We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a home + best breakfast”
Review of Casa de la Gringa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de la Gringa
Ranked #68 of 454 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Schwalmtal, Germany
1 review
“Like a home + best breakfast”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed many days there and felt really home. The hostel has a living room, like you would wish to have at your home. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are clean with a very welcoming and warm interior.
We have met a lot of interesting and nice people.
The breakfast was the best we have got in 3 month Peru and Bolivia in this price category: real cibatta, good egs or a delicious fruit salad with yogurt.

Room Tip: Shoose the part of the hostel in which the reception is, but avoid the 2 rooms where you have a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georg807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    29
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
1
25
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Great little hostel! Staff is very helpful, great quite location, clean, charming. Was very cold in winter time but overall a great place. Has everything you need, wifi, breakfast, tv, computer, towels, bed, blankets, access to everything.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenille1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I had stayed here six months ago, and it was already very nice, which is why I came back. What a surprise, the rooms have been painted, the mattresses seem like they have been changed, there is a new computer in the lounge area, and the staff are as friendly as ever. Gretty was also very helpful in getting the wright prices, and they had very good advice on places to eat. I would say without hesitating that this is the place to stay to learn about Peru in the friendliest environment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theodorus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed a few days on the San Fransisco side of Cusco but as we had a bit longer in Cusco than we had expected (as we waited for the day of our trek) we decided to move over to San Blas and we're really pleased that we did. The staff ere very friendly, our room was pleasant, and there was a nice heater in the communal room in the evening. It was a very relaxed place. There were two shared bathrooms and they always seemed to be clean. The Internet was decent. And after staying in lots of hostels where 'breakfast included' just means some sugary bread and poor butter and jam it was really nice to have really good bread and butter and a choice of eggs or fruit. We had to leave for our trek early in the morning, before breakfast starts, but they had put together some fruit for us to take with us. They let us store our belongings there whilst we went on our trekked it was all safe when we got back. We were really pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My friend and I stayed in Casa de la Gringa for nearly 2 weeks; it was the best place we've stayed in 4 months of travel.

Everyone was kind, caring and relaxed. The kitchen and bathrooms were perfect, our bedroom was cosy and warm with a heater in and the shared living room is perfect to relax in.

It was so great we miss it dearly!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLC177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

I was just sent a notification that this place is on trip advisors top ten list. I'm puzzled really???
As one person noted damp old wool blankets cause serious allergy problems. Rooms smelt like musty old mold. If and when it did rain the roof which is made with cheap plastic sheets would leak all over te floor.
I yet bet coverage was marginal at best. If your interested in getting completely wrecked and high as a kite this is your place.
Staff could care less about your comfort or concerns. Bathrooms are gross. It's roughly 20 odd people sharing two bathrooms
If recommened elsewhere

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GREG C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Our room smelled like a hamster cage. Thick old damp wool blankets caused allergy problem. We were told a breakfast would be put out for us early before our train trip...nothing appeared and the person working was uninterested.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clover_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Belmond Hotel Monasterio
0.0 mi away
Illa Hotel
Illa Hotel
#35 of 167 in Cusco
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pantastico Bed & Bakery
Pantastico Bed & Bakery
#39 of 454 in Cusco
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pisko & Soul
Pisko & Soul
#19 of 454 in Cusco
252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Madre Tierra
Hostal Madre Tierra
#61 of 454 in Cusco
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de la Gringa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de la Gringa

Property: Casa de la Gringa
Address: San Blas, Tandapata & Pasnapacana 148 | San Blas, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 454 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa de la Gringa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing