We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel within walking distance of main square”
Review of Hostal Quipu Cusco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Quipu Cusco
Ranked #19 of 346 Cusco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel within walking distance of main square”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The hotel was very comfortable, and is a 10 minute walk from the centre square. The owner of the hotel, Lida, was extremely friendly and gave us ideas of things to see in Cusco and how to get there. The staff speak minimal English, but we had no problems communicating. No heat in the rooms but more than enough blankets to stay warm overnight, and space heaters are available for rent. The included breakfast was great - fresh bread with butter and jams, coffee, coca tea, freshly squeezed orange juice, and even eggs one morning. We went at the end of August, and renovations were underway - they said they were expected to be done by end of September. Construction was only done during the day, when we were out enjoying the city anyways. Overall, it was a great place to stay, thanks in part to the accommodating staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nucleorhabdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    90
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
44
113
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I have spent 4 days and 3 nights in Cusco at the Hostal Quipu. The attention is very good I feel as I was at home. People are very friendly and kind. My stance in Cusco was very pleasant and confortable at the hotel. I would hardly recommend the Hotel as a very good choice of feel at home place in Cusco

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatiana e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erding, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

we stayed here 3 nights.

positive:
- very good beds
- good breakfast
- friendly staff

negative:
- during our stay there was a big renovation going on (so it was loud the whole day starting at around 7 am)
- the bathroom was not very clean and it smelled, the rooms are very small
- there are a lot more hostals that are closer to the center

I would recommend to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomerding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We ased a local person to call from Lima to reserve a room for us for the 28 and 29 of July but when we turned up, they told us there was no room available. They had us down for the day before, which was the 27. Staff don't speak any English.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

I highly recommend it. The people are super nice. The rooms are super great. They have many necessities. They are located in a good area. A few minutes from the main square. They had just been finishing up the courtyard and it looked really nice.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rychiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This was a very pleasant place to stay with extremely friendly service! The rooms were clean and spacious, the wifi worked well, the showers were hot, and breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyed85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Even before we arrived Lida, the hostal's host, was incredibly helpful as she arranged our transfer from the airport to the hostel. The service did not differ when we arrived to a hot pot of local tea and our lovely clean room with a hot shower! The hostel is lovely and quite which made a change from a number of other places that we had stayed in Peru. The town centre is about 5mins walk away and the town is incredibly easy to navigate on foot. It appears that all hostel rooms in Cusco are quite chilly but Lida was on hand to lend us a heater which made the world of difference. Throughout our stay we felt very well looked after and were even able to leave our luggage in a locked room while we went to Machu Picchu. This hostal is a great place to stay while in Cusco we would defiantly go back. Our double room cost $25 per night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLadyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cusco hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Golden Inca
Hotel Golden Inca
#35 of 164 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Wara Wara
Hostal Wara Wara
#5 of 346 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlon's House Cusco-Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Cusi Wasi
Hostal Cusi Wasi
#30 of 346 in Cusco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ecopackers
Ecopackers
#2 of 437 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Balcon
El Balcon
#4 of 346 in Cusco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Quipu Cusco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Quipu Cusco

Property: Hostal Quipu Cusco
Address: Calle Fierro No. 495, Cusco 05184, Peru
Region: Peru > Cusco Region > Cusco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 346 B&Bs / Inns in Cusco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hostel Quipu, a beautiful colonial house, whose balconies and carved doors and the charm of her yard invite you to a different space. What we hope to assist in rooms in single, double, triple and Additional bed. Rooms with private bath, it with a decor and family atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Quipu Cusco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing