We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise”
Review of MamaSara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MamaSara Hotel
Ranked #81 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Noise”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

if you enjoy not sleeping at all, make sure to ask a room by the road

peruvian love to honk
peruvian love to yell in the streets
peruvian life starts at 5AM
peruvian love roosters and dogs
roosters start singing at 4AM
dogs bark pretty much all night long

otherwise, the hotel deco is nice

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lebroc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    63
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
76
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Hotel is very clean and staff was great. They really went out of their way to be of service. Location is a little bit out of the way but what I got in return was worth it. Breakfast buffet is good. They stowed my bag while I did the Inca Trail. When I returned they met me with a smile and a "welcome back!" It was very warm felt when they called me by my name. One little downside is that the public areas are very hard surfaces so noise carries down the hallways.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Mama Sara is a lovely hotel. The buffet breakfast was nice, and the staff were very helpful. It's about a 5min walk from the Plaza de Armas (main square) which means it's very quiet. The beds were super comfortable with very soft sheets. There's also free wifi and a computer for guests to use.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

Agree with most reviews regarding location bit of a hike but easy to get taxis to & from...we liked the staff really nice & thank god they helped us locate our lost luggage (cause we couldn't speak fluent spanish LAN lost luggage Lima would just keep hanging up on us). Rooms clean & ok...were not too fussy as just happy to have a clean comfy bed for the night....brekkie ok just the usual SA continental....overall good place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rugbybee222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
230 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We spent 4 nights here
3 before machu and 1 after
No lift, however the staff carry up your luggage
Breakfast was from 5.30 - with a 5.50 departure not everything was out on dispaly by this time
However a nice pleasant hotel
its just a set 4 sols taxi ride into and out of town - well worth at night and after a heavy days sightseeing

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkGailJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Normally my reviews of hotels are positive, but this hotel had many problems - punctuated by the wakeup call at 6:30 that i did not request on my one day to sleep in! During the four night stay (2 nights before Machu Picchu and two nights after) - I had to twice request hot water the second time it never came, the hotel is also very far from the main square. we did stay out quite late on a friday night and it was safe to walk back to the hotel but it was a bit of an uphill walk.
the staff was ok, but they couldn't tell me where the Machu Picchu musem was located!
The breakfast was great, and their are two computers available for guests so that is great.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manta_Ray_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Clean, warm showers, room heating good and breakfast was nice. Staff friendly and helpful.
We used Mamasara as a base before and after a trip up to Macchu Picchu. Would stay there again! Short walk to Plaza de Armas.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank down1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.0 mi away
Antawasi Hotel
Antawasi Hotel
#68 of 164 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Del Prado Inn
Del Prado Inn
#89 of 164 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tecte Guest House
Tecte Guest House
#87 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Qosqo
Hotel Royal Qosqo
#97 of 164 in Cusco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.2 mi away
Illa's Inn Hotel
Illa's Inn Hotel
#43 of 164 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Esmeralda by Ananay Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MamaSara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MamaSara Hotel

Property: MamaSara Hotel
Address: Calle Saphi 875, Cusco CUSCO01, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 164 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MamaSara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location, MamaSara Hotel will offer you a pleasing experience based on the vocation of personal service, where you can enjoy the tranquility to a few blocks of the historical center of the city, which grants us an environment of nature and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your MamaSara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamasara Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing