We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some serious no no's!”
Review of Samay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Samay Hotel
Ranked #105 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Some serious no no's!”
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Samay for 7 days, we have nothing bad to say about the breakfast which was great, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the location was manageable!

HOWEVER, what would not make us come back to this hotel would be:
The staff were unhelpful and unprofessional!- during our stay staff walked into our room 3 times without knocking, one time was at 6:30am whilst we were sleeping to have a look inside the bar fridge? WHY WAS THIS NECESSARY?
We sent items to be dry cleaned and they came back with 4 holes from being stapled to a reciept? The staff just brushed off our concerns.


Overall, we wouldnt recommend this hotel, regardless of how cost effective it may be!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freesouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    86
    59
    18
    9
See reviews for
39
61
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed here for four nights total while in Peru. The staff were friendly, the food in the restaurant was good also. However, our room was a bit on the small side. If you're looking for a decent hotel in Cusco, this is definitely one to consider.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Our group of 9 stayed here for four nights during our recent Peru trip. We enjoyed the hotel, the front desk and bell staff were really helpful and very friendly. We were met with a hot cup of Coca tea and our room keys.

We had booked the hotel as a three star and it was that and no more, the included breakfast was very good and there was plenty of variety.

The rooms near the street as expected were noisy as daylight approached but that's to be expected in a busy city like Cusco.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here twice on our Peruvian holiday. The lobby area was well maintained with friendly staff, always eager to help. The front desk staff were also friendly and helpful. The rooms we had were average sized and no noisier than you could expect in a city that size on a main street. The room, beds and bathroom were clean. Although located a long walk uphill to the main plaza, it was easily taken care of by a short taxi ride of 3 soles (less than $1.50). We always felt safe and in good company. This is a good value for economical vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DayTripper328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Had a couple of stays here during a Peruvian holiday. Different rooms but both comfortable and clean. Each room overlooked the front or back street and maybe the beds were very good or I'm a good sleeper as noise was not a problem. Lobby a very nice area to relax and talk with friends. Restaurant rather expensive by Peruvian standards and found eating houses around the corner better and much cheaper.
Cleaning staff friendly but other staff not so. Did their job and that was that.
Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Takeiteasytheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed her at the beginning and end of a Charity Challenge trek and found the hotel to be generally very good. Lobby and other public areas are spacious and clean, staff are helpful and breakfast was ok. The wifi access is good and reception will give you a code to use it.
Rooms themselves were large and clean, beds comfy and bathrooms clean too with fairly powerful showers. The only downside was that the rooms overlooking the main road were very noisy.
The hotel is a fair walk from the main square, but we felt safe enough walking up the road, but were advised by our guide not to cut up any side streets or alleyways, but surely that's common sense in most cities.
Wouldnt have a problem staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesnt overlook the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misspink34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

It´s a regular hotel, clean but the bathroom smelled like sewage. The staff is rude, talked among themselves without paying attention to the guests. The hotel is 8 blocks far from the city center and they do not seem safe to walk at night, I do not recommend it. Taxis can be any car as some are marked and others are like any normal car. This hotel is not convenient to stay in Cusco, also its facilities are not worth the money paid.
I recommend looking for a hotel closer to the main square.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azul1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cusco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.6 mi away
San Agustin International Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Suenos del Inka
Hotel Suenos del Inka
#50 of 167 in Cusco
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Villa Hermoza
Hotel de la Villa Hermoza
#118 of 167 in Cusco
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
LP Los Portales Hotel Cusco
1.0 mi away
San Francisco Plaza Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Munay Wasi
Hotel Munay Wasi
#55 of 167 in Cusco
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samay Hotel

Property: Samay Hotel
Address: Av. San Martin 206, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 167 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Samay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samay Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing