We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just enough for your stay”
Review of Samay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samay Hotel
Ranked #98 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Reviewed 8 December 2012

The hotel is a modern construction offering the bases for you stay. The location is good, you can walk easy to the indigenous market and even find near stores to find water and some biscuits. Optional restaurants around and for the price you pay in a historic city is good enough. If there is any complain for the location, then you can choose another near hotel of the main square, but just pay the price and be ready for the noise of discos which is still permited at the center of town. Breakfast were good and the internet wifi works well as well.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are a little quiet, but I prefer the light, so my choise is always to the street, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour package...definitely NOT recommended. The hotel is about 15-20 minute walking distance from Cusco's main plaza, right on Avenida El Sol. There's not much nearby at night to do except a couple of restaurants packed with tourists. I'd recommend spending a little more money to stay closer to downtown.

We stayed at two different rooms because we checked out in between to stay one night at Aguas Calientes. In both rooms (as well as both of our friends' rooms), the curtains were off the tracks so would not shut completely. The scariest part is the shower. The water temperature swings from boiling hot to frigid cold without you touching any of the knobs! I almost fell in the bathroom because I was the first to shower and was not expecting to get burnt on my skin while shampooing! The same happened to our friends in different rooms.

There is complimentary breakfast, which was a plus, albeit the selection was poor. The staff was friendly but be careful if you are traveling with children or elderly (unless they have ninja like reflex and can protect themselves in a wet bathtub with bipolar shower temperature)~!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YRLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Samay for 7 days, we have nothing bad to say about the breakfast which was great, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the location was manageable!

HOWEVER, what would not make us come back to this hotel would be:
The staff were unhelpful and unprofessional!- during our stay staff walked into our room 3 times without knocking, one time was at 6:30am whilst we were sleeping to have a look inside the bar fridge? WHY WAS THIS NECESSARY?
We sent items to be dry cleaned and they came back with 4 holes from being stapled to a reciept? The staff just brushed off our concerns.


Overall, we wouldnt recommend this hotel, regardless of how cost effective it may be!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freesouls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed here for four nights total while in Peru. The staff were friendly, the food in the restaurant was good also. However, our room was a bit on the small side. If you're looking for a decent hotel in Cusco, this is definitely one to consider.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Our group of 9 stayed here for four nights during our recent Peru trip. We enjoyed the hotel, the front desk and bell staff were really helpful and very friendly. We were met with a hot cup of Coca tea and our room keys.

We had booked the hotel as a three star and it was that and no more, the included breakfast was very good and there was plenty of variety.

The rooms near the street as expected were noisy as daylight approached but that's to be expected in a busy city like Cusco.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here twice on our Peruvian holiday. The lobby area was well maintained with friendly staff, always eager to help. The front desk staff were also friendly and helpful. The rooms we had were average sized and no noisier than you could expect in a city that size on a main street. The room, beds and bathroom were clean. Although located a long walk uphill to the main plaza, it was easily taken care of by a short taxi ride of 3 soles (less than $1.50). We always felt safe and in good company. This is a good value for economical vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DayTripper328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Had a couple of stays here during a Peruvian holiday. Different rooms but both comfortable and clean. Each room overlooked the front or back street and maybe the beds were very good or I'm a good sleeper as noise was not a problem. Lobby a very nice area to relax and talk with friends. Restaurant rather expensive by Peruvian standards and found eating houses around the corner better and much cheaper.
Cleaning staff friendly but other staff not so. Did their job and that was that.
Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Takeiteasytheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.8 mi away
Los Andes De America Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
0.7 mi away
Hotel Suenos del Inka
Hotel Suenos del Inka
#47 of 171 in Cusco
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Munay Wasi
Hotel Munay Wasi
#53 of 171 in Cusco
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Agustin International Hotel
0.7 mi away
Emperador Plaza Hotel
Emperador Plaza Hotel
#139 of 171 in Cusco
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samay Hotel

Address: Av. San Martin 206, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: £63 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Samay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samay Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing