We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating, and pancakes for breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Welcome Cusco Hostel
Ranked #196 of 512 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We arrived at 4am and begged to have a room the receptionist found us some rooms to stay in very kindly. Next morning the owner gave us really helpful hints and advice about Cusco.The rooms are pretty basic but for the price it is what you expect. Floors do creak a lot but usually not a problem as people are usually in bed early. Very backpacker friendly with communal areas, but quite grubby in some places, but for the price it is good value. Location is good 5 minutes from central square, but 3 flights of stairs to get to it was fine for us but may prevent some people. Best bit was pancakes for breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Railegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

The name says it all with this place - very welcoming and friendly and the best included breakfast we had in South America! There is a lounge with tv and dvd player and huge selection of films to watch. Bit of a walk up some steps to get there but the views over Cuzco are lovely!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K8M8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

A hard place to get to - you need to climb lots of stairs from the last place where a taxi can get to - but the view of the whole city is worth the climb :) can also be treated as a little warm-up before inca trail ;) rooms ok, hot water without a problem, internet access and storage room free

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oleisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This place is so inviting. We changed our hostel just to go here, even though those steps in the altitude are a bit intimidating, especially when you have a heavy backpack to carry. But once up there you will not regret it. For 50 soles we got a private bedroom with a heater inside, plus a private bathroom and breakfast with pancakes. The breakfast area is also a hangout area, but not the party type. Just perfect for admiring the view, watching some tv on their huge screen, or have a coffee while playing cards. It's a very hospitable place. Excellent experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esmeralda_attard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed here for 4 days before the Inca Trail. She got very sick due to altitude and the staff were concerned, friendly and helpful the whole time. Breakfast is big and tasty, private rooms have an amazing view of the city, there is a good book exchange and the staff are very helpful with everything.

After the trek we came back for a couple of nights! Wifi works all over the hostel including rooms.

The rooms were clean and it is just far away enough to be completely quiet at night, but only a 5 minute walk into the town.

Room Tip: Ask for room one for panoramic views of the town and surrounding hills!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Home Sweet Home in Cuzco, Peru was comfortable, had hot showers, and had a delicious breakfast included in the price (which was small compared to most other places). The staff were very friendly and helpful and the views of the city were beautiful. You can not get there by vehicle and must climb many steep staircases to get there, but it is well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shayla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

If you are looking for a cheap place that offers nice rooms and has a great breakfast included (pancake, eggs, bread, tea) look for this place!
It's a bit uphill, so you have to walk some stairs to get there (good exercise).
It's a quiet hostel, so don't expect a bar and lots of entertainment. It's basic, but clean and the owners are very nice and helpfull. I would recommend to all backpackers!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
0.5 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 512 in Cusco
1,471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inka Club Hostel
Inka Club Hostel
#152 of 171 in Cusco
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
Pirwa Colonial Hostel
#64 of 512 in Cusco
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
El Tumi de Oro Cusco
#60 of 398 in Cusco
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
Milhouse Hostel Cusco
#10 of 512 in Cusco
768 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cusco Packers Hostel
Cusco Packers Hostel
#1 of 512 in Cusco
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Cusco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Cusco Hostel

Address: Asociacion San Marcos A3, Cusco, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 512 Speciality Lodging in Cusco
Price Range: £12 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Welcome Cusco Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden place with unique atmosphere. The family run hostal with its amazing view is waiting for you. Located in the heart of Cuscos picturesque neighborhood San Blas, above the city center, it's a perfect place to chill and calm down. And at the same time it's close to the touristic spots of the city. New owners since 2016, waiting for you to come! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Welcome Cusco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing