4-5pesos.

I would definitely recommend the stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexGGRdM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed one night before and one night after the Salkantay-Trail in "In Casita".
Our excess baggage could easily be temporarily parked in the hotel for 5 days.
Lack of hot water in the shower were one time repaired on demand, one time we have to wait until the next morning.
Very helpful when looking for a large taxi and price negotiation for the ride to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We were also 4 friends staying in In casita for 2 nights and then one more night after a 4day hike to Machu Picchu. Originally we booked the hotel thru expedia for the entire week but Rosa and the rest of the staff were so sweet to just charge us for one night we werent there based on a single room. She also let me borrow a few blankets and a pillow for my hike. The coca tea that welcomed us was lovely and the service overall was wonderful. I even got some coca tea bags for the road:) There is a lounge slash reading area with tv and computer... the lighting overall is very dim. Location is 10 min away from center and only 5soles ($1.50 or so)cab ride away. there is a great big supermarket on the corner and the area isn't touristy so great for watching and experiencing the life of the locals! Definitely a great experience and I cannot wait to go back! Thank you in Casita!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koshka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We were 4 friends who spent 2 nights at InCasita in the 2 rooms on the 3rd floor. Rosa was an absolute gem with her welcoming coca tea & concern for our well-being. Nothing was an effort for her including organizing our bus trip to Puno, and going with us to pick up a city tour and even taking the balance of our MachuPicchu trip money to the travel agent when we had no time to do it ourselves. Our lack of Spanish was no barrier thanks to her google translator. The rooms were comfortable,clean & the bedding was warm enough. Rosa had no hesitation in serving breakfast at 6 am for our early pick- up to M-Picchu and who can forget the freshly squeezed fruit juices. We would stay there again because it felt like home away from home even though you could hear street noise. There was no facility to pay by credit card when we got there,so travel with cash or luckily for us, the ATM was around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essemjay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
2.7 mi away
Hostal Cusi Wasi
Hostal Cusi Wasi
#29 of 357 in Cusco
214 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Ananta Family House
Casa Ananta Family House
#60 of 357 in Cusco
43 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa de Mama Cusco 2-The Ecohouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Inn Cusco
Fiesta Inn Cusco
#11 of 454 in Cusco
63 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 454 in Cusco
612 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wayta Inn
Wayta Inn
#49 of 357 in Cusco
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to In Casita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In Casita

Property: In Casita
Address: Urb. Marcavalle O-1 | Wanchaq, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 357 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — In Casita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It was designed like a family home, where you can find beautiful double bedrooms with great sunlight. Big bathrooms with warm water 24 hours a day, heater, telephone and cable, are the basic services in each bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your In Casita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing