We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
Ranked #11 of 437 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place to stay !!”
Reviewed 14 September 2009

great view, super friendly staff, free towel, free internet, HOT SHOWERS!!, free towels. A bit of a walk to the main plaza. 10 min? free coca tea too!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    121
    31
    8
    3
See reviews for
21
174
56
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

I stayed in Samay Wasi II (not 1) and I guess that was the mistake but I was booked to stay at this hostel for 4 nights since my friend was rafting for 3 and I thought a nice long stay somewhere would be relaxing but I froze while there. The water in my room never got even a hint of warm and I actually filled my water bottles and put them in front of the little heater the front desk finally gave me and this is how I showered. I stayed 3 days and checked out to go somewhere with heat.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissapit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We stayed in both of these hostels during our time in cusco, prefering to stay in number 2 due to very good reviews........

However we were forced to relocate to Samay Wasi 1 after a trek and we realised we had been staying at the wrong one all along!

1 had hot showers in a private bathroom, 2 had luke warm showers at best in shared bathrooms.

The rooms at 2 were cold and noisy, this improved after the move.

Also the staff and general feel of the place was alot better at samay wasi 1.

If in doubt go to number 1.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlegeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Starting with a free shuttle from the airport and the cocoa tea offered upon arrival we knew this place was going to be awesome!! It was a perfect location, just a short walk to the main square, and had a beautiful view of Cusco from their balcony.
The Staff at Samay Wasi was the best! After staying with them for 3 nights we wanted to continue our stay with them but they were unable to fit us in, so they offered us a empty apartment down the street that was being renovated into another hostel. It was much appreciated and we loved it at the discounted rate they offered. We has Louise take care of us and even play some cards and drink beer with us. We felt at home there and i would never go back to Peru with out stoping by to see the folks at the Samay Wasi hostel!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brookheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#114 of 164 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 437 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 437 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 437 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 437 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Supertramp Hostel Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco

Property: Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
Address: Calle Atoqsaycuchi No 416 - San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 437 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samay Wasi is located in The turistic San Blas neighborhood, in a small hill which give us an amazing view of the city, 10 minutes walking distance to Plaza de Armas, close to restaurants, pubs, souvenirs stores, etc.Personalized service that will make you feel like home.We offer you private and dorm rooms with private bathroom, 24 hours hot water, included breakfast, internet access (WiFi), kitchen facilities, luggage storage and pick-up from the airport or bus station to Samay Wasi when the booking is for two or more nighrts. Laundry service and tourist information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing