We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Helpful Staff”
Review of Monte Horeb B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Monte Horeb B&B
Ranked #213 of 403 Cusco B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed at Monte Horeb for 4 nights and really enjoyed our stay there. We had the front room, which was huge and had a balcony that opened up to a great view. The staff were friendly, and always helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the location was great. A 2 minute walk to the Plaza. There was a computer for internet but we couldn't get the wifi to work for some reason. Free breakfast, and hot showers as well. Great low key place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelready7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

The place was nice enough and the staff were great. There was plenty of hot water, and not much really to complain about.
Unfortunately though at S120 per night, there are much cheaper places with the same facilities on the other side of the main plaza in San Blas.
We managed to move into a place up the hill still close to everything for only S40 a night.
The wifi was quite flakey at times, and the walls are also quite thin..there is a bar downstairs that closes at 2am that you can hear if your in the matrimonial front rooms like we were. We could still sleep though..

Room Tip: ask for a room in the rear of the hostel for better sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Before we booked our stay here in Cusco, we read many reviews. We are pretty good at reading between the lines, and have stayed in many places over the globe. So, we were not expecting U.S. amenities when we booked here. Fine. We were made so welcomed, and treated so kindly, I doubt some of the things we are more used to in the states would have made a difference.

We read about the rooms being cold-yes, central heating is not a normal thing in Peru. Even in the hospital (Regional), there are only a few wards with heat. This is the way of life. If you want heat, you can rent it. We didn't, and were only cold one night--this is their winter, remember. Actually, we were toasty warm in bed--there were plenty of blankets. The room was colder than we are used to, but rather invigorating.

Another thing we read about was the lack of hot water. I believe I found the trick to this--not only here, but again, around much of Peru. Turn the hot water on full blast, and wait a bit--keep checking, and add cold water when needed. When we worked it this way, we had plenty of hot water.

I can't say enough about this place. ALL the employees were exceptional, helpful, friendly and I'd highly recommend Monte Horeb to anyone that doesn't expect a four star hotel. The location is supurb, only 2 blocks from the main plaza.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Shabby neighborhood but it's where the Chavez airport is located in. Rms are spartan but v clean, hot shwr is hot indeed, & CNN on TV. V frdly staff who spk gd eng.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheung_stephie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I stayed with two other friends here for 4 days. We wouldn't have stayed the entire 4 days, but they had a down payment on the reservation and held us to it. We wanted to leave one or two days early -- can't remember which anymore. Anyhow, that was very annoying, as the triple wasn't working out, but more important, the room was very cold and there was a hole in the window to the shower and that made showering cold. The water did not last there, either; it came a bit warm, never hot, just enough to get you to put your foot in, but the air from the window made it cold. Also, I had two showers that had no warm water really. Also, my bed, at least, was extremely uncomfortable. It slanted and was rock hard. No give whatsoever.

I was able to find lots of places after we left there that were CHEAPER to have a double and a single than the triple (to ease snoring problems), had consistently hot water, etc. So I would not ever go back to Monte Horeb.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katheirne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We stay here for 8 days based on the reviews on Trip Adviser.

The B&B is conveniently located in Cusco and is 1 block away from the Main square. The location is fantastic and is close to some great restaurants and cafes.

The rooms are basic but are very, very clean. Our room was very cold but on the plus side there was two lovely blankets on the bed which made us very cozy and warm. There are heaters available for hire if it get's too cold.

There is a security gate to prevent strangers from entering the B&B so you have to buzz when entering and leaving but there is always staff available to let you in/out. Breakfast is included in the price and it is very good value and the food is lovely and fresh.

Pros: Greatest staff in the world. So attentive and friendly and really make an effort. When we first arrived they gave us a cup of cocoa tea to help with any altitude sickness. After a few days you do feel like you are at home and have made some new friends.

Cons: The shower is lukewarm. We had to turn the hot water up on ours to make it warm enough. The wifi in our room kept turning on and off so may be unreliable for those needing stable internet for business ( I have been told the internet is unreliable in Cusco) However there is a computer in the lounge to use if the wifi plays up.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maximisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We stayed at Monte Horeb for 5 nights and absolutely loved it. It is conveniently located about 2 mins walk from the main sq. The hostal is set in a traditional building with rustic-style architecture. The staff are very friendly and will help you organise tours etc. If you are going to Cusco, whether or your own, with a friend/wife/husband/etc then stay here. You won't be disappointed!

For food try: Toldos, Heidi, Chi Chas, Cicciolina, Jack's Cafe.

Thanks again Paola + family, we had a great time.

xxx

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hungrybrowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.1 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#160 of 172 in Cusco
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott El Convento Cusco
0.1 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#57 of 533 in Cusco
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#64 of 403 in Cusco
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#12 of 533 in Cusco
774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arqueologo Exclusive Selection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Horeb B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Horeb B&B

Address: Calle San Jaun de Dios 260, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 403 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monte Horeb B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monte Horeb B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing