We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great train journey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of PeruRail Andean Explorer

PeruRail Andean Explorer
Book In Advance
Book a Tour
Ranked #17 of 774 Tours in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy the beautiful Andean landscape of Peru on board of a luxury and magical way to travel between Cusco and the Lake Titicaca. Travelling in the Andean Explorer is a unique experience, a route between mountains, clouds, snow-capped mountains and puna finishing in the majestic Lake Titicaca. Its coaches involve you in an environment extremely decorated with the elegant style of Pullman trains of the decade of 1920. Its tourist shows, the 5-fork lunch, dining cars, observatory-bar car outdoors, among other attractions.
Banff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,164 reviews
539 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“A great train journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I went on this train from Cusco to Puno it's like a poor mans version the orient express the 10 hour journey was slow so you could take it all in and enjoy the trip, we had a three course lunch on board which was very good, it had a open observation car at the back so it was real nice, I used this also as a great train journey off my bucket list would real recommend

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail Andean Explorer, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Mr. Alan876969,
Thank you for taking the time to share your travel experience with our community and also for your preference with PeruRail on this occasion. We are glad to know that you had a great journey aboard the Andean Explorer train and that your experience was very positive. We hope this will not be the last time to have you aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Andean Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    932
    260
    101
    33
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An unforgettable journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I had been recommended this journey by a friend and thank goodness I took her advice! This was a wonderful way to travel from Cusco to Puno...it was definitely a journey that was part of the holiday experience rather than interrupting it. The train is luxurious, food and service were great and the views spectacular. Add to that the music, dancing, fashion show and Pisco sour making demonstration and the 10 hours flew by. The observation car was wonderful and definitely a place for sharing notes with other travellers over a drink or two! Worth every Sol!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank LinfinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail Andean Explorer, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Mrs. LinfinLondon,
It is a pleasure for us to hear that you had an outstanding and memorable experience aboard the Andean Explorer train and that you enjoyed it from start to finish. We feel very proud and happy to provide this kind of service for all our passengers and having them aboard our trains enjoying an incredible time is our greatest satisfaction. We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community and also for choosing PeruRail as your travel option this time. We really hope to see you soon for another wonderful adventure along the Peruvian Andes.
Best regards,
The Andean Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
224 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Awesome train ride - the ride is the attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

10 hours in a train from Puno to Cuzco .... So glad we did it. Some people were just sleeping, reading, on the phone texting the whole time ... unbelievable. The scenery, villages ... so awesome. I watched out of the window and out of the open end wagon for most of the time. Drinks, food were adequate. Sadly enough we did run out of beer. Ridiculous. Especially since this happened during "happy hour". Service was ok. A little too much running around. The doors were an obstacle for the servers. They kept slamming into the seats. A few times the servers slammed into them and dropped glasses which pieces got cleaned up 1/2 hour later. In short - they try some more than others but service could be better. The views are unbeatable though. The pisco brewing, other entertainment and the bar in general were a nice touch. Would recommend it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank FrankTibackx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail Andean Explorer, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Mr. FrankTibackx,
We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with our community and also for traveling with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the journey aboard the Andean Explorer train, but we apologize for the inconvenience with the service on this occasion. We appreciate your recommendations and we really hope to see you soon aboard our trains.
Best regards,
The Andean Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Decision of our holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Yes this is expensive but worth every penny/sol. I've never known a 10 hour journey go so fast. Only stayed in our seats to eat as spent most of the journey
in the observation carriage or bar. The train goes right through town markets where you can touch stalls either side and in some cases go over stall holders' merchandise. Later nearer Cusco the scenery is magnificent. Right from the start we were having fun, dancing or tasting pisco sours. It was an incredible social experience where we got to know most of our fellow travellers from diverse backgrounds, Peru, Brazil, Spain, Japan, USA etc. (wonderful). 2 days later, bumping into a fellow passenger, all we could talk about was the train journey. Staff were cheerful and friendly and gave the impression they were having fun too. Food was excellent, more than we expected.
Journey did go over time by 30 minutes and I can understand other travellers becoming frustrated if it was delayed any longer. Once it becomes dark there is little to provide interest. My only recommendation would be to provide warning if going over time and perhaps another activity if this happens.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bangarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail Andean Explorer, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Bangarra,
It is a pleasure for us to receive your comments and we are very happy to know that you had a wonderful and memorable journey aboard the Andean Explorer train. Also, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the experience from start to finish and that you liked all our services. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your feedback with our community and also for choosing PeruRail as your travel option this time. We hope to see you soon aboard our trains; and why not, on another route of PeruRail along the Peruvian Andes.
Best regards,
The Andean Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Well worth the cost”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is part of the Orient Express Group. It is a 10 hour journey but well worth it. The train stops about halfway and there is a small market to go round. You can get your photos taken in front of the train. Thee is entertainment on the train. Meals were very good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravellers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeruRail, Community Manager at PeruRail Andean Explorer, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Mr. WorldTravellers8,
We are very happy to receive your comments and to hear that you had a wonderful experience aboard the Andean Explorer train. Thank you for sharing your travel experience with our community and also for choosing PeruRail as your travel option this time. We really hope to see you one more time on a new and incredible journey with PeruRail.
Best regards,
The Andean Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PeruRail Andean Explorer also viewed

 
Cusco, Cusco Region
 

Been to PeruRail Andean Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing