We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and very accommodating!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
Ranked #14 of 499 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

If you're looking for inexpensive, simple, and friendly then this is the place for you! I was here with a large group of friends and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful with checking in/out, laundry service, and accommodating breakfast very early in the morning (for us to catch our flight). On my last night, I forgot my mobile phone and informed the hostel staff about this in attempt to retrieve it. I was able to wire the money to them and they mailed my phone to me. It was as simple as that! I would recommend this place!! Thanks again to the staff! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is a very clean, very comfortable hostel run by the most lovely women. I highly recommend. And the water is HOT! And great view of Cusco from the balcony. I loved being up the hill a bit out of the thick of things, too. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here before and after completing our inca trail trek.

We were in one of the upper floored rooms which had fantastic views overlooking cusco. It's located less than a 10 minute walk to plaza des armas. we were really happy to be slightly away from the hustle and bustle but still only a short walk to the main attractions.

The room and ensuite bathroom were both very clean and the shower one of the best we have had since we started travelling. Breakfast provided was pretty good, although the bread rolls were quite dry!

One of the highlights of this place were the staff. They were extremely helpful and helped us with booking onwards buses and arrange taxis.

We left our bags here while we did the inca trail and we were very happy that the bags were safely locked away and our valuables itemised and stored in a safe at the front desk.

All in all a great place to stay and really helpful staff. I would highly recommend it.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Gorgeous views. Big, clean rooms. Lots of blankets. Hot water. Delicious coffee in the mornings. Very safe area. What makes this hostel extra great is the staff. They are so kind and helpful, going that extra mile to accommodate you. They even phoned the tour company we were going with that day because they hadn't showed up in the morning. Really, really lovely, which I think makes all the difference.

Room Tip: Second floor has the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hostel is a bit far from down town. Rooms are cold and dark, but clean. You can enjoy lot of blankets....... BUT!!! : The above mentioned James is a tricky cowboy. He'll try to sell you a trip to Machu Picchu on a price higher than most of the tourist agencies in the town. You must have in mind that you can have the trip to Machu Picchu on a price 220USD.
Don't feed the greedy villager !

Room Tip: 2nd floor is better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divailo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed in Samay Wasi 1 - the one that´s on top of the hill. We stayed there on 3 different occassions and the staff are very helpful even though we checked in at midnight once. We stayed in 3 different rooms. The 4 bed dorm was a bit small but wasn´t a problem as it was only 2 of us. We had a TV in one private and no TV in another. It didn´t matter to us as we were out most of the time.

Pros:
Friendly staff, kitchen (bit small), internet & wifi, comfy rooms, cleaning everyday, linen and towels provided, tea available all day, you get picked up from the bus station for free.

Suggestions:
If possible get one of the rooms on the top floor. If you are on the lower floor, you can hear people walking upstairs and it sounds quite loud.
This place is at the top so there is a bit of walking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trave183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The rooms are clean, with comfy beds and plenty of blankets. There is plenty of hot water for showering. Breakfast was wonderful with eggs, bread, jam, fresh fruit juice, coffee and teas. Hot water available in a flask all day for hot drinks. Good Wi-fi. The staff are excellent and can't do enough for you. They understand how people can get affected by the altitude and are really kind. It was great to be collected from the bus terminal when we arrived. James was fantastic organising our Salkantay Trek to Machu Picchu and helping with Marie to organise our bus journey to Guayaquil. They looked after our bags while we were trekking. After our trek, our bags were waiting in our room for us on our return. We stayed another week after that. It is in a very safe and nice neighbourhood and the views from the room were excellent. We have nothing negative to say about the place or the people here and we were sad to leave.

Room Tip: We had a double deluxe with a fantastic view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tangodiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#144 of 171 in Cusco
85 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 499 in Cusco
1,457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 499 in Cusco
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pariwana Hostel Cusco
0.7 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 499 in Cusco
634 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kokopelli Hostel
Kokopelli Hostel
#7 of 499 in Cusco
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco

Address: Calle Atoqsaycuchi No 416 - San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 499 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: £9 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samay Wasi is located in The turistic San Blas neighborhood, in a small hill which give us an amazing view of the city, 10 minutes walking distance to Plaza de Armas, close to restaurants, pubs, souvenirs stores, etc.Personalized service that will make you feel like home.We offer you private and dorm rooms with private bathroom, 24 hours hot water, included breakfast, internet access (WiFi), kitchen facilities, luggage storage and pick-up from the airport or bus station to Samay Wasi when the booking is for two or more nighrts. Laundry service and tourist information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing