We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What Happened?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Amerindia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Amerindia
Ranked #88 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Iquitos
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What Happened?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

I made our reservation from the Hotel Amerindia website. There is no phone number to call to check on or confirm the reservation. My wife and I waited at the airport thinking someone from the hotel would pick us up but when no one showed up we took a cab, which didn't work out so well either.

I believe were the only guests at the hotel. The owners were out when we arrived, but the gentleman working the place was nice and did the best he could for us and I appreciate that part. The shower was good and had hot water. The sink was really well built, but did not have hot water. The tile work was nice in the bathroom.

Coming back from the market we were hassled by a drunk on the street. I wanted to get my wife and I into the lobby of the hotel as fast as possible so I rattled the locked door to get attention. A man that I assume was the owner was not pleased with me shaking his door, instead of just letting us in he made a big deal out of pointing out the door bell which in my haste to get away from the drunk person I had overlooked. Not good customer relations.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnontheAmazon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    22
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
21
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

A real crush for this hotel ideally located. Rooms simple but pleasant, opening on a patio with a view on the cathedral roof. The breakfast is very good. And on top of that, the personnel is lovely and totally devoted to your needs!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlita75018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 week this August. The streets around it are old, rustic and full of history. Inside the hotel, the atmosphere is very welcoming, clean, and quiet - clear signs of fantastically run small family business. Vivid colors, art, cool lounge places, laptops and wi-fi. And last, but not least - hot powerful shower after a long day of hiking!

From day 1 we had soooo many questions, and the staff was patient and extremely helpful - we really felt their genuine desire to help and make our stay in Cusco as enjoyable as possible. They will even pack a breakfast and provide mate de coca for your thermos in case you need to leave at 5:00am to catch a combi somewhere! :))

Location, location, location - just a short walk from the craziness of Plaza de Armas.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We are family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers. We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in late July after our Machu Picchu visit. The people that run the hotel are all very nice and trusty-worthy, and their hotel is very clean. One night, our teen’s stomach wasn’t feeling to par, and for dinner that night canned chicken noodle soup or something light like that sounded right. So, we parents walked to the grocery store and got a package of soup and some white bread & saltine crackers, and the hotel staff was happy to make the soup for both teens and even brought it in bowls on a tray with napkins to our room. The self-serve cocoa-leaf tea is always available in the first floor lobby. Supposedly, the tea helps ease the high altitude effects - it worked for us as none of us got really ill from high altitude - just a mild headache and at times a little out of breath, but we also took it easy on our first day in Cusco as strongly recommended. The hotel has 3 floors, and each floor has its own lobby/sitting area. Wifi worked fine but best when we were in the first floor lobby. Breakfast was usually freshly brewed coffee (very good and very strong), juice, bread, muffins, cereal, milk, yogurt, fresh fruits, cold cut, cheese, and sometimes hard boiled eggs (but no fried or scrambled eggs like the other hotels we also stayed during our trip). This stay is the best value during our 2-week trip.

We were in the family room on the second floor and next to Calle Chaparro, which is narrow one-way street but extremely busy with both cars and foot traffic. Our room was a 2-level family room and was spacious enough for the 4 of us. Our top floor (loft-like as it just opened to the stair case) has a double bed and a twin bed while our bottom floor has the bathroom and a living room which contains a closet, a kitchen counter with a sink (not an equipped kitchenette in US standard), a small fridge (that works really well so we could keep our drinking water iced cold without ice), and a sofa bed (that sleeps 2). The sofa bed mattress was so hard that none of us wanted to sleep on it, but since we 4 couldn't all fit on the beds upstairs, one of us had to (and ended up with a sore back - who knows if it is related to sleeping on such hard surface for several nights or not). Above the staircase to go up to the top floor is the skylight – great during the day for both top and bottom floors but not so great early in the morning trying to stay asleep. We are big city folks so we are tolerable to some noise, but the street noise in the living room was unbearable at least once or more during each night as the living room window opens to the busy Calle Chaparro (yes, we kept that window shut but with people talking loudly or sometimes yelling in the street, it sounded like they were right there with you next to your sofa bed).

The location of this hotel was convenient to our kids' Spanish language school (just easy 5 mins walk), and Mercado San Pedro (a traditional market where the locals shops - raw meats, veggies, fruits, houseware, clothes, toys, prepared food/drinks, and touristy knick-knacks) and Orion Supermercados (similar to US grocery store) are just 1-2 mins walk. The walk to Plaza de Arnas is 10 mins (easy straight on Calle Santa Clara through the arch and continue on a little bit more). We usually walked it but after dinner there which usually would be after 8-9pm, we would take a taxi (usually just s/5) just because we feel it was safer and it usually was colder for us by then. We didn’t find any eating places near the hotel that we would like to eat at, and besides, we had so many restaurant recommendations from our guide, our kids’ language teachers, and our hotel, and they were all by Plaza de Armas. If you are using a taxi, be sure to take a printout of a google map of the hotel because the hotel is not well known (or if in a bind, tell the driver the hotel is very close to Mercado San Pedro on Calle Chaparro).

We would stay here again, but we would request a room away from Calle Chaparro. However, we don’t know if there are any 2-level family rooms that are not on the side of Calle Chaparro, so probably would have to end up getting two rooms for our family, which might be good since no one would have to be on a sofa bed!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoustonTravelFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

What awesome service and great accommodations in this hotel! We needed a last-minute place to stay, and walked by this hotel...we were SO happy to have found it! The owners/managers were super nice...it was super-clean, quiet, just up the street from the main market, and truly within walking distance of all the main tourist stops. I liked their little lounges on each floor with comfortable couches. They always had nice tea selections in the lobby. They also kept the main door locked at all times, so I felt very safe there. They had absolutely wonderful showers...hot and strong. They had a nice breakfast with breads, yogurt drink, coffee, fruit, ham and cheese...everything fresh.

They also stored our bags for us while we were hiking the Inca Trail!

I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Our family stayed here for five nights in September and loved it. I'd agree with almost everything the previous reveiwer said, except that the supermarket is only 5 minutes away if you're walking VERY slowly. Quite central location - easy walk to the Plaza de Armas (under 10 mins) even with small children - and big, comfortable rooms. The staff were tremendously helpful, making us breakfast at 5am before our train to Machu Picchu, booking taxis, sorting out an extra heater for the room and providing plates and cups for 'picnic' dinners from the supermarket. We had hot showers every morning of our stay. The rooms were immaculate and the mattresses very comfortable. The laundry service returned our clothes properly clean and dry (this is NOT a given with laundry services in Peru!) and charged a cheap per-kilo rate rather than by the piece. Very important for families travelling around for a while.

The central market right near the hotel is a great place to buy sweaters, hats, souvenirs and all manner of great food.

The only con I can think of is that wi-fi never worked out during our stay, but the staff quickly plugged in a laptop for us to access the internet on, for free. Very good service. In fact, whenever any small thing went wrong, the staff were quick to set it right. Really impressive service.

I hope this hotel moves up the TA rankings, as it really is a good value and central, comfortable place to stay. The property also looks very good, nice tiles, stonework, courtyard and decoration, so it's a nice atmosphere rather than a bland 'new' property.

Room Tip: Ask the staff for their recommendation - they happily showed us the available options and give you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MTXLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojo Caliente, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We made this hotel our base for a 6 day stay in Cusco to travel the environs (Machu Picchu, etc.), and booked the hotel from the reviews on here. I want to return the favour for others:

Pros:
1) Location:
- central enough (about a 7 minute walk to the main plaza) but not in a very noisy pedestrian area like other hotels
- a 2 minute walk away from the best local market (also caters to tourists)
- a 5 min walk away from a North American-type supermarket

2) Very clean rooms and bathrooms, with lots of attention to decor and detail
3) Exceptional free breakfast which included fresh local fruits, yogurts, different meats, and your choice of eggs, cakes, cookies, and fried cassava one day as well
4) The staff really made the different in this hotel - very pleasant, friendly, accommodating and helpful. They woke at 5 am to prepare breakfast for our group as we were catching a 7 am train to Machu Picchu.
5) We ended up with a two story room - a suite - which was perfect for our family of 4. There was a hotplate, fridge, pots and pans which were well used on those late nights.
6) Very good laundry service, free wifi and use of computers (although wifi did not penetrate concrete walls of rooms)

Cons:
1) First room we had - 304 - had a rooster living in such proximity that we could hear it scratching in its coop. It crowed at 4 am sharp until 7 or 8 am. We changed rooms. No one else heard it as their rooms faced the other direction. I suspect that rooms 204 and 104 had the same issue.
2) Our suite was across from a dance school which played hip hop until around 9 pm. Not a terrible thing for us as we were up and about, but may not be great for early sleepers.
3) Rooms are cold, and we had 2 heaters plugged in continuallly (I think this is a Cusco thing). We had cold bath water, then lukewarm water our first two nights. Hot water the rest of the time.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers with families!

Room Tip: Don't take rooms 104, 204, 304, or maybe even 303 due to rooster. You can request the two story...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cusco
0.0 mi away
Residencial San Jorge Hotel
0.3 mi away
Royal Inka I
Royal Inka I
#45 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Terra Andina Hotel
Terra Andina Hotel
#25 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tecte Guest House
Tecte Guest House
#90 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tambo del Arriero Hotel Boutique
0.6 mi away
Cusco Kenamari Hotel
Cusco Kenamari Hotel
#78 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amerindia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amerindia

Property: Hotel Amerindia
Address: Calle Chaparro 170, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 162 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Amerindia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing