We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and rooms”
Review of MamaSara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MamaSara Hotel
Ranked #78 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2013

It's close enough to the plaza de Armas to go walking, and distant enough to be quiet in the night. We had to ask for hot water sometimes, and only ones it was barely tepid. Rooms are comfortable, and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMedaglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a tour and by far the nicest place on the tour itself. This hotel is tastefully decorated and about a 10 minute walk (hardly uphill) from the plaza del armas...far enough away you don't get annoying people walking by. The breakfast buffet had plenty of options and lots of fresh fruit...yummy! Our room was quite tiny, but in between a stairwell and an empty garden space, so we never heard any noises! (308 maybe?) It was definitely the most quiet hotel we stayed in during our 10 day Peru experience. (Nothing like a Hilton in America, but for Peruvian standards well above average.)

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room because rooms on the first floor can get noisy due to people coming in and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALWAYSTRAVELWELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

if you enjoy not sleeping at all, make sure to ask a room by the road

peruvian love to honk
peruvian love to yell in the streets
peruvian life starts at 5AM
peruvian love roosters and dogs
roosters start singing at 4AM
dogs bark pretty much all night long

otherwise, the hotel deco is nice

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lebroc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Hotel is very clean and staff was great. They really went out of their way to be of service. Location is a little bit out of the way but what I got in return was worth it. Breakfast buffet is good. They stowed my bag while I did the Inca Trail. When I returned they met me with a smile and a "welcome back!" It was very warm felt when they called me by my name. One little downside is that the public areas are very hard surfaces so noise carries down the hallways.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Mama Sara is a lovely hotel. The buffet breakfast was nice, and the staff were very helpful. It's about a 5min walk from the Plaza de Armas (main square) which means it's very quiet. The beds were super comfortable with very soft sheets. There's also free wifi and a computer for guests to use.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

Agree with most reviews regarding location bit of a hike but easy to get taxis to & from...we liked the staff really nice & thank god they helped us locate our lost luggage (cause we couldn't speak fluent spanish LAN lost luggage Lima would just keep hanging up on us). Rooms clean & ok...were not too fussy as just happy to have a clean comfy bed for the night....brekkie ok just the usual SA continental....overall good place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rugbybee222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We spent 4 nights here
3 before machu and 1 after
No lift, however the staff carry up your luggage
Breakfast was from 5.30 - with a 5.50 departure not everything was out on dispaly by this time
However a nice pleasant hotel
its just a set 4 sols taxi ride into and out of town - well worth at night and after a heavy days sightseeing

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkGailJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.2 mi away
Tocapu Boutique Hotel
Tocapu Boutique Hotel
#90 of 171 in Cusco
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Qosqo
Hotel Royal Qosqo
#86 of 171 in Cusco
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Cusco Saphi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Amerinka Boutique Hotel
Amerinka Boutique Hotel
#109 of 171 in Cusco
101 reviews
0.9 mi away
Antawasi Hotel
Antawasi Hotel
#76 of 171 in Cusco
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garcilaso
Hotel Garcilaso
#68 of 171 in Cusco
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MamaSara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MamaSara Hotel

Address: Calle Saphi 875, Cusco CUSCO01, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 171 Hotels in Cusco
Price Range: £55 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MamaSara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location, MamaSara Hotel will offer you a pleasing experience based on the vocation of personal service, where you can enjoy the tranquility to a few blocks of the historical center of the city, which grants us an environment of nature and peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your MamaSara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamasara Hotel Cusco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing