We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid the Trouble” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chincana Wasi - La Casa Escondida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Chincana Wasi - La Casa Escondida
Ranked #229 of 401 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid the Trouble”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

Hostel cold roof leaking floors wet on arrival No heaters available for rooms .Rooms moldy smelling. Bottled water promised never provided
Most disturbing a thank you note written to management thanking them for nice accomodations signature forged in my name concerning for passport security

  • Liked — building rustic could be besutiful if upkeep was done and comfortable if not lesaking wet or cold
  • Disliked — the fasle note wriiten using my name when management knew we were unhppy with accommodastions
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mozrtdigit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
5
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2008

Having stayed in Lima for quite sometime, before arriving in Peru, and going on a trip that involved "roughing it" i thought this hotel was very good. There was a group of 14 teenager (16 and 17) and 5 adults, and none of us had major complaints. unfortunately i got altitude sickness, and was sick in bed for a full day. I did not have nay complaints what so ever. the hotel was very cold however, but we were able to rent a heater for about a dollar American a day , and it was very worth it.
I found the bed to very comfy, and the rooms to be very nice and cute. I loved the character of the hotel and found it to be a good expirence, i loved the way the hotel looked, and i especially loved the little hidden sun room up on the top floor, it was a very good spot to write in my travel journal. I found the rooms to be very clean, and the hotel was very accomadating with giving those who were sick extra towels, cups of tea, soup and bread. Our group even made close friends with one of the younger hotel workers. My only complaint was that they were doing minor construction on one room, so you could hear hammering etc. in the morning, and there were also some spiders, but it was peru, and considering how clean it was it didnt bother me. I was in on room however and got moved, but that first room i was in was the wrost of all the rooms our large group got, it was very damp and cold, and had no natural light. But other then that the hotel was a very beautiful exciting expirence and had tons of charm and character

  • Liked — the style/character of the hotel
  • Disliked — how cold it was!
  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nat91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
416 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

I book this hostel for a group of 18. I visited the hostel ahead of time and meet with the owner. She promised, in writing, as part of the total charges: Airport transport, welcome drink and clean rooms with heaters. I got none, zero, of the above. The owner would not accept credit cards and I needed to pay in cash prior to arriving.

When my group arrived we had to get our own transportation to the hostel, we had to pay for our Pisco Sours, the rooms were dirty, some smelled of mold and on the first night we ran out of hot water after the three showers. The sheets were so thin that you could read the mattress label (see photo). I could go on about the dirty carpets in the rooms that were tacky when you walked on them, or about the very heavy smell of cigarette smoke in four of the rooms. To make matters worse, on the second day we ran out of water - none for 36 hours. When I sought to change to another hostel, the owner refused to refund any of the money. We left anyway. Now I am pressing charges via the Peruvian agency INDECOPI. A very bad experience.

There are other good, inexpensive ($20-$30 US) hostels in Cusco. Avoid this one. Try La Posada de los Andes on Av. Pardo - Clean and good service. www.posadadelosandes.com

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Dirty, Thieft, no water, smell, bad management
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fdoamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chincana_wasi, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Chincana Wasi - La Casa Escondida, responded to this review, 15 December 2008
I read these complaints, sent by a lady from the USA who brought a group to spend a few days here and was appaled because nothing of what she wrote was true. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the sheets are comfortable (not thin as she said, that was the mattress`cover, not the sheet), there`s hot water 24 hours a day and the staff are really nice. The group that lady was bringing from the US was supposed to arrive at 07PM but didnt show up until 2AM. We had hired a lady to prepare special drinks for them, which was a pity since they arrived so late. Anyway, about the transfer from the Airport, the group was responsible for the costs, but, in the end, the hotel had to pay for it. As for the water, we have to inform that the lady forgot her bathroom`s tap opened so obviously we ran out of water, which was soon handled. We regret very much that the American lady was not satisfied, due to a sorry problem of communication, so we would like to invite her to come again and this time really enjoy her time with us.

The Hotel Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cusco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sonnenthal Cusco
Hotel Sonnenthal Cusco
#97 of 162 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#34 of 162 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mister Inkas Hotel Museo Suites Manco Capac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pacha Hotel Museo
Pacha Hotel Museo
#90 of 339 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Atlantis
Hostal Atlantis
#41 of 339 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wifala Thematic Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chincana Wasi - La Casa Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chincana Wasi - La Casa Escondida

Property: Hotel Chincana Wasi - La Casa Escondida
Address: Calle Pumacuro 635, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 401 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chincana Wasi - La Casa Escondida 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chincana Wasi, home of the great Mateo Pumacahua, precursor of Peru`s independence, has been turned into a comfortable establishment of lodging, with private baths in each of its rooms, intimate and public areas beautifully decorated to the colonial style, with special arcade and Spanish stone columns, offering an authentic sample of the architecture of the XVII century. Chincana Wasi is located at one of the passages to the Main Place of Cusco, in the district of San Cristobal, historical center of the Imperial City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Chincana Wasi - La Casa Escondida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing