We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priceless view of Cusco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Welcome Cusco Hostel
Ranked #169 of 455 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Qormi, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Priceless view of Cusco”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This place is so inviting. We changed our hostel just to go here, even though those steps in the altitude are a bit intimidating, especially when you have a heavy backpack to carry. But once up there you will not regret it. For 50 soles we got a private bedroom with a heater inside, plus a private bathroom and breakfast with pancakes. The breakfast area is also a hangout area, but not the party type. Just perfect for admiring the view, watching some tv on their huge screen, or have a coffee while playing cards. It's a very hospitable place. Excellent experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esmeralda_attard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    28
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
27
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed here for 4 days before the Inca Trail. She got very sick due to altitude and the staff were concerned, friendly and helpful the whole time. Breakfast is big and tasty, private rooms have an amazing view of the city, there is a good book exchange and the staff are very helpful with everything.

After the trek we came back for a couple of nights! Wifi works all over the hostel including rooms.

The rooms were clean and it is just far away enough to be completely quiet at night, but only a 5 minute walk into the town.

Room Tip: Ask for room one for panoramic views of the town and surrounding hills!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Home Sweet Home in Cuzco, Peru was comfortable, had hot showers, and had a delicious breakfast included in the price (which was small compared to most other places). The staff were very friendly and helpful and the views of the city were beautiful. You can not get there by vehicle and must climb many steep staircases to get there, but it is well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2012

If you are looking for a cheap place that offers nice rooms and has a great breakfast included (pancake, eggs, bread, tea) look for this place!
It's a bit uphill, so you have to walk some stairs to get there (good exercise).
It's a quiet hostel, so don't expect a bar and lots of entertainment. It's basic, but clean and the owners are very nice and helpfull. I would recommend to all backpackers!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We've stayed quite a while in this hostal. Son and father working in this hostal are really nice and hospitable. They helped us out to call for a cab and to call the tour agency who was going to pick us up at 5 in the morning but they were a bit delayed. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are nice. It can get a bit cold in there during the night, but hey, thats Cusco!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John-Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Obviously a great view from the hostel, although walking up and down the steps several times a day can get tiresome. Hostel is very cold, with communal areas unheated and open to the outside through gaps in the windows.

Owner is very helpful and speaks perfect English, we booked a jungle trek through him which worked out pretty well, and the details of the trip were almost as described.

We had hot water about one third of the time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sageofwhimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights and loved it! The view of the entire city from the breakfast terrace is incredible. Its a few steps up to it, but its totally worth it!
The breakfast is great, pancakes, eggs, tea, orange juice and toasted bread.... exactly what you need to start the day to explore the beautiful city of cusco :)
The staff are amazing, the two woman that cook, clean and wash your clothes are lovely, and Luis and his dad (the owners) are awesome!!!! Luis speaks amazing english and is really cool!
There is even a huge wide screen tv where you can chill and watch a dvd....(they have hundreds to chose from).
The rooms are really clean and nice too, with a lock on the door, and the bathrooms always have toilet roll and hot water. It can get a little cold at night, but we were given a little plug in heater....amazing!!! Also there is free wifi and they provide towels. And even better its super cheap...11$ a night!
Ok so as you can see, we really loved this hostel and would highly recommend it, I have nothing bad to say about it......Definately stay and experience it for yourself!! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLnKETT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#115 of 167 in Cusco
81 reviews
0.6 mi away
VIP House Hostel
VIP House Hostel
#60 of 455 in Cusco
157 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samay Wasi Youth Hostels Cusco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Grasshopper Hostel
The Grasshopper Hostel
#89 of 455 in Cusco
70 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mama Simona Hostel
Mama Simona Hostel
#6 of 455 in Cusco
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 455 in Cusco
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Cusco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Cusco Hostel

Property: Welcome Cusco Hostel
Address: Asociacion San Marcos A3, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 455 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Welcome Cusco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden place with unique atmosphere. The family run hostal with its amazing view is waiting for you. Located in the heart of Cuscos picturesque neighborhood San Blas, above the city center, it's a perfect place to chill and calm down. And at the same time it's close to the touristic spots of the city. New owners since 2016, waiting for you to come! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Welcome Cusco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing